Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: BAIT vs ARTIFICIALS M&G WINNERS

Re: BAIT vs ARTIFICIALS M&G WINNERS

Thanks TIM D for a well organised comp and great weather finally. Good to see some good fish come in. It was a good catch up with the boys and a laugh with the outcomes and stories. Cant wait until next one and hope the bay produces some some gooduns to put up against the offshore boys reds. Cheers DD.....

Ausfish Platinum Member - R.I.P. October 2015 dayoo's Avatar

What!! No bay snapps weighed in!!
    Went to Mud with Popgun 19 (Brian) and managed 4 squire to 42cm and a few bust offs.
    Couldn't attend the weigh in as Brian had other commitments yesterday arvo.

Barry

Some pics of the arvo weigh in snapps, our small catch from bay and Netmaker struggling into his grinner machine after the tide had rinen (funny stuff) but a long lumpy trip back to clevland as that wind come up by then. Attachment 81348Attachment 81349Attachment 81350Attachment 81352Attachment 81353Like a wilderbiest up a mud bank funny as...

Some great fish taken fellas. I can't wait to see Ideas pics and story. A fish of a lifetime. Hopefully MM captured it on video

Quote Originally Posted by liltuffy View Post
    Muddy - where were you watching from ?? Macca and I sat on that bait ground and pulled all sorts of fish - pics attached - we put hooks in their backs but couldn't seem to pull anything bigger than what's in the pics.

I was watching from 6500km away at work.......I was just having a dig hahahahah, good guess hey?

Thanks Tim D and all the other guys for a top day.
    Thanks Graeme and Lucas for joining me for the trip. Sorry the Kewells had you knackered for most of the day Lucas it didn't seem to slow down your ability to send texts letting everyone know what they were missing out on . Thanks Trevally for the prize you donated I will do my best to put the scales to good use.

It was a magic day out on the water we met up with Macca and Scalem at the bar and went out together there were a few waves standing up on the back bar but all made it through safely.
    Our first stop was the bait ground and loaded the tanks pretty quickly then off to the 29s. We sounded around some marks and decided to have a drop and before I even had a line in the water Graeme was hooked up to what ended up being a new PB for him a 83 cm Snapper. We ended up getting 11 very healthy Snapper the 3 biggest going 83,78,77 cm 1 Pearly and a Mowong.
    We lost a few cracking fish to the dreaded men in grey suits.
    Conditions for the day were fantastic with about a 2m south easterly swell and 5 knots of wind for most of the day.

Cheers Brett

TIM D thanks for organising the day team beeracuda had a good day we put together a nice feed of snapper & pearlies..Bruce broke in his new rod &reel with his first fish a small snap then the 2nd a 550 snapper tim got the biggest fish a 1.5m shark which took him about 35 min to bring to the boat then bust off we also had a nice show of whales around the boat as well. I do think we would have done better on the fishing front if Bruce had of started a burley trail but even with a 2m south easterly swell the bugger would not get going I think he was enjoying himself to much with his new baby but geez the conditions were great with the wind dropping out for an hour or so before the northerly kicked in, it was great catching up at the weigh in with plenty of laughs & Davo with his grinners that was classic,, as for Tim getting the"" scuffiest prize"" that only happened because he had more hair than all of us put together Lucas that chilly of yours tasted great but only a small bit at a time I think I will be up for a some next time you brew mate...also BAIT won the day I think now to get sorted for INSKIP cheers BIll

As lil Tuffy has already posted we had a great day and scored a good feed. There was much banter at the weigh in which was great. Looking forward to the next one. Thanks TimD for putting it all together and Netmaker for the prize of a free tax return that I won. I like my tax agents to be that little bit dodgy to get the best return possible and looking at the bucket of grinners Dave brought to the weigh in I reckon I will get heaps back this year There were some cracking fish weighed in and the Bait boys absolutely smashed em.

I gotta admit the Bait Boys certainly did well, but there was around 8 bait teams vs around 4 arti teams so i knew we were in a bit of trouble

We got a few fish though, so we still rocked up to the weigh in with our heads held high

cheers tim

Haven't the excuses already started.... 2 bait teams both showed up with 13 legals it actually had to be decided on a rock off who had the most catch... The main part of that was 2 BAIT teams.... Just saying....

Tim D ,,, mate hold your head high you put together a great little M&G but lets not forget the old smelly stuff "BAIT" won the day you should book this in for "same time same place next year""I'm sure we will get more crews & this will turn out a fun event cheers bill

Tim, Well done of organising a great day.....
    I had a great day on the water and managed to catch all the shit fish in the bay, and then everything else was under size... New prop worked tops and I think I saved about $40 in fuel for the day.

Had to run home to fix a fence and stop a friends dog from escaping my yard, dug under the fence (F%^#ING THING). That and having zero fish in the esky and not wanting to fight the afternoon boat ramp crazies on my own, I headed home...

Had a very interesting thing happen, Looks like some nice person at Raby Bay boat ramp decided they would brake the padlock on my tow ball safety catch, the safety catch was bent at a right angle... they managed to brake my large padlock on one of my safety chains also, so not sure if they tried to take my trailer home and got interupted or was someone with a bad sense of humour, Anyway I was putting the boat away at home and it jumped off the ball and scared the shit out of me and took me 20min to get it back on... glad it never happen on the way home as I was doing 80km at times, scary thought when you think about it...

Spent $150 on two new locks today, best ones I could find.

Brett (Soloman 0 - Fish 1)

there should have been a " JOHN WEST " prize check out what harry done .
    there is a bit of swearing in the video
    it is a 75 cm kingy
    http://youtu.be/vVecMUjti4I

Shy guys would like to thank Tim for organizing the event. I think I can speak for everyone by saying the weather was a Cracker can't of asked for better was a great day offshore fishing was a bit slow with only a couple small fish in the box would of had a nice king if I myself didn't John west it (I think Bret and shy guy 2 were not impressed) might need a couple new I reckon but all in all was a great day out and will be there for the next one. Also would like to thank mad mackerel for the escort through the bar appreciated didn't feel like driving back around the cape cheers again to everyone who showed up will see you on the next one

Bret lucky we can't see the movie (it never happend)