Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: F233 stringer replacement

Re: F233 stringer replacement

Klegecell is the best in my mind

Quote Originally Posted by simon656 View Post
    Well did some poking around on the boat yesterday to find main stringers and transom totally rotted out. Some bright spark drilled 20 mm holes in stringers in the bilge and cut through the transom for a vent without resealing them. So it's all coming out. Have been debating between epoxy and vinyl ester. Captain what fillers and adhesives to you use with VE , cheers
    Not good however to be expected with any boat of this age. If I ever bought one with the intent to keep, I reckon I would do it anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Master4Med2 View Post
    Simon656,

I have an account with FGI ( Nuplex ), so I'll be using Divincell and Klegecell as core materials, and vinyl ester resin throughout the rebuild. but once I get to the fairing and painting process I'll swap to epoxy based materials.

Other core materials to consider would be Coosa and Airex.

However if your choice of core is plywood, then I would only use epoxy, hope that helps.

Regards Con

PS: My hull will be turned into a centre console.
    Con, Keep in mind that core materials be they Divinicell, Corecell, Klegercell etc are much, much lighter than timber. Therefore you will need a heavy glass layup over the top to get back to desired weight.

Spiro

Spiro,

I have a very good friend that is a naval architect, as a favor, he has calculated and designed the laminate schedule, fuel tank, console, twin outboard bracket / pod, batteries position etc, etc.

So I have a good head start.

Regards Con

Hi Con,
    What brand of epoxy do you favor, heard varying reports on all of them,
    Cheers Simon

Quote Originally Posted by Master4Med2 View Post
    Spiro,

I have a very good friend that is a naval architect, as a favor, he has calculated and designed the laminate schedule, fuel tank, console, twin outboard bracket / pod, batteries position etc, etc.

So I have a good head start.

Regards Con
    Sounds like you've got a great head start Con,

Only reason I mentioned it is because it has been over-looked by many previously. As a result boats have ended up very unstable at rest and very flighty. The 233, like many other deep V boats, benefits from weight below the water line.

As you are converting to a CC, you have the added advantage of lower center of gravity. It will definitely be a different/better boat when finished.

simon656

Hi Con,
    What brand
    of epoxy do you favor, heard varying reports on all of them,
    Simon
    Simon,

My first choice would be R180 by FGI ( Nuplex ) as I have an account with them and is well priced.

Second would be West Systems R105 supplied in Australia by ATL Composites.

Both these companies have other variations of epoxy available, mainly for Hi Tec applications.

I've used both brands of resins without any failure and are easy to use.

Hope that helps.

Regards Con

Cheers Con,

Seems R180 is about half the price of the west system. r180 is hard to come by in Victoria

Simon,

Here's the address of the FGI ( Nuplex ) in your area.

1612-1638 Centre Road
    Springvale VIC 3171
    Tel: (03) 9550 5650 (03) 9550 5650
    Fax: (03) 9547 5179

Regards Con

Hi Spiro,
    Any news from HH about getting a look at those old F233 plans?

No Simon, not yet mate. Too much going on at the moment. Boat show has them all very busy.

No worries mate please keep me informed when you hear something.

G'day Simon,

I stumbled accross an article from Modern Boating 1966 which reviews the very first 233 built in Australia. It is an interesting read and one that clears up a few points for us. The transom pad and gunwale strip or hull/deck join CANNOT be used to identify whether and early 233 was built in America or Australia. As the article contains build specs, it also provides dry hull weight (believe it or not, just shy of 1100kg's).

Anyway, give me call when you get a chance and we'll discuss further.

Spiro

1100kg would be about the right build weight Spiro as opposed to the "odd" thinking these days that much heavier makes a better boat.

That weight figure fits in well when you consider other boats. Say for example a Savage Marlin/Bluefin at around 1000kg. Bertram 20 about the same. Bertram 25 flybridge (bare) around 1700kg. The original formula could have probably been maybe 100kg heavier?

I will never understand the overbuilding of boats as it means less performance and more hp required to make it go. Overweight is all bad IMO.

heavier hull stays in the water better and cuts through the chop,the extra weight improves the ride, with the modern engines its still economical,the original 233,s did 45 mph with the twin 165 mercruisers,the heavier edencrafts still do that with twin 150 hp out boards so they havnt lost any performance just got better in the rough.
    and as for old thinking ,have a look at the haines hunters for example ,building them heavier so are cruise craft,.
    the old saying theres no replacement for displacement