Thread: 2 mud duds

2 mud duds

hi all. as i post warts and all and also think that dud reports can also be of value this one is wrapping up sunday morn and last night. had 5 successful trips in a row last week with the smallest going 64 and best 85. saturday arvo saw a 79 on bait so sunday morning saw me back at spot x on the pick fishing bait. no go. just rays and grinners. gave it 5 hours and had a plastics drift. no go either. went home and drove to perry's and woke him up to have a few beers and some sashimi style snapper. good arv with perry and craig and lots of laughs.
    second outing saw me home from work at 5.30 yesterday and on the water by 6.30. beautiful glassy conditions. was just planning to do a few hours at green and go home. when i got there though it was a carpark. about 4 (maybe more) with no lights on. kept going north and found myself back at mud - dont know how that keeps happening. a lot less boats there. using whole 7" pike on a single 6/0 and 15 minutes there and bang - rod goes ballistic. lifted the rod, got the weight, all good - for about 10 seconds. absolutely spitting. figured it was a good omen tho and settled back. cranked the acdc and boiled some water for a noodle feed. and waited. and waited some more. and then did some waiting. was almost happy to catch the first ray and even the second but after that i thought i may have a little lie down. wake up at 2am to a stiff little westerly blowing me round the joint. wound in both lines with baits still intact and headed for home. thought i would try a fish off wello but couldn't even get out of the wind there. stayed till the first catfish before admitting defeat, tucking my tail between my legs and going home for a hot tub. 2 donuts closer to a goodun tho
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Re: 2 mud duds

Mate good read yet again... all you needed was a picture of the empty esky to make it complete !!!

Had a little chuckle at the "Home from WORK" comment..
    Can you PM me your number as the little lady and I will need our tax's (2 years each) done in about a months time.

Hey NM! It is good to sometimes see a 'dud' report so thanks for that! Whichever way you disect it, out on the water on Tues night is far batter than in front of the box, where 200 channels exist but nothing worthwhile watching!!

T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Big donut for me at mud yesterday but then I got no friggin idea what im doing so its standard practice...a few good shows on the sounder and some good bites, but those pesky fish just seemed to want to take the lure for a swim around for a while refusing to swallow it, are those fish taking the piss or what? A couple of them even picked up the lure, went for a swim then lodged it in the rocks, I could pictrure them just sittting there laughing there tight little bums off...oh well its all about just being out there, right? No pigs arse I wanted to catch something! Anyway NM cheers for the "Mud dud" report, I feel somewhat less bad....

Thanks Davo, seeing that Charlie doesn't get out much now its good to find that someone is taking up the slack. You didn't have TOL, your good luck charm with you. Night trips could be too much for him.LOL.

Although you maybe disappointed to have written this NM, after Mon+Tues trips for for 0 snapper at Mud, after it has been reportedly 'going off'...... its nice to hear

Oh well Davo, I'm sure it won't be long before you tight again on another snappz. Still doing better than all of us YTD.

hey mossy and netmaker - this is bit left field but what colour jighead do you think works best for you guys out there on the snaps? most ikely doesnt make much difference at all but just interested as I'm making my own

Quote Originally Posted by fishfeeder View Post
    Mate good read yet again... all you needed was a picture of the empty esky to make it complete !!!

Had a little chuckle at the "Home from WORK" comment..
    Can you PM me your number as the little lady and I will need our tax's (2 years each) done in about a months time.

hahaha. good one brett. empty esky pic. will keep that in mind for next donut mate (hopefully a while away). have sent you pm mate, look forward to seeing you.

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
    Big donut for me at mud yesterday but then I got no friggin idea what im doing so its standard practice...a few good shows on the sounder and some good bites, but those pesky fish just seemed to want to take the lure for a swim around for a while refusing to swallow it, are those fish taking the piss or what? A couple of them even picked up the lure, went for a swim then lodged it in the rocks, I could pictrure them just sittting there laughing there tight little bums off...oh well its all about just being out there, right? No pigs arse I wanted to catch something! Anyway NM cheers for the "Mud dud" report, I feel somewhat less bad....
    hey crunchy, next time you see those shows and they are grabbing and dropping, put on a bait jig. stacks of yellowtail pike there atm. last week i put 38 on board in under an hour. they are great bait.

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post
    Thanks Davo, seeing that Charlie doesn't get out much now its good to find that someone is taking up the slack. You didn't have TOL, your good luck charm with you. Night trips could be too much for him.LOL.
    yeah jj. tol has had the night trip invitation but doesn't see too well in the dark. i hope charlie can get out a bit in the next few months as my reports will be on the wane.

si. i have no preference. usually pink tho, but dont tell rosco

brett, i should have added that besides coughing up $70 for each return it is also mandatory to watch my fish pics for the duration of your appointment

Davo, No problems at all... be good to show the better half what a grinner looks like !!

ok thanks. there has been some new additions to the paint range of which includes a pearl pink colour that is very nice. Might send you fellas a couple for testing.