Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Prawns

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Aye netmaker,

You must be selling your prawns, highly illegal unless you have a seafood sellers licence.

Bondy
    So you call that a "general statement"?

Re: Prawns

Here they are the same muskateers...the lump,cobiaman, muddy toes and Fallen Angel...

The lump, there is no need to get agro, 99 is the year, truncated from 1999.

Bondy

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    "MUST"...............hardly an ambiguous word.
    Go and motor out on the next cyclonic wave thrill seeker

Quote Originally Posted by cobiaman View Post
    So you call that a "general statement"?
    I've corrected my previous statement.

Here is an observation for you cobiaman.

If you're a cobiaman then why are you holding tuna in your mugshot...have you no cobia to show?

Bondy

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    I've corrected my previous statement.

Here is an observation for you cobiaman.

If you're a cobiaman then why are you holding tuna in your mugshot...have you no cobia to show?

Bondy
    It was too big to hold up mate

bondy. your maths sucks too. a 10 litre bucket of water weighs 10kg as 1 litre weighs 1 kg. 10kg of prawns do not fit into a 10 litre bucket. the weight of a 10 litre bucket full of prawns will vary depending on the size of the prawns in it. the smaller the prawns the more the bucket will weigh as there is not the same amount of "air" between the prawns in the bucket as there is when the prawns are large. i reckon 6-6.5kg of big bananas fill a bucket, but up to 8 kg of bay prawns for the same bucket.

kingcray - the best way to keep prawns imo is to fully peel and de-vein (a prawn peeler is great for this), vacuum seal and freeze. i eat prawns up to a year after frozen and they are as good as the day they were bagged.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

if you do want to freeze them whole, dip them in a solution of sea water and sodium metabisulphate (same stuff you sterilize home brew beer bottles with) which will keep black leg at bay.

Quote Originally Posted by cobiaman View Post
    It was too big to hold up mate
    Fair enough

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    bondy. your maths sucks too. a 10 litre bucket of water weighs 10kg as 1 litre weighs 1 kg. 10kg of prawns do not fit into a 10 litre bucket. the weight of a 10 litre bucket full of prawns will vary depending on the size of the prawns in it. the smaller the prawns the more the bucket will weigh as there is not the same amount of "air" between the prawns in the bucket as there is when the prawns are large. i reckon 6-6.5kg of big bananas fill a bucket, but up to 8 kg of bay prawns for the same bucket.

kingcray - the best way to keep prawns imo is to fully peel and de-vein (a prawn peeler is great for this), vacuum seal and freeze. i eat prawns up to a year after frozen and they are as good as the day they were bagged.
    Netmaker,woolies and coles must be short changing everyone then,as far as they are concerned 10kg is 10 kg.

As for your comments about maths...1kg is taken to be equivalent to 1 litre in general, so no need to be pedantic.

Of course size of prawns do alter. This being the case, if you (not you personally in this context) have completely filled a 10litre bucket with large prawns, that is your "in posession limit" and you have another bucket of prawns on board,, i.e. in your boat, then if what you say is true, it will be a hard argument to convence fisheries inspectors that you only have 6.5kg in a 10 litre bucket and another 3.5 kg in the other 10 litre bucket and there is only one person on board the boat.

I could be wrong but I have not yet come across fisheries inspectors having a set of scales and weighing prawns, they just go by sight and look at the bucket, if there is more than 10 litre bucket of prawns it will take a good argument to escape a fine as I dont think they take "air" into consideration, a 10litre bucket is 10 litre bucket.

Thanks for your tip regarding freezing of prawns . Why would you need a prawn peeler, you have fingers for that.
    Bondy

i really dont know where you are going or came from bondy. woolies and coles sell by the kg not the bucket. about 6.5 kg of big prawns will fill a bucket. if i bought 6.5kg from woolies at $15 per kg i would spend 6.5 x $15 = $97.50, near enough to the $100 mentioned. i have no problems convincing fisheries of anything as i do not do the wrong thing and i do not exceed my limits. i welcome visits from them and would like to see more of them out there. the reason i use a prawn peeler instead of just hands is a prawn peeler deveins at the same time making it a faster job. i can usually process my bucket in just under an hour.

Netmaker

The Prawn peeler,where do I get one,did not know such a thing existed.It would make it easier peeling and deveining enough prawns for Garlic prawns for the 5 of us the other night (the missus hates the feel of raw prawns).I peel by hand then run a fillet knife down the spine to remove the vein.

hey giffo. robins kitchens sells them about $10 each. 2 types: short, stubby broad 1, usually white - dont like it much. other is a narrow scissor action type jobby, usually orange. i dismantle the scissor action and just use the spiky end. not too flash on cooked prawns but brilliant on green prawns (after they have been chilled for a few hours and "set"). may take a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, it is very speedy. i find deveining to be the most time consuming of the whole peeling process and this is magic for it. just rip all the heads off first and then you push the spike down the crap trail of the prawn and you are left with shell and vein on the spike and peeled prawn in the other hand. here's a couple pics of my dismantled peeler:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	049.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	94.5 KB 
ID:	82123 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	048.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	84.5 KB 
ID:	82124

Netmaker, dont worry about it mate, you dont appear to be understanding what I am saying, you need to read between the lines as to what I'm talking about...Yes, I know Woollies and Coles sell by the Kg and not by bucket.

Sometimes metaphores are used / said.

If I say thongs, a dinky di Aussie would know automatically ,its worn on your feet as footwear. An American will automatically think of thongs as being some type of underwear. Instead of thongs on feet...they call it flip flops.

Anyway I have moved on for from this. Peace be with you

Prawn Peeler - i am definitely getting one of those. I have just convinced my girlfriend to eat prawns - she likes them but she won't peel them. This may be just the tool I need to get me out of the kitchen !

Thanks Netmaker ,will have a look.