Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: A house set up for fishing holidays

Re: A house set up for fishing holidays

Quote Originally Posted by Boat Hog View Post
    The holiday pad looks great!

A couple of things we look for when travelling to fish;
    Boat Parking - off the road - level. Prefer not under trees.
    Clothes dryer?
    Dishwasher?
    (supposed to be a holiday!)

Nice to have;
    Fish cleaning station (covered from sun/rain).
    Chest Freezer or extra fridge freezer for ice, bait, fish, booze.

What's the local boat ramp like? Is it tide dependant, big boats okay?

All the best, cheers,
    Yep it has parking not under trees i know the frustration of leaves in my boat, It has a dishwasher, washing machine, but no dryer at least not yet. It has a fish cleaning station and a flush tank for your boat. It has a full size fridge freezer because we hait those liitle hotel things, You can buy ice across the road from 3 dollars a bag. There is fuel in town but unleaded only. But it is only 15kms to a servo that has deisel. A outdoor spa which at the moment is still sitting in the shed, Flat screen tv Ipod 400w stereo and heaps of space for the kids. The trees are full of black cockatoos, white cockatoos, lorrikeets,galahs we have bird baths and a feeding station on the property. Acroos the road is the local hotel with meals and cold beers, meals start from 10 dollars wednesdays are two for 14 dollars. There is a local store for dvds and food and a takeaway. There are two boat ramps thet are both suitable for big boats. The one on Pumpkin creek the Coast guard use for their large cat. Though that one is no good on low tide but okay if you are heading up the creek. The other one I use I have a 6.1 meter boat. I can still beach launch when the tide is right out and the ramp in usable from half tide onward. Rosselyn bay 6 ramps with lots of parking is 20mins away towing a boat and is accessable at all times. I hope this helps cheers Pete

Quote Originally Posted by pueter66 View Post
    Yep it has parking not under trees i know the frustration of leaves in my boat, It has a dishwasher, washing machine, but no dryer at least not yet. It has a fish cleaning station and a flush tank for your boat. It has a full size fridge freezer because we hait those liitle hotel things, You can buy ice across the road from 3 dollars a bag. There is fuel in town but unleaded only. But it is only 15kms to a servo that has deisel. A outdoor spa which at the moment is still sitting in the shed, Flat screen tv Ipod 400w stereo and heaps of space for the kids. The trees are full of black cockatoos, white cockatoos, lorrikeets,galahs we have bird baths and a feeding station on the property. Acroos the road is the local hotel with meals and cold beers, meals start from 10 dollars wednesdays are two for 14 dollars. There is a local store for dvds and food and a takeaway. There are two boat ramps thet are both suitable for big boats. The one on Pumpkin creek the Coast guard use for their large cat. Though that one is no good on low tide but okay if you are heading up the creek. The other one I use I have a 6.1 meter boat. I can still beach launch when the tide is right out and the ramp in usable from half tide onward. Rosselyn bay 6 ramps with lots of parking is 20mins away towing a boat and is accessable at all times. I hope this helps cheers Pete
    Thanks. Sounds like the perfect spot for next years holidays!
    Sounds too good to be true.... now about a refund policy if you don't catch any fish??

Cool Re: A house set up for fishing holidays

Quote Originally Posted by Boat Hog View Post
    Thanks. Sounds like the perfect spot for next years holidays!
    Sounds too good to be true.... now about a refund policy if you don't catch any fish??
    on ya You must work for my wife.

Just a quick thankyou to the ausfish members for this input on this project the house is going very well through word of mouth and I have been very happy with the patrons some of them ausfish members. So far only downer I have had so far is that the next flush tank I build I will chain it to the tree the first one only lasted a couple of weeks and it was gone. Putting in outside hammocks now. Cheers Pete

Pictures didnt work for some reason check out, type in "keppel sands luxury cottage" on google for pics
    Sorry pete

These attachment don't open, I'm supposed to report it to the administrator!
    What could go wrong.......................

