23/6/12
Full Day With Smithys Fishing With Jeff Out of Mooloolaba
This was a hastily thrown together trip after a last minute cancellation. Pete was in from the start but I was able to get Jeff and son Aidan and Dave along. Heading off at 10am was a good plan as all the boats in the morning copped 20+ of southerly.
We sat it our for a bit at Caloundra and as the wind dropped we worked wider. It took a few spots to find them but then we settled in for the dusk session. They bit well and we bagged out and were throwing 65cm snapper back at the end.
22/6/12
Full Day With Justin and Kent With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
This was a thrown together trip at the last minute with two keen crews. We took the 10am start option to let the wind die but that was the wrong option and it actually built from a light NWer to a strong NEer. I think it would have been a cracking nice dawn but we got a good snapper bite all the same. We bagged out on the floaters and plastics, kept a couple for me and were throwing back 69cm fish at the end. The pearlies, tusky, cobia and moses perch were all bonuses. Good crew, good fishing in some roughish weather.
Typical show we were on at anchor pulling the snappers.
21/6/12
Half Day Morning With Ido With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
I had Ido and the scientists back again to chase the mack tuna for broodstock. No joy on the mackerel but first pass on a minnow Ido got this nice spanish.
We hooked a few mack tuna from then on but the bloody sharks ate every one before getting them back to the boat. We lost two brand new minnows and a hook rig from a lure skirt to them the buggas. Beside us another boat caught a 24kg spanish mackerel so they were about.
20/6/12
3/4 Day Afternoon With Adam With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
Adam and the boys were on their second date after a rebooking but they jagged the weather perfect this time. I had a tank of livies from the morning session so we headed straight out. The fish were marking well on the sounder, just not biting. A 59cm pearl perch on the first drift was it then it went quiet. We changed spots and first drift here was a 39cm pearly for one of the boys. Same here, great shows but no action. We headed off closer to settle in for the dusk session. We tried a few spots but had no joy other than right on dark when a 73cm snapper jumped on a soft plastic for Adam.
20/6/12
Morning Snapper Trip With John With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
We started off where we had caught the livies the afternoon before and even with good shows we couldn't get a bite. Back to where I had been getting the odd snapper. I loaded the live bait tank while the boys fished soft plastics. No joy here either. By then I had a tank full so off to the next reef. This one looked good on the sounder too. Got a couple of snapper here and missed a few but by then it was pretty light. We had one drift closer to home on the new ground I was fishing but no joy here either.
19/6/12
Full Day With Fadil With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
Fadil made up the numbers with a couple of Bribie boys. We started off getting livies. We jigged a tank in no time so headed wide. Great shows but not much action. Fadil pulled a nice squobby while the boys fished livies. Off to another spot. Same here. Good shows but no action. We tried a bit of pearl perch country, same here, good shows but no bites. Off to old reliable to settle in for the arvo. Straight away here Fadil was into a few. All on the bottom bashers, not one on the floaters. The boys got a couple and some pearlies but Fadil kept pulling the quality. Once it went dark we pulled the anchor and headed for home.
18/6/12
Morning 1/2 Day With Gav Out Of Mooloolaba With SQCS
Gav, Malcolm and David were on this one. We got away early for a soft plastics snapper bite. It didn't happen straight away but we were on good bait and it was only a matter of time.
Me in the cold.
We ended up with four nice keepers, a bust off and a few little guys from this session in a couple of spots. We headed off to try losing our livies I had been collecting while the boys soft plasticed. We did no good on the trout/aj/kingy spots but joined the drift where mate Luke was fishing and picked up this nice snapper just before we had to come in.
Back at the dock with a nice feed.
17/6/12
Two Full Days With Bill Out Of Mooloolaba With Smithy
Juddi had booked this in ages ago for husband bill and his two boys. Fly-in, fly out mine workers from WA and Central Qld it took a bit of working out but they stayed at the Kawana Waters Hotel Motel part and that is great option for anyone fishing with me. Get off the boat, grab a meal and a beer then head over to the motel to sleep. We struggled getting live baits on the first day and if we would have had more we would have bagged on the kingfish. We got them on the second day and completed the bag. No pearlies on the second day, only squire and kings getting out of the wind in the SWer. We also did a quick troll at
Hutchies for a mack tuna and two missed ones, one when a 9' Bull Shark hit the tuna and launched like a mako shark 5' out of the water with the lure as his momento. The first day we bagged some nice big pearlies and scrapped away getting a good feed.
16/6/12
Half Day Afternoon With Don With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
Don booked this in for visitors Sue and Jim from the US. We started off looking for livies but did no good again. Back to bait.
Early on Don hooked this beauty. Another 82cm one.
We got a small one and a moses as well before heading in closer for the dusk snapper soft plastics bite. Early on Donny was hooked up big time. This was a nice 69cm fish. A bit later Jim got a 40cm. From then on it got quieter even though we got into the better time.
16/6/12
Half Day Morning With Lyle With Smithys Fishing Out Of Mooloolaba
Lyle was back again. Things were pretty topsy turvy after the big swell and everything had changed. It took a while to find a good show but then Lyle pulled this ripper 82cm snapper.
Shortly after Justin hooked this 68cm grassy.
We pulled some hussar and other stuff off this spot but all in all pretty quiet.