Scarbrough Snaps 19/6-20/6

Thread: Scarbrough Snaps 19/6-20/6

Scarbrough Snaps 19/6-20/6

Well what an awsome 2 days it has been. Seeing all the snapper threads has motivated me to get out on the water and the conditions being second to none. I have been on the early shift this week finishing at 3pm and being on the water at 4 and fishing though till 6. Tuesday I pulled up to my spot off Scarby and managed to hook in the first 5 minutes a 44cm snap...not a bad start to the arvo brought about about 6 33-34cm snaps which went back to fight another day plus about 5 tailor and a small hammerhead shark which went back also. Wednesday headed out again get out to my spot baits are in and my Shimano Raider with my pfleuger salt Reels rachet starts screaming thinking oh no not another bloody shark I get ahold of the rod and start the fight which I must say was a bloody good one by my standards got it up off the bottom and up to the boat and low and behold up come what I would say a 65cm+ snap got him to the boat net in hand as I am swimming him into the net he gives an almighty kick and spits the hook after my prophanity and sobbing I still managed to hook up a 42 and 37cm snap and about 7 tailor all fish were caught on fresh squid I bought from Morgans still cannot believe I dropped the biggest fish of the day and it would have been another PB for me but that is how it goes. Maybe next time.I also caught a beautiful woman while I was out there to she just would not lye down on the brag mat haha.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	019.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	49.3 KB 
ID:	81552   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	021.jpg 
Size:	69.3 KB 
ID:	81553   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	022.jpg 
Size:	34.8 KB 
ID:	81554   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	023.jpg 
Size:	41.7 KB 
ID:	81555   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	018.jpg 
Size:	32.3 KB 
ID:	81556  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	001.jpg 
Size:	72.2 KB 
ID:	81557   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	002.jpg 
Size:	49.4 KB 
ID:	81558   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	003.jpg 
Size:	80.3 KB 
ID:	81559  

Re: Scarbrough Snaps 19/6-20/6

good post,good onya,i cant seem to catch a cold ATM.

Ausfish Platinum Member kingcray's Avatar

gday mate, i was out there yesty arvo also from about 2 til 5.30. drifted around only threw plastics for a lot of pike and had a huge run and bust off other than that not much
    well done mate. ive gotta get back into the bait fishing i thinks.
    dean

Thanks Dean. Yeah I had 2 rods out and I was throwing plastic's on my 3rd rod problem was every time I threw out my plastic one of my rods with the bait on would bend....I gave up throwing up my plastics out after a while haha. Not to say Plastic's are all bad got a good size flatty on my Gulp Minnow's on a 3/8 5-0 painted jighead .

Quote Originally Posted by softplasticsdude79 View Post
    good post,good onya,i cant seem to catch a cold ATM.
    It happens to all of us mate what I have found is you have to be in the right place at the right time these days.

What tackle did you catch the woman with?
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

[QUOTE=BAR UP;1394901]What tackle did you catch the woman with?[/QUOTE

She saw what I had to offer and jumped at it haha.

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Cracker mate. Good fish and pitty about the last kick and a nice women you caught. I have been looking for those women at peel i never see them. Up scarby eh lol. Cheers DD.....

Thanks for the update! Those squid are killing it at the moment- a mate of mine had two 70cm+ fish at Margate all caught on squid. Hope you get that pb soon.

Well done you are going good at that spot for sure . Looking forward to the weekend may turn up that way for a look again was there last friday and boats every where so went back to my ting spot and did well there . But missus wants a big fish for the plate so may put a effort in for sure

Quote Originally Posted by jaylay View Post
    Thanks for the update! Those squid are killing it at the moment- a mate of mine had two 70cm+ fish at Margate all caught on squid. Hope you get that pb soon.
    Yeah Squid is the go.it is all I use but I burleigh up with a mixture of chicken pellets pillies and left over squid I have had from previous trips which I save. One down side to the burleigh though is the bloody birds come down and steal it as it is floating away haha I Next time you are out just look for the bloke with about 10 birds flying around him that will be me haha.

Quote Originally Posted by fisho8 View Post
    Yeah Squid is the go.it is all I use but I burleigh up with a mixture of chicken pellets pillies and left over squid I have had from previous trips which I save. One down side to the burleigh though is the bloody birds come down and steal it as it is floating away haha I Next time you are out just look for the bloke with about 10 birds flying around him that will be me haha.
    Mix some sand into your burley and it will help get some of it down the water column and not just float across the top.

Quote Originally Posted by fisho8 View Post
    Funny you say that, if you were south of Scarby i may have spotted you!

Nice catch mate, shame about the bigger snapper! I was out (well away from the carpark on scarby) early last Saturday morning. Pretty good sesh, 38cm squire, 5 keeper bream, few tailor and a few squire that were just under. All caught by floating pieces of pillies.

Quote Originally Posted by Just_chips View Post
    Mix some sand into your burley and it will help get some of it down the water column and not just float across the top.
    Yeah ok mate thanks I will give that a go that might solve the bird issue haha.

Quote Originally Posted by aussienative View Post
    Funny you say that, if you were south of Scarby i may have spotted you!

Nice catch mate, shame about the bigger snapper! I was out (well away from the carpark on scarby) early last Saturday morning. Pretty good sesh, 38cm squire, 5 keeper bream, few tailor and a few squire that were just under. All caught by floating pieces of pillies.
    Yeah mate I fish down there all the time I don't usually fish the reef due to the traffic it gets. I have found I have done better south on alot of occasions these 2 spots I have found I have always done well.