Thread: Evans Head Fishing Comp(45cm whiting)

Evans Head Fishing Comp(45cm whiting)

Been fishing every night in this comp around the evans head / iluka area for some mixed results. First night i fished was using a huge clump of worms on a 10/0 for jew and nailed a huge whiting weighed in at 825 g live my biggest whiting ever and had to get lucky in a comp !! The tailor fishing started fanastic with massive amounts of tailor coming in on the dead low tide ranging from 1.5kg to 2.1kg bonito would not last a minute in the water they were thick but still not those big girls .The jew for me anyway have been hard to find any of the big ones plenty in the 4-7kg range. Hopefully they turn upsoon for me. Here is a pic of my 300l esky full of nice tailor. Hoping to get a pic of the whiting tonite when i claim my first prize My whiting is the 1 in the background look how thick he is compared to the 610 gram one .
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	whiting.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	23.7 KB 
ID:	82248Click image for larger version. 

Name:	075.jpg 
Size:	49.8 KB 
ID:	82246

Re: Evans Head Fishing Comp(45cm whiting)

nice work mate. 45cm whiting is a thumper!! well done.

Awesome feed! Landbased?

Yeh mattias all from the beach

Thanks for the report, we hope you take out the comp and congrats on the pb.
    Good things come to those who bait

A hard fish to beat at that size. I might have to ditch my #4 hook and go for a 10/0 next time I go Ting fishing. it would take $20 worth of worms to load it though

10/0 Hook for worms. WTF !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Must of had some good stumpies.
    Historian/Collector of Old Sidecast Fishing Reels

Lol yeh was fishing slab baits all nite until my mate rocked up with heaps of worms and I just did not change my hook I reckon I feed 3 big worms on lol.

Awsome fish, and bycatch for Jew, WTF ?,I like to fish for big whitting on 1 to 2 kg mono and are great fun !

Happy smiles all round i won the whiting a best catch of the comp. My mate got 1st and 2nd in snapper and other mate 1st in cobia and second in kingfish we cleaned up Now bring on rainbow beach comp look out big tailor !!Click image for larger version. 

Name:	086.jpg 
Size:	63.8 KB 
ID:	82259

Good stuff mate, traditionally the biggest whiting comes from up near woodburn....they are generally long skinny fish that look more like greyhounds than whiting. Winning fish is in that 700-800gm range so at 825gms it was always going to be hard to beat. Big jew have been a bit scarce for a while although Rabbi did snare a 25kg specimen about 2 weeks ago. How big was the winning jew?

Hey stone cold the biggest new went 19kg cleaned plenty weighed in around 10 -12 kg . I have struggled a bit getting a big one this year have not broken 15 kg and I have been fishing heaps. How u guys been going down there?

Sounds like a similar scenario to last year. 19kgish was biggest from memory and came from outside. Lots of 10-17kg fish again from outside. Fishing land based has been hot and cold. Had a good run about 6 weeks ago with 2* 20+kg fish within 10 days and a few around the 10kg mark. Lots or little fish around the 2-5kg mark...other days when they should be thick they have been non existant....overall better than last year though.

Yeh stone cold definately better than last year seen a 28kg jew getting cleaned today caught off the rocks somewhere in my area

Nice to see some catches coming from down that way.
    Nice whiting too, they can hit a hook pretty hard for a finicky fish they are.