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post
    These attachment don't open, I'm supposed to report it to the administrator!
    Thanks mate I will edit them out stuffed if i know why they didnt work cheers pete

With the About Us, if you could add in a map showing your lacation, that would be good. I had to google map the address to see where it was. Looks like it is only a couple of hours further than 1770. What is the fishing like in that area? May have to think about towing the boat up one day.

Quote Originally Posted by marto78 View Post
    I have been looking at these for the last few weeks but am just trying to figure out how I can hide it from the missus.
    just buy a new boat, then she won't give a thought to the ice maker...
    That's a cracking boat at Divide Island Pete, is that yours? very nice...
    the cottage is a great idea. I think a good tele is an idea, in case the weather goes bad, plus a selection of dvds and a heap of paperback books also.
    I reckon a pad/slab where you can wash the boat down maybe with a tap right there.
    The Dudds have always appreciated plenty of freezer space to put crab bait etc. Also i've often wondered about feedback after people have been. A diary is a great idea, but also if you contact people by email afterward and give them a rating out of ten for how they left the place against the average rating... it would give people an idea of whether they have cleaned up enough post holiday.
    In that email you could also invite people to give feedback and that will alert you to any issues going on. They might also send photos or perhaps you could offer a 10% discount next trip if they give feedback or send photos. you could take those photos and print them at hardly normal or somewehere and put them up on a brag wall. I alwasy like to check those things out.
    Some people like fans rather than aircon and they can be cheaper too so keeping a few of those around the place can save you some coin in power bills?
    just a few ideas which may or may not be useful.
    regards jim

Thumbs up Re: A house set up for fishing holidays

Quote Originally Posted by Sheik View Post
    just buy a new boat, then she won't give a thought to the ice maker...
    That's a cracking boat at Divide Island Pete, is that yours? very nice...
    the cottage is a great idea. I think a good tele is an idea, in case the weather goes bad, plus a selection of dvds and a heap of paperback books also.
    I reckon a pad/slab where you can wash the boat down maybe with a tap right there.
    The Dudds have always appreciated plenty of freezer space to put crab bait etc. Also i've often wondered about feedback after people have been. A diary is a great idea, but also if you contact people by email afterward and give them a rating out of ten for how they left the place against the average rating... it would give people an idea of whether they have cleaned up enough post holiday.
    In that email you could also invite people to give feedback and that will alert you to any issues going on. They might also send photos or perhaps you could offer a 10% discount next trip if they give feedback or send photos. you could take those photos and print them at hardly normal or somewehere and put them up on a brag wall. I alwasy like to check those things out.
    Some people like fans rather than aircon and they can be cheaper too so keeping a few of those around the place can save you some coin in power bills?
    just a few ideas which may or may not be useful.
    regards jim
    Thanks Jim I had a guest book on the website which provided some really positive feedback but had to shut it down(I only had five pages to use on the web site and needed a map) The photos of wall of fame is a great idea and will include that in my welcome letter if anyone wants to send their photos. I will put them up on a page. The fans are a good idea as well but we have always found with the old style cottage it is very cool and has a beautifull breeze that blows through. The slab is out at the moment due to budget constraints but is sure to be included hopefully as early as next year. Yep the boat is mine and a great work horse it is 175 honda 4 stroke on back. Trouble is getting the time to use it. Weather has been glorious up here at the moment last two weeks have been sub 10 knots blue skys and blue waters. caught a nice salmon off the rock wall who needs a boat. Thanks for your input much appreciated. CHEERS pete

no worries mate, hopefully will get up there to use it at some stage.

Thumbs up Re: A house set up for fishing holidays

Quote Originally Posted by Sheik View Post
    no worries mate, hopefully will get up there to use it at some stage.
    Hey Sheik, have updated my web page to include a hall of fame page it will be there on the slides page. Thanks for the good idea I just need people to send in pictures that have stayed now. PS salmon are going off here at the moment. Were smashing them off the beach. Cheers Pete