Umm.. I'm meant to have a planned distance????
Won't actually know till next Friday when I get home. Need to check the last distance travelled with the fuel used on the gps. Then work out on google earth for the marks I have and where I should launch from. Then after my head stops spinning it should be doomsday. I reckon if you have 150km with safety margin add in a couple of gerry cans and you should be fine. I'm taking 150lts on a 2 stroke yammi 90hp. Leave early and cruise at about 35kmh.
And with 150km range I'm assuming it's not a big boat so maybe we show the big boys how it's done. (muddy, trev, 2ic).
Lucas the weather Gods are certainly smiling on you.
Yes I do hope you get to show us how it is done.
Sounds like you need to buy two more jerry cans and put it the boat.
I bought trace material yesterday 400lb main and 200lb droppers and lumo - so I will make some traces up this weekend.
I have 1500 yards of 150lb power-pro to put onto the Inter 80T this weekend too - I am thinking not a bad idea to have 50m of 100lb line down at the business end incase of a serious snag - should not be such a big deal especially if we are to go easy on these critters for two good reasons - they have soft mouths and going too hard at it will only kill us.
From what I have seen the super heavy stuff is really only needed on the trace for multiple hook-ups to stop them smashing the rig.
Read somewhere it is a good idea to secure the sinkers with a heavy rubber band.
The writer recommended the reo with zip ties and if heavier weight needed just bundle the reo together with rubber bands at sea. I will get to doing the weight soon.
This coming week certainly looks like prime conditions.
Mate I hope you do good on Monday and get first bragging rights - but don't worry if you flop we will acknowledge that too
OR24 glad you managed to sort the pic uploading - that is one heck of a fish - and now you have got me keen - coral trout rates as my favourite - thanks for posting.
Some folks call it hard work and some call it meat gathering - either way it appeals to me and Lucas, I love your attitude - good luck!
Trev
With you making rigs trev does that mean there's a slight chance you may just come?
May have to invest in 2 more gerry cans I reckon. Just to be sure.
I hope all these people that have looked at the weather as I have not are looking for the 27th.
Just getting into the swing of things and raising my enthusiasm
Two more jerries - is a good idea.
According to these it will be 3 knots for the next two weeks http://www.zoover.com/australia/quee...isbane/weather
Trev
That's What I love to see. Enthusiasm. Been a bit low on that over the last year. Been a lot of same old same old. That's why I finally HAD to start writing. Paternoster is easiest. Just make loops about 25cm long and loop the hook on. About 1.5 m between each hook. Some light line to weight below the bottom hook. about 40lb is good. Expect to snag. Most fishy ledges are 10 to 20m high and great for snagging. If so just motor forwards and most times it will come off. The other secret, is if you get a bite, then a snag, it is likely to be a BG. Those brutes sit in their hole or behind a ledge. You have to drive forward to pull them out. Bear in mind that drive forward is probs 200 or 300 m at least. Must use your gps or you won't know which away you are going. Phil
Fuel, not to worry, if you run out, you are xprobs nearly home anyway, not out wide. Then it's just a pain, not life threatening.
If all this proves successfull then I will look at either a 4banger or a bigger boat with a 4banger. But I will never lower my standards and use an electric reel
I will e happy with 1 for the table but planning on 2-3 drops. Dependant on Esky.
Can I fillet these beasts at sea?
Last edited by Crunchy; 17-08-2012 at 09:23 AM. Reason: spelling
Does that mean your coming
Hey crunchy I got a spare seat there will be 3 on board taking 100lt under floor plus 5 gerry cans. Heading east and hope for the best. Got 1 rod/reel combo but I'm assuming we don't want to drop 3 rigs at once anyway.
Everyone pull up got a fighter here. Yea stuff that. Plus it's a team effort.
Or bring your tub a couple more gerry cans she'll be right. Plus I have some fancy electronics if we get into strife.
Dependant on what bar I have to cross will make all the difference on time leaving.
No hes just breathing heavy
Good to see people are still keen to give this deep fishing a go.. I have my fingers crossed its not a weekend I have stuff planned, got a bit on at the moment..
only problem I have is the freezer is full after the last 1770 trip !!!