Tailor - Gold Coast

Thread: Tailor - Gold Coast

Tailor - Gold Coast

To say that surf fishing has been abyssmal on the golfdie for the last 6 months would be an understatement !
    Sunday nite the wind dropped off nicely, and so Kevin and I headed to a local gutter near Talle Creek for another go (after repeatedly being abused by our families for the lack of fish being brought home of late we needed some results!!)
    As we arrived ol' mate to our left was onto a fish .... so it was looking good.
    Within 5 minutes of the 1st pillie hitting the water I was on to a nice fat tailor of 45'ish.
    Next bait in and I was hit hard, but missed the strike as i was too busy texting Carnster to get his butt off the warm lounge & join us for a hot bite.
    As luck would have it, the fish went off the bite as Carnster arrived and so we stood around and chewed the fat for about 45 minutes before Carnster headed back to the warmth of home (Yes, the legendary monster-cahoona yak fish-slayer god also donuts once in a year )
    10 minutes after Chris left, the moon rose over the horizon and the tailor came on thick and fast. We had 9 in the esky in short time, all nice and fat models of 45-50cm that gave a good pull to give smiles all round (Tally : me 7 ; Kevin 2 )
    We left them biting once we ran out of bait (only took 10 pillies each) and at last a GC surf session has a feed for the family and mates tonight.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tailor_8_7_2012.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	68.1 KB 
ID:	82176

Re: Tailor - Gold Coast

Thanks for the report, a nice positive result to take home to the family. Were you only using half a pillie? By the sounds of that I'd take some more next time. I got a couple in the port not so long ago, great fish to catch.
    Good things come to those who bait

Quote Originally Posted by Agrav8_and_Lulu View Post
    Were you only using half a pillie? By the sounds of that I'd take some more next time.
    Usually start off with whole pillie to try and attract them.
    If they start to bite solidly, then I switch to half pillies as my theory is that when they are feeding they swallow the half-sized morsel and hook-up rate is better.
    I only use single 6/0 hook & wire - no gang hooks.

Fished a special spot on the c myself Saturday arvo/night,and got a fish a cast for about 2hrs straight, biggest going 48cm, all on lures :-)

looks like currumbin rock fires up again

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    looks like currumbin rock fires up again
    Nope - sorry Bondy .... off the sandy stuff between Tugun and Tallebudgera ;-)

Send em north - going to Moreton Is Sunday for a week and plan to separate some from the suds.

robvee,

Between Tugun and Talle. Would you be a local down there within 15 mins of that area ?
    Bondy

I was at C rocks on Sunday afternoon and the only person fishing there left at sundown after catching a few bream. There was a luverly gutter forming just south of the rocks.
    I couldn't stay, I had the kids and they went back to school the next day.

I was further south today, what a day, squally winds, rain, and seas were building up, so much for the tailor session tonight, they are there but the conditions are not favourable for casting a line.

Bondy

Yes I was a little further south than the rock you refer to Bondy, HOWEVER it was in sight :-)

Bondy set yourself up with a 10 ft spinning rod ,some metals and some Barra lures and i will send you somewhere to spin a few up prob- same place as master , 80cm on my avatar came from there ,id take some big hard body Jew lures also if i were you

Masterdusky, hmmm, there was three other blokes where I was, maybe we were at the same spot?

Both 4WD's had Qld plates. One fella had grey hair and wearing glasses, the other fella smooth shaven , both good talkers and good personalities.

Bondy

Childers,

Nice specimen in your avatar. I'd too would be wrapped with a prize specimen of that calibre.

What brand of spinning rod would you recommend? I've got some metal lures, couple sliders, Scorpion RMG Lures 3.5M (supposedly)

My rods currently is live fibre for deep sea, 14ft tailor taker (has taken zilch), 9ft Blackfish rod.

Cheers, Bondy

Is there some reason that you guys don't fish off the rocks?