Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 234567891011121314 LastLast

Thread: 2012 rod building weekend

Re: 2012 rod building weekend

Likewise TOL, i couldnt make it either, courtesy of a dodgy kebab
    Tangles KFC

i think the camera broke..... from to many topless sexy blokes running around

What happens at the RBW stays at the RBW. I can say that Stink finger "Scott" didnt get caught up in any epoxy this time, he did bring his cattle prod which I realy wanted to play with. Scott also coated a rod on top of his 4x4 for a while, it was a bugger because I couldnt find his keys. Good weekend as always, thanks to Sue and Greg for putting up with us all once again.

hey how was the neckless mate

Quote Originally Posted by theoldlegend View Post
    Well, I admit I'm a bit disappointed at the lack of information about the RBW.

I've been on tenterhooks since late yesterday afternoon, waiting for pics of what people had made.

I even thought there might have been a snippet or two about some poor unfortunate falling off Pinhead's pontoon.

So far, there's NOTHING!!

What's the go here?

Rod building? Is that what happened here?..I thought it was an alcohol consumption weekend.

As usual, a great bunch of blokes..many thanks to Stuart again for sharing his expertise.

Never had so many from so far..from Maryborough, Gympie district, Bundaberg, Toowoomba, Palmwoods, Caboolture, Brisbane and Warwick.

Even had the youngest particiapnt ever doing some binding..age 10.

Top weekend..thanks a lot all and hope you all learnt something.

Yes TOL..I do have some pics when I get motivated enough to put them on here.

PS..I put 66 cans/stubbies in the esky on Friday arvo..wammy brought some also..there are 5 cans left...and some did not drink at all..not a bad effort from Dazza and wammy..LOL..and Steve and Mark.

Quote Originally Posted by theoldlegend View Post
    Well, I admit I'm a bit disappointed at the lack of information about the RBW.

I've been on tenterhooks since late yesterday afternoon, waiting for pics of what people had made.

I even thought there might have been a snippet or two about some poor unfortunate falling off Pinhead's pontoon.

So far, there's NOTHING!!

What's the go here?

It just takes us a while to sober up and think about our report on the event so we don't get ourselves into any trouble.
    So i won't mention anything about butt reamers,horses,alcohol consumption....OOPS greg already has and finger having a Tug.

Hey Choppa did you find Chopp Jnr?

A big thanks to Greg and Sue for allowing us into their home once again.
    Thanks to Stu for the helpful tips and showing us a few trade secrets.
    Great to catch up with a few regulars once again and meet a few newbies.

Cheers Dazza

Quote Originally Posted by 2DKnBJ View Post
    It just takes us a while to sober up and think about our report on the event so we don't get ourselves into any trouble.
    So i won't mention anything about butt reamers,horses,alcohol consumption....OOPS greg already has and finger having a Tug.

Hey Choppa did you find Chopp Jnr?

A big thanks to Greg and Sue for allowing us into their home once again.
    Thanks to Stu for the helpful tips and showing us a few trade secrets.
    Great to catch up with a few regulars once again and meet a few newbies.

Cheers Dazza
    I thought that was confined to the cabin at the caravan park ???

Don't worry
    There was plenty left in the cabin.....

I did forget to mention one thing.
    Finga lost for words and left speachles by a 10 yr old .
    It went something like this..

Finga was showing Ian how to get the gaps out of a underwrap using a smooth object.
    Young fella pipes up and says " I know something better,don't leave gaps in the wrap"

Finga was then checking Regan's wrapping and mentioned something obout the gaps that were there.
    Regans reply was simple " there not faults there features"

Cheers Dazza

thanks for all the help with Pink Bits on the week end guys
    big thanks to greg and his wife also stuart and finga for helping with my pink bits
    also to steve mark and darren
    P.s darren i am sure se had her teeth out when she came looking for you at the van door mate
    shane

Thanks Greg and Sue for a top weekend .A good time had by all.
    Graham

Quote Originally Posted by robersl View Post
    thanks for all the help with Pink Bits on the week end guys
    big thanks to greg and his wife also stuart and finga for helping with my pink bits
    also to steve mark and darren
    P.s darren i am sure se had her teeth out when she came looking for you at the van door mate
    shane
    that will live with Darren forever..I hope Kirsten does not read this thread. It will be in the Ausfish annals forever..Darren in the cabin.

Thanks to Stu, Greg and Sue for hosting the weekend. Also to those that provided us less experienced fools with advice and encouragement to keep us going through the frustrating bits. I must admit that drinking beer and binding a rod just seemed to go together.

I set myself a task to completely bind a fly rod in the weekend. tick!

Thanks to Mark, Darren and Shane for the company in a mostly enjoyable, but disturbing weekend.

Re the cabin, I am desperately trying find a way of unhearing what I heard but I am afraid that may not be possible and so cell killing may need to embarked on.

that fly rod looked a treat Steve..I should have got a pic of it when completed.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    that fly rod looked a treat Steve..I should have got a pic of it when completed.
    Thanks Greg, I thought i was in trouble when Stu challenged me with his binding pattern, but it was the best way for me to learn.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
    Thanks Greg, I thought i was in trouble when Stu challenged me with his binding pattern, but it was the best way for me to learn.

Actually I thought Stu had gone easy on you........

What else can I say that hasn't already been said, the only thing that surpassed the quality of the company was the food. A big thanks to Greg and Sue for the effort that went on behind the scenes.