Thread: Round 2 fishing plastics with mossy

Round 2 fishing plastics with mossy

Friday i get the call to head over to Mud with Mossy, do i go or do i stay home and install all the new electrics in the boat as originally planned.... Go fishing the boat isn't going anywhere. Met Mossy at Whyte Island 5:30 we head off straight over to mud, a cool drive over and im starting to miss the windscreen on my boat, but beggers cant be choosers, lines out and my first squire for the day 35cm back she goes as its to early in the morning for desperate measures another couple of casts and mossy gets his 35cm model, back she goes things are starting to look good. how wrong we were i think 1 more squire hits the deck all day, however mossy scores a E/cod 50+ in the esky for dinner, another zzzz goes mossy with a flattie 50+... Damn plastics arnt worth a crap. i then boat nothing for a couple of hours flicking, flicking ,flicking. Dont give up hope Mossy says everyone gets a prize..... And what a prize i got..... 3kg braid with 3.5kg leader. tap tap tap what have we here, after a 20min fight and a marathon around the boat a 89cm Cobia is boated. my first cobia and a first for mossy's boat...
    (had to head home straight away as Mossy is a plastic's fisherman and didn't have a esky big enough, not used to catching such large fish on plastics i guess) oh and it took a bait fisho to show him how its done...

thanks for an awesome morning and get a bigger esky

Lucas
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 1.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	37.4 KB 
ID:	79645   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 2.JPG 
Size:	41.5 KB 
ID:	79646   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 3.JPG 
Size:	44.6 KB 
ID:	79647  

Re: Round 2 fishing plastics with mossy

nice work fellas. we heard the yahooing let me tell ya... i didnt think it looked pink from where we were.
    After mossy told me to head out to the 8-9 metre depths we did that and hooked up within seconds. 1 Just 35 the rest all just under.... along with 10k of grinners. ... not sure if you heard the splash, but Shannon was takin a piss up the front and slipped and went in the drink.. funny as. I had to drag him back in. He looked prety cold.

Well done lucee on the cobe, not often you see them around there.

Deano

My memory is a little hazy but I think it was exactly like this.... " Hey Mossy I ain't had a touch in ages mate", righto Lucas take this one *hands Lucas the bream rod with 8lb leader* mate and we'll try out a little wider..... Not long after......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz After mossy skillfully chases the fish down with total awesomeness.
    Told you every kid gets a prize.You bait fisho's got too much time waiting for fish to bite to think up these crazy "fish tales"
    Was a great fish mate and good to see it make the boat there were a few times when she rolled I thought.... oh crap, but we got her in and a cracking PB cobia "ON PLASTICS!"
    Mossy's No Bait Charters!
    *If you note Lucas is removing a plastic from that cobia, not bait!*
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	415094_3846164673125_1248399383_3584629_817990658_o.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	67.3 KB 
ID:	79654   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	468252_3846161633049_1248399383_3584625_2089379064_o.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	54.9 KB 
ID:	79655  

Quote Originally Posted by kingcray View Post
    nice work fellas. we heard the yahooing let me tell ya... i didnt think it looked pink from where we were.
    After mossy told me to head out to the 8-9 metre depths we did that and hooked up within seconds. 1 Just 35 the rest all just under.... along with 10k of grinners. ... not sure if you heard the splash, but Shannon was takin a piss up the front and slipped and went in the drink.. funny as. I had to drag him back in. He looked prety cold.Deano
    Nah she certainly wasn't pink we were tripping to see a cobia that size.
    Poor old mate going in the water my dekie was sooking about the cold and he didn't even go in the water.
    Make sure you say hi next time you see me out there!

A Black Kingy at Mud who would of thought that, well done guys.
    Cheers Axl

Thats the first one I have heard of from Mud. Great work

Nice work mate and nice capt Mossy

Was gonna pop out to see youz boys but my boat rego was forgotton to be paid so family time it was but i did spend all saturday up at mud for a heap of undersized fish and a small GT even.

Nice work fellas. Persistence always pays off. We tried to find you, to no avail... Too many boats out there.
    Good things come to those who bait

hit up mud today with wavedancer ,flicked a few plastics got fark all...mick will do a post of it no doubt...went for a troll got onto a few good macks..can tell ya mossy u can stick the plastics....
    cheers rosco

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    hit up mud today with wavedancer ,flicked a few plastics got fark all...mick will do a post of it no doubt...went for a troll got onto a few good macks..can tell ya mossy u can stick the plastics....
    cheers rosco

rosco you need to know how to fish sp's around Mud

What was the gear you were using, probably way to heavy ???

cheers tim

Fun times guys, conrats on the light gear cobe. How small was the esky, if it couldn't fit the cobe in it? I would have thought it would bend to fit into a snapper sized esky.

tim we used 5 kilo rods with 10-15lb line on it.maybe i needed my whiting set up 1-3kg rod with 4lb braid on it..even that would of stopped the bigguns we got...we got fotos of most and will be added to the post wen its done....dont think old barry(dayoo) and brian(popgun) got to much either

Quote Originally Posted by Mossy247 View Post
    My memory is a little hazy but I think it was exactly like this.... " Hey Mossy I ain't had a touch in ages mate", righto Lucas take this one *hands Lucas the bream rod with 8lb leader* mate and we'll try out a little wider..... Not long after......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz After mossy skillfully chases the fish down with total awesomeness.
    Told you every kid gets a prize.You bait fisho's got too much time waiting for fish to bite to think up these crazy "fish tales"
    Was a great fish mate and good to see it make the boat there were a few times when she rolled I thought.... oh crap, but we got her in and a cracking PB cobia "ON PLASTICS!"
    Mossy's No Bait Charters!
    *If you note Lucas is removing a plastic from that cobia, not bait!*
    gotta hand it to ya Mossy..such a humble skipper.

well done on a top day.

well done fellas. nice fish. slim pickings for us yesterday but i will let dave (oodies) post that one up. i am putting up my own for this mornings fish
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!