Thread: Brissie river threadfin

Brissie river threadfin

Hi all. Caught this drifting the drop off near the numbered pylons on a strip of mullet. Went just under 120cm and very solid.

Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thready.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	81520  

Re: Brissie river threadfin

Good solid fish. Must have ran like a bugger around that structure. Taste awsome to. Cheers DD.....

Great fish mate top effort

It put up a good fight. Forgot to bring the gaff and broke the landing net trying to get it into the boat as I was fishing solo. Very nice on the plate too. Cheers.

Nice fish mate- well done. What time of day were you fishin?

Ausfish Platinum Member gruntahunta's Avatar

They taste like crap in MHO!!!!!!!.... flesh is mushy and muddy tasting (like old dusky flathead only mushy). I have been told the larger ones 1m+ are firmer when cooked, so I will cut strips of flesh off uncooked fillets and use as bait. Might be secret/weapon bait for bream at the Pin!

Gotta Love Maroochydore.

^^^^ totally disagree with ya there gruntahunta! I've only eaten a couple but one in particular which was cooked on the coals in foil at channel point NT was in my top 5 best fish meals eva.

Quote Originally Posted by gruntahunta View Post
    so I will cut strips of flesh off uncooked fillets and use as bait. Might be secret/weapon bait for bream at the Pin!
    IMO that is such a waste of prime sports fish. There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of big metre + threadfin left in the Brisbane river since the floods so swapping one for a few bream doesn't seem right to me. Just my opinion though...

Ausfish Platinum Member gruntahunta's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by LIVE_2_FiSH View Post
    IMO that is such a waste of prime sports fish. There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of big metre + threadfin left in the Brisbane river since the floods so swapping one for a few bream doesn't seem right to me. Just my opinion though...

Sorry Live2 Fish.... I didnt mean I was going to go and catch them just for bait...I was talking about the leftover fillets I have now, I totally agree about them being prime sports fish and will only release them now I know I hate to eat them.... And there are heaps of big ones in the river mate..... just need live prawns (sssshhhhhh) dont tell everyone.

Gotta Love Maroochydore.

since threadybusters were invented the brisbane river has almost had its threadfin wiped out, threadfin are all born male and turn female at approx 110cm length and 10 years old.

there is a good argument to let the big girls go

they do taste like freshwater fish with soft mushy flesh, its no red emperor

Don't need a Threadie Buster to catch threadfin ... At $26 a pop you won't find them in my tackle box, cheap plastics are just as good IMO

Richo a mate of mine got one that went 98cm not long back from near the wharfs. He got it on a little 2" grub looking plastic he found on the bank near the ramp.

I think you'll still find theres a sh#t load in there even right up the system.. I must admit I rate them on the chew.

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    I think you'll still find theres a sh#t load in there even right up the system.. I must admit I rate them on the chew.
    Got no doubt the numbers are still there, just seems the larger ones which are normally prevalent at the mouth of the river are missing a bit.

Good catch mate and as far as creek fish go top eating!! Well done..