What size trigger wires for winch solenoid - Maxwell HRC 6 - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: What size trigger wires for winch solenoid - Maxwell HRC 6

Re: What size trigger wires for winch solenoid - Maxwell HRC 6

They don't link the negative internally because of the chance differing installation situations like 24v winch voltage with 12v control circuit or dedicated winch batteries and stuff like that.

I don't like the use of the e word (earth) for DC installations and especially for DC in boats. There's the negative and positive wire.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Thanks fellas. I just measured the cross sectional width of the existing run from the battery to the current winch - 5mm...so 10.2 area which is enough according to Maxwell, but I suppose going another 2mm up in diameter would be prudent.

PS. Finga - earth versus negative noted
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Fed - mate the 3 amp didnt come in the pack - I only have the helm switch and not foot switches. As I read that diagram the 3 amp breaker is for the foot switches?

400 watts isn't a big motor. Drum winches start at 600. They must need the extra power because of the weight of the drum and rope and bigger gearing when the drum is full. HH565 aka Spiro knows all about the wiring needs for winches but it looks like you guys are getting it sorted. You changing your rope as well Oz. Anchoring in 1000ft ain't easy.

Just spoke to a very helpful fella at Maxwell (I like their support). He says 10.2 area wire is minimum and those breakers are designed to break at over their stated rating to allow the winch to bog down to try to move the anchor before losing power....he reckons that I should go up to the next one in their book which is 16mm squared. He reckons the trigger wires can just be the usual twin core - they only draw 3 amp, so my 4mm square cable will kill that part of it...so off to get some new wire.

Thanks Jarrah - no same rope at the moment mate - 12mm 3 strand nylon. Might soak it in fabric softener to treat the new windlass to a head start though.

EDIT - I have 5mm diameter roughly measured, so that is 19mm squared...so I have the right wire (ie it is at least 16)....although that it way under the table recommendations that Finga provided.

PS. This is interesting. The Muir 600 operators manual recommends 25mm squared or 8mm dia when running in a boat up to 7m in length...thats confusing because I thought 25mm squared equated to about 6mm diameter not the 8 (unless 8 includes insulation)-)

And your 2 core won't do for the control wiring. You need 3 conductors don't you??
    Well you will if you pick up the positive for the control wiring at the same place as the negative (ie at the relay).
    2x2 core will do and give you a spare conductor

It's best to pick-up both negative and positive at the same place to save confusion and head scratching later when something doesn't work.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Rang whitworths -they have 2b&s which is about 11mm diameter including insulation and is common for winch runs they reckon - I will get some of that to be on the safe side.

Thanks Finga - mate as i read the diagram the switch's third terminal is for the foot switches. Cheers

The studs on the solenoid are only 5mm...I think the min cable lug for 2 b&s wire is 8mm...- the nuts would need to be tight!!

The 3 Amp breaker is to protect all the control wiring so you will have to buy one, notice the the one they recommend but you could use any breaker say under 10 Amps because your control wiring will be rated higher than that.

You need to get wire diameter out of your head and only talk in cross sectional area metric.

5mm diameter solid core copper is almost 20mm² cross sectional area.

To work out stranded cable if it's not marked you need to use a micrometer to measure 1 strand the pi x R² then multiply by the number of strands or cheat & use the internet.
    http://www.sengpielaudio.com/calcula...ss-section.htm

At 12 metres in total you're on the low end of the recommended 10.5mm² so 10mm² cable for the heaps and 2.5mm² will be heaps for the control circuit.

My BIAS catalogue lists 2 B&S (Battery & Starter HaHaha) at 390 Amps.

Settle down & buy some 10mm² cable.

Thanks mate - the cable that I put in years ago for the old winch is tinned 5mm diameter which as you say is 20mm squared....so I have the right wire on that guide. What was getting me concerned was the guide that showed a need for over twice that given the distance!!! Cheers mate

Fed - my diagram (in the manual that came with the winch) shows that breaker, but does not give an amperage. I have just emailed Maxwell for the low down.