WTG...
gotta love it when a plan comes together
It's been about 6 weeks since I last went 'fishing'. I say 'fishing', as that was yet another donut run. Finally, the weather gods cooperated with my spare time, and my hopes were high.
I wanted to hit Harry's late in the arvo to catch both the sunset and the 7.00pm tide change. Of course, it wasn't to be and I didn't actually launch until some time after 6.00pm.
Anyway, long story short, had high hopes for a successful snapper trip. There were a bunch of 35ish cm throwbacks, a couple of undersized models, but the esky came home with a 41cm, 45cm, 64cm and 79cm.
I don't normally take my bag limit, but a combination of a severe lack of successful fishing, and vacuum storage bags means there's some in the freezer for next week.
Anyway... the fishing. The 41cm was caught early in the trip, just after the tide changed. I fished through to the next tide. The 79cm came about half way between tides, and the 45 and 64cm were right on the next change.
Despite having 4 different rod/reel/line combos on board, every single fish, both keepers and throwbacks were caught on one combo. I didn't even change the jighead or SP tail.
I was fishing 1/4oz 4/0 jighead on 10lb FC leader, and Zman 5" Jerk Shadz in Rootbeer Gold. I tried all my typical 'go to' SPs on the other rods, but that was the only one to catch fish.
Also, almost all hook ups came on the drop. Most hits when working the plastic were short strikes. Once I realised the pattern, I would drop the plastic to the bottom, jig it around a bit (which is how I scored the 79cm Snap), crank it up a good few metres off the bottom, then free spool it back down. This was when most hook ups occurred.
It was also a brand new rod, a nice way to blood it. It's now earnt a permanent position in my snapper fishing arsenal. It's a nice little 7'2" 3-5kg Berkley Tournament Pro rod. Damn nice for a cheapie (I think it cost me about $120).
Anyway, big difference between the rod catching the fish and the others were that the other two plastic rods (fourth rod had bait) had 15 and 20lb leader and heavier jig heads. I'm confident that the difference was the leader and the rate at which the SPs fluttered down during free spool.
Cheers!
WTG...
gotta love it when a plan comes together
Cheers Chris
(please insert witty saying here)
Thanks and congrats damned67. If I'm reading this right you fished plastics till the wee hours of the night out at harries I'm guessing on the drift? Maybe not?? How much water were you fishing in and did you change the 1/4 oz jig head in stronger current etc? Re your new rod I'd have to say that my 2-4kg BTPro is one of my all time fav rods and I use it heaps for stuff like you are describing. Top rods hey! That 79 snap must have fought for ages on the light (I'm guessing?? line/braid)? For that matter what was the weight/brand of braid you were using?Also, I have trouble with Zmans coming off the hook. Did you superglue your jigheads to the plastic? No need to answer any questions but its out there if you are. cheers, malby.
Hi Malby,
Yep, plastics to the wee hours of the morning, on the drift. Water depth, depending on drift (and tide) was about 14-22 metres.
I never changed the jighead on that rod, but the current never got out of hand as it can do out there.
The 79 put up a good fight, but I was surprised that it was as large as it was. Indeed, the 64 was the last fish of the trip, and the 64 fought so well I was worried I was going to be trying to release another 75+ model.
Braid is 15lb Sunline Super PE. I don't know why, but I almost always run a heavier braid than my leader.
I've had issues in the past trying to keep Zmans on the hook, but this one was fine. I just jammed it on there!