Thread: The horrible truth

The horrible truth

The Horrible Truth....
    After a long time, trying to get on the water with Netmaker, it finally happened.So we arranged to meet at the Wello ramp at 5am Sat morn, at 4ish am I get a msge from Davo saying he shit the bed so will be at the ramp around 4:30 and I guess that's when it all went wrong. We headed straight to Mud, Placcies only, coupla cast Davo boated a small squire then dropped a 50ish Flatty boatside, more small fish were the order of the day, some Mac tuna swam past so armed with a 2500 shimano I launch my 4inch squidgy wriggler at them and loaded up as soon as it hit the water it spat me when it felt the resistance, before I could think another set of solid Mac shoulders breached the surface and wham I'm loaded up again, but a minute later placcie was spat out again, not that I thought I had a chance, but it was another lost opportunity, we moved around, tried different spots more of the same, Davo told me to deadstick my 4000 shimano out the back and a short time later it was seriously loaded up and the 10kg mono was disappearing fast Davo took the smaller rod off me as I was on with it as well, I took the full weight of the freight train and then a bullet sound and a small cut to my hand and I was standing there with an empty 4000 sized reel, shattered..We caught up with Mossy and luccee, Mossy made me feel better with a chocolate wagon wheel, thanks bud..Nice to finally meet you mate. Oh yeah! and thanks luccee for comming over and rubbing that nice cobia in our face...... But this whole time I was hanging onto a secrete.
    The day ended just like that, small fish and missed opportunities, it wasn't until I got home that I sent Davo a msge telling him ""The Horrible Truth"" that I had committed a boating crime, as in my fishing bag I found a BANANA, YES THAT'S RIGHT, I had meant to eat it at the ramp whilst waiting for Davo but he was running early so its his fault...Cheers for a great day Davo cant wait to do it again, however I might suggest a bag search..lol
    Bingo

Re: The horrible truth

So bananas are the excuse of the day . Awesome to catch up again. We never did see the tuna all we got was a lonely dolphin slowing the fishing up.

yr using 10kg mono?

Nice one on the banana.

Have one fr me.

I think netmaker had a banana on board last week when chasing prawns, or where you just happy to see me dave, ha ha ,cheers roy

MUDRIVERDAN

LOL...yeah mate 10kg mono, overkill Ur thinking right?
    But it didn't stop what ever took the plastic, so I guess not...

Cheers Bingo

Roy
    Dave is always happy to have someone on his boat, so you'll have to just guess if it was a banana you saw.

Bingo

Luccee

The banana has to take the blame, because I couldn't blame the skipper on our 1st trip together... Could I???

Bingo

Hey OODIES i think u guys were just north of us when my mate (shannonr87) fell outta my boat, around 8am i think it was......

Kingcray
    We may well of been mate, but I wish we were closer so that we could of helped you laugh... Lol.. Were you the two blokes in the unpainted tinny, with the Ausfish sticker on the starboard side, one of you may of been wearing a red shirt/jacket?

Cheers Bingo

4.3m catcher unpainted 30 merc, blue ausfish stickers on each side. Mossy came over said gday. We were hanging sorta between u guys for a while. We were pretty close to Mossy when they landed that cobe. Sounded like they had just brought a treasure chest on board.

yeah. kingcray, that was us. come say gidday next time. i'm disappointed we didn't see ya mate swim too. moments like that are priceless. and i couldn't believe that banana text either. thought bingo was pulling my leg. not that i'm superstitious or anything other than i reckon fishermen in general are a supertitious lot. what colour to use, weight, moon cycle, tide time etc etc etc not to mention "the feeling". but a BANANA? i reckon if it takes near a year to click on "the trip" i would have given up bananas at least the week before let alone planning to eat one at the ramp. i can only say that i was chuffed as to bag a 78 this morn minus the banana bearer.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Your a hard man Davo, still rubbin it in... Lol

Quote Originally Posted by OODIES View Post
    MUDRIVERDAN

LOL...yeah mate 10kg mono, overkill Ur thinking right?
    But it didn't stop what ever took the plastic, so I guess not...

Cheers Bingo
    Nope was thinking you use braid for plastics.
    Though mono would be cheaper and easy to handle, braid can be such a pain sometimes.

Maybe the 2500 was a little under-gunned in spool capacity, especially loaded with 10kg mono you wouldn't get a lot of line on the spool, good effort anyway!

(Just reread, it was a 4000 that was spooled, you might need to switch to braid to get some extra yards on)

I hear ya Mudriverdan, good advice mate and I think I'll take it...lol
    Can't wait to get back out there, should get my boat back today so haven't ruled out an arvo run this week.
    Happy fishn mate.

Bingo (Dave)