Nice fish! Thanks for the report too
hi all. up at 5am this morn. told the missus last night i was coming back when i got an over 70 or sunday, whichever came first. plan was to hit peel arties, catch an over 70 and go home. yerright. met up with bruce at about 7, brief yack and into the fishing. one of them real quiet sessions and surprisingly not a big heap of traffic. a few came and went over the first 5 hours. bruce picked up a 42 just after i took off south but all i had caught was a couple of grinners. including a pb. i should have measured it but cant bring myself to do it. thought i had a lizard when i first saw it. anyways by 11am i was getting a bit toey and decided to go the run to mud. got up there and started south of the carpark on the eastern side and drifted for an hour for just grinners. okay, new plan required. went and dropped anchor in usual spot a bit north of the carpark. put a whole yellowtail pike (caught 38 of them last week at mud) on a gang hook rig and grinner fillets on a single hook and kicked back for a coldie. had a few bite offs way up into the leader and in one case the braid, which i put down to grey suits. still managed a few grinners too which i kept and used for fillet baits. about 2.15 whilst re-rigging the small rod the overhead takes off and i was on. familiar runs and shakes had me excited and pulling him against the current stretched out the bout. worried about sharks the whole time but it was all good and i netted a solid 79. packed up and home by 3.30. bit disappointed the 3 p's didn't do it for me today but 2 out of 3 ain't bad.
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
Nice fish! Thanks for the report too
nice snap mate ,, that is a good title,, you need it after the run around those grinners give youhope to go for a run tuesday out through spb to chase some of those nice snaps cheers & beers bill
Nice work on another Snap, bloody weather finally comes good and I'm flying back to work 😝
Great work Davo, always good when you come home with something like that in the esky!
Good things come to those who bait
Just the norm for you now dave haha great stuff the southern bay snapper King does it again well done Dave.
Its like you to take the biggest of the day Dave. Pitty bout bait but when shut down bait brings the fish to you as least. Good solid fish 2 so now i feel like shit i didnt come along. Well done another good one for dinner. Cheers DD.....
good fish davo.i have taken a notice to your last few reports mate and u seem to be gettin the better fish on bait...i thought u only got good fish on plastics or so i was told..those blokes(tim d) must of been speakin shit
cheers rosco
Nice one dave, you know how i love it when you catch fish when i,m at work.......sorry mate, nice fish, i know how hard you work for them, now let me see, grilledsnap, baked snap, steamed snap, fried snap, snap mornay, snap chowder......so many fish in the freezer, so few recipes.....enjoy, roy
Nice fish Dave. Brian (Popgun 19) and I arrived at Mud about 3pm and anchoured up close to out favourite mark (pleaty of boats around and couldn't get on our prime spot). Must have boated about 30 unders squire but left at 6pm with 4 nice squire/snapper to 57cm.
Brian took some pics and will post separate report.
Barry
Just had to get that last fish in before all that number crunching starts, good on ya dave.
Cheers Perry
hey rosco. only 2 reports with bait caught fish. my 3 best have come from plastic. but as i know both work i will continue to bat in both leagues. i did also notice your post on plastic caught whiting when squid wouldn't work the other day. it appears your not allergic to placing an each way bet either. whatever works on the day sits well with me and the fridge
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
Gday Davo and mossy,tim and tracey ,and everyone i missed .Another top snap there mate congrats ,you must be getting quiet a collection on the the bar wall of big fishy pics ROFL
Cheers Rob
Shut up and fish
You the master and playing both sides; love it.
Like your style mate... Not coming home till i get a fish! Nice one!
T