Thread: Fraser Last Week

Fraser Last Week (Few Pics Added)

Home from fraser yesterday. 6 blokes 3 boat's, got 6 out of 6 days on the water. 2 sloppy ones, 2 ok and 2 glass outs, 800 litres of fuel burnt.

We fished from south of the south gardners right through to breaksea wide. Got all the usual reefies including a couple of nice reds to 8kg's, plenty of nice size rt's, tuskies and the odd jobby and coronation (one biggy). Also got good numbers of spanish and few wahoo (including a 55 pounder). Wahoo were thick as on north gardners, spanish were spread right through the high points on all reef systems. Sharks took their share but overall we did very well on the fishing fron't.

The beach launch was pretty dodgy, beach is very flat, gutter was good once we ot the boats afloat but we were accessing it from a sand spit that went under water at high tide so very soft, also had the cars well in the water to get some depth, a bit of snatchy work in the surf for us and others whilst we were there but not impossible by any means with a bit of care. It does look to be improving a bit though with some other options starting to appear in the days before we left.

Run up is good, we went around the front of all the rocks with about 2 hours of tide, all the usual spots were soft but a pretty good run to orchid with a bit of snatchy work.

I'll try and put a few pics up when i have them. Just thought i'd post as i know Murf and co are headed that way soon.

Gota love fraser.

Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	K1024_fraser2012 030.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	80145   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	K1024_fraser2012 023.jpg 
Size:	71.1 KB 
ID:	80146   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1030675.jpg 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	80147   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fraser2012 002.jpg 
Size:	44.6 KB 
ID:	80148  

Re: Fraser Last Week

Added a few pix

Cracking wahoo mate, looks like an awesome trip!

some good lookn fish there mate and some good lookn conditions as well. where abouts did u stay? orchid?

Nice work. What trailer did you end up putting under your old boys Stabi?

Ya got some nice fish there buddy
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Smithy, I ended up going with Belco, I specked up all the dimensions A frame width, wheel carriage cross sections etc etc, did all the cad work myself and they did the build with regular old box so was a true custom job. To their credit they followed my specs to the T, the build quality is great and the whole package ended up fitting the hull like a glove. For the old fella i wanted some something tough, simple, functional, drive on/off easy for mum and dad to use at the ramp by themselves. This thing will never ever bend and loads like a ripper dry off the beach up at fraser. I went the standard old swing away draw bar and transfered the surf winch of the old one. Trailer weighs 630 kgs but the whole rig is still under the 2 tonne wet so no worries on the weight. I could have gone alloy, i beam etc etc all the flash stuff but it does exactley what i wanted , the old boy loves it and it will see him out so thats all that matters. 2 belco's in the familly now.

Must be hard work on the 'Out Staion'! Is it a custom Riptide? Great report and photo's.
    More photo's would be sic?
    Stop professional fishing... before it's too late!

Waterbouy, very very hard work on the Out-Station, yes is Riptide. Got some more pics and footage that i'll post in a vid when i get it done. Its always the same with our crew, we end up with heaps of pics and vid on the scenery but never any of actual fishing when its any good cos its every man for himself to get a line in the water and fish in the box, its a sure way to get abused wasting time taking pics when its go time on fish. Anyway, movie to come, bit of fun.