Green Fish

Thread: Green Fish

Green Fish

Down on the mate's farm at the mo. Managed to pull a nice fish this arvo. Happy to get one as the shut down a bit as the weather gets colder.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Green Fish

Nice fish Peter. I'd be happy to get one of them this year.

Thanks,
    Wags

Nice Cod there mate. A mate and myself are going out to the local dam here to do some fishing on Tuesday weather permitting. Hopefully we can get ourselves a big one. The big ones come one the bite in the dam after we get a frost or 2. I think it is because the big females are preparing themselves for spawning. Doug.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

There were a few Inverell blokes used to say that the best time for the cod was when the wattle started to flower. That was for the big puddle south of Inverell.

Quote Originally Posted by BobbyJ123 View Post
    There were a few Inverell blokes used to say that the best time for the cod was when the wattle started to flower. That was for the big puddle south of Inverell.
    Same thing said for the Hairtail in the Hawkesbury - and that is around August.

Quote Originally Posted by BobbyJ123 View Post
    In the last few years there has been a hell of a lot of big cod, (over a metre) caught and released in the colder months out of Copeton, and it goes right through til about November.
    Cheers, Doug.

Hi Guys,
    You can still catch cod all year around the NW slopes n plains area but they fight like a hooked stick in winter and usually float belly up once hooked as they are too cold to swim around.
    Usually they feed up before winter, go into a partial hibernation during winter and then start feeding again with the warmer months and thats why they have a closed season from August to December as its their spawning time.

With Copeton being so full I reckon they have plenty of room to hide at the moment.
    We used to go out on a sunny winters day when I lived over there and we used to pull huge yellas, just for a bit of catch and release fun when you wouldnt put a foot near the water cause it was too cold.
    Starting to get the shivers here now just thinking about those cold frosty mornings.
    Just going to polish my jew lures.

I slipped out to the dam(Copeton) one nice July morning,pushed the boat off the trailer and the rope slipped through my hand. I had a bit of a feel of the water and thought no way I'm going in there. Lucky it was a nice day and another fisho turned up pretty soon. He gave me a lift out to my boat.

I caught my first metery in July a fair few years back. Like any dam fishing there is a lot more fishing than catching.

Quote Originally Posted by wamjam View Post
    I caught my first metery in July a fair few years back. Like any dam fishing there is a lot more fishing than catching.

Yeah, Copeton had got a lot of big meterys in there.

Lucky you didnt have to go for a swim to retrieve your boat, brrrrrrrrr.

Doug.
    Cheers, Doug.

I dont like to skite( well,yeah I do
    I got 6 over a metre there one day all on lures But I had shorts n a T-shirt on and was sweating not shivering.
    cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    I got 6 over a metre there one day all on lures But I had shorts n a T-shirt on and was sweating not shivering.
    cheers.
    So! What are you saying? Or what's your point?
    Cheers, Doug.

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    cheers.
    That's a pretty good day out Steve. All the planets, moons and your tongue must have been lined up that day.... Jamie and I got a 105 and a 108 late one arvo, got chased home by a storm.

In the area I fish I find most fish are between 1 and 2 kilo. Not huge - but I know there are much bigger in there. I use my bass gear - 8lb braid and 12lb leader. One of these days one of those big ones will teach me a hard lesson lol.

G'day mate,
    It doesn't matter what size the cod are that you catch... they are always a nice fish to catch regardless of size.

Doug.
    Cheers, Doug.

Quote Originally Posted by Goodoo haven View Post
    So! What are you saying? Or what's your point?
    It means I had a great day and I caught them in warmer weather as I dont go much on freezing my arse off
    I think somewhere in the fine print there is also something that says you are not supposed to target cod during a closed season?