Thanks trev, been a long thread n after reading it all last yeah n following it I must have forgotten about that post, now I'm in the same spot as you, just waiting for everything to line up!
Went out yesty with the old man and friends, this fella was the biggest...
Mate thats one mean looking fish,, what gear did you have to pull up from 400m???
gr8 stuff mate got to be happy with that...... what transducer you running with the nss at that depth i assume 1kw???? i have a nss only running as a plotter was looking at getting a transducer for it soon... i dont fish over the 100m line so probly no need for the 1kw for my needs... cheers mick
...........GOOD THINGS COME TO THOSE WHO BAIT.........
Great stuff, and well done.
Cheers, Doug.
Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.
Well done HnP - nice Trevella - Browns Mountain?
Well I am about to try again in a couple of weeks at full moon if the winds let me.
Hows with you Bill - coming? Brett - interested?
Trev
My recent attempt was from Scarby to Moreton Canyons.
Left ramp at 4am got to Hutchies and trolled a little while and lost a fish in the first few minutes and that was all for there.
I trolled 40km east of there in these conditions
1.JPG
- got a hit and the rod and reel went over the side
Lanyard saved the outfit but fish got off.
Continued to the shelf and first drop this thing jumped onto it
2a.JPG
I last time called it a nannygai but have been told it is a bight redfish
So I thought what the heck get some more - no success after five drifts so moved.
I tried several places with ledges of 20m in depths anything from 300m to 550m with most effort in the 300-350 range.
I got this thing - it's orange - it was edible and tasted nice - what is it?
3a.JPG
When I cleaned it there was this in it's gut
4.JPG
So it eats marlin
I must have done about 40 to 50 drops for two fish - am I doing something wrong?
I tried ledges and the flat bit at the top of slopes that even showed fish on the sounder.
I had my fair share of pickers at times in the 250 to 300m range and absolutely nothing in the 450 to 550m range.
Here is where I went Soundera.JPG
Conditions were easy with a drift north to south being slowed by a breeze from the south.
I was drift travelling 0.8-1.5kph in morning and 1.5-2kph in arvo.
I used 2kg weight but probably could have gotten away with 1kg.
I easily maintained contact with bottom.
It was a very pleasant day out - some more fish would have been great.
I tried the wrecks in 175m and 200m on return with pillies, squid and mullet fillets for zip zero zilch.
With the prop damaged I chose not to scout about hoping to locate the shipping containers for future trips.
Tony you missed a nice day on the water - but not fish although I reckon I would have done a lot better trolling with a person to manage the gear whilst I kept the speed right to land those razor gang things.
I did have one boat go over a troll rig at Hutchies losing some very expensive rig including 10m of wire, trolling weight and Owner hardware - ouch - they looked to be bottom bouncing but in a flash they were on the plane and covered 50m and across the troll line damn 6.25 evo 200hp suz driver! If they found the weight (1kg) and wire (200lb) they would not have been so happy with themselves.
Trev
Your first fish is a Nannygai,also known as Golden Snapper, King Snapper, Red Snapper, Redfish, Redfish Nannygai
Just depends on where you come from to what they are called.
Most names are to do with marketing as some fish cannot sell for good money under one name but do under another name.
Morwong is a classic example,,,name it Morwong and its extremely hard to sell but sell it as Sea Bream and it walks out the door for top dollar.
Trev that looked like great conditions, I am still really keen for this mate so please keep me in mind . lucky you have those reels to pull up all the time,,interesting that at those depths you still get pickers. aleast you are putting the time & effort in this style of fishing I'm sure you will reap the rewards shortly,, it was a every interesting read.
Cheers Bill
Bill, with these ledges and trenches unless you have somewhere specific or lucky then they just go forever so it is difficult to track a good spot.
As I said the sounder showed fish and I expected better than pickers.
I will be interested to try some sea mounts as these are a more specific peak rather than a long ledge or trench.
I am mystified where people say I went out found a random ledge dropped and up come this!!
It is a long way to go to do a random drop and manual retrieve and maybe be fit enough to do it one more time.
Trev
Try coming west a bit .
Sam.
Your second fish is a sharphead perch - lepidoperca magna.
They certainly are good eating. Try fishing shallower.
Just a couple of quick questions:
What baits were you using?
Did you only use circle hooks?
How long were your drift intervals?(time wise)
When you encountered the pickers, were you losing baits?
I've found that anything that stays on the hook is way better than soft baits. If we do send down pillies (and we do occasionally) we do it on a set of gangs. The best bait we have found is mack tuna, fresh is best, and if we pick one of these up early it almost guarantees a bar cod provided the conditions are fishable. Second preference is slimies closely followed by squid. Don't be afraid to use live bait either, bar cod love live slimies!!!!
I would do more prospecting around that 230m to 300m mark. It seems to be a sweet spot. I've also got a fairly decent chart in my gps, and the number of gullies, pins, and ledges that it doesn't show is astronomical. I only run a 600w transducer so drifting is the way I find a lot of my marks otherwise I don't pick up the bottom after 300m.
The other fantastic source of information for deep dropping and especially jigging in this deeper water is the WA forums. Those guys over there take it to a different level.
Also, we don't stop our drifts just off the targeted marks, some days we find them stacked up right on a rock ledge, other days the sounder says they are there, but we don't get fish until we are a good 500m off the mark and out on the flat. One spot we fish is dead flat and appears barren, but consistently produces fish. Some of our drifts can last an hour, and as long as you have some tuff bait on and it's near the bottom, you're in with a shot.
Circle hooks are the other area that can be difficult to master. The temptation to try and set the hook can be frustrating. As well those large circles that you are using kind of eliminates a lot of those pickers, but in that 230m mark these can be snapper and the delicious flame snapper. We have been trying some octopus hooks with great success. Maybe mix up your hook patterns to see what works on the day.
The nannygai you have caught and the sharp head perch are good indicators you are in the right spots and not far off cracking that big one. Keep persevering and the rewards will come. Oh and that sharp head is a good sized one.
Sorry for the long post, can't believe I just did it with the phone.
Okay its on heading out with Trev at 4.30 in the morning to some spots off the Goldie this should be very interesting , DEEP drop here I come LOL