nice fish.... so when are you going to take the tinny offshore? seems to be a better catch rate out there.. Just saying...
Was up early on saturday morning to take a mate out for a fish. Got to old mates place and nearly thought he was going to pull out as it looked pretty dark, he was in the shower I reckon a few party pumps but whatever gets you up in the morning.
Eventually he arises from the front and ready to go. My other mate said his deckies just got home off the drink and wasn't sure if he would come so said no stress mate I'll help you at the ramp.
Got to the ramp and put the rigs in and I parked the cars and headed out the mouth. Cracking morning as the sun was just starting to rise and we got over to mud pretty smooth ride. Was throwing around the plastics for not much so moved spots and came tight on a good sized fish. The tel tale signs of a snapper as it was taking some drag and had the little pfluger bent over. Just as the rod bends over comes this goose in a fiberglass boat within 15 meters, one of those guys that watches for who catching fish then drops in. Mate was like "what's with that guy?" I said oh that is the local pirate mate, thinks he is all stealth with that glowing dash like a nuclear reactor, he'll go soon. After some tussling and sh!t talking I was lucky enough to land this one, deckies second shot on the net A 72cm model hits the deck.
After I managed to wrestle the thing out of my mates arms as he was rather chuffed with the fish I got some photo's of my own then into the esky it went. (still too small an esky, I know useless SP guy.)
Not long after the old pirate came over for a chin wag and abuse me about the where abouts of his esky and hit me up for some of barry's jigs as he was over this and off past the cape. Couldn't blame it it would of been magic on the water. Gave him a couple of jigs and pushed them off towards moreton.
Wasn't much else around but a few small squire a few small grinners. I managed to catch a bird who went for my plastic mid flight, and also got my first facial from a cuttlefish which I also managed to catch.. Felt so dirty.. Money shot Cleaned the ink from the boat and myself. By this time the deckie was pretty over it as there wasn't much biting I didn't really mind as I had got myself a nice fish. My other mate had got nothing so had eaten most of pizza and was ready to snooze. Was back at the ramp by 11-1130.
nice fish.... so when are you going to take the tinny offshore? seems to be a better catch rate out there.. Just saying...
Heading is miss leading... Thought it was a big bad blue marlin report
I was when your deckie missed it with the net first go, I thought this will be karma if you loose it At least your Offshore PB was matched yesterday so if you can work on your screaming Eagle technique I'm sure you will get another Run offshore.
Sorry to tell you though the Livies fired up yesterday outfished the Zmans 4 -1
A good fish there. Well done
Nice fish Mossy and a bloody funny read mate.
Bingo
There you go Mossy another great fish to add to the list. The early starts always seem to prove productive. What's the go with this pirate, abuses you and then ask you for some jigs? A nice way to handle the situation.
Good things come to those who bait
We got a little cuttlefish in a crab pot once, only around 6 cm worth. Got it out of the pot to show the little girl and the bloody thing latched on to my finger. After doing a funny dance, As it let go and it went flying through the air. Needless to say I won't do that again lol.
Good things come to those who bait