Tips on Tiller Steering Boat onto Trailer at Boat Ramp
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips on Tiller Steering Boat onto Trailer at Boat Ramp

Tips on Tiller Steering Boat onto Trailer at Boat Ramp

I will have a 60HP tiller on my 4.1m Polycraft shortly, and need tips on how to safely steer boat from tiller position onto trailer at boat ramp with a significant gradient.

What I am concerned about is the fact that I will be sitting at the stern of the boat when the bow will be high up out of the water as it tackles the trailer....which could cause engulfment of water over the transom....

I see many other boaties with SC and CC units easily attach the trailer and happily tilt the motor up as the bow is lifted up by the trailer....

I will not be getting out of boat and using rope to guide boat on trailer either...

Thougths..

Splash

Re: Tips on Tiller Steering Boat onto Trailer at Boat Ramp

Easy with a Poly mate just time it right with the porpoising.

I have to ask.
    Why drive it on?
    It's a small boat. Why not just winch it on?

Winching would save a lot of hassles like seeing, aligning, breaking, etc etc.

Cheers Alfred.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I agree, why would you even try??? its a small boat, use the winch, thats what its for....

The reason why I initially stated "I will not be getting out of boat and using rope to guide boat on trailer either..." is because of crocs and strong tidal flow.

Splash

You chicken Splash just keep a knife in your belt.

Quote Originally Posted by Splash View Post
    The reason why I initially stated "I will not be getting out of boat and using rope to guide boat on trailer either..." is because of crocs and strong tidal flow.

Splash
    That's a good enough reason.
    Good things come to those who bait

Put a flag pole on your winch, one on the bow of your boat, line em up and go like the klappers. with you sitting center of boat.

So, will my transom be engulfed with water as I sit at stern driving the boat onto the trailer?

Splash

Mate it depends on the angle of the ramp,also where is this strong tidal flow?.........You will need to learn to jacknife the trailer to suit the 'flow' otherwise you will never get it back on.........don't go 90deg to the flow jacknife and go into it.........also if there is that much current there will be no fish so stay at home on the spring tides........

We drive the little 4.2 on all the time.......saves time and effort.........practice at one of the billabongs untill you get it right........you will have many to yourself out that way.........

Just get that motor on and enjoy the boat Splasho.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

G'day Splash,

What boats ramps are you mainly using and worried about?

I always winched my 4.1m on. Never had any real dramas.

I would recommend getting a walkway on your trailer so you don't even have to get your feet wet. A 3 speed winch is also handy for steeper ramps or bank launches. Get a long seperate bow line so you can just push the boat back out from the bank and pull it up against the back of the trailer when retrieving. You can get various devices to help align the nose of the boat and guide it on while winching. eg. ezy-loaders and self aligning rear rollers. Coat your skids with inox and the poly will slip off and back on, nice and quick.

As far as crocs go, just don't muck around during launch/retrieve and stay out of the water as much as possible. I always enter/leave my boat over the bow up front, straight onto the ground. You shouldn't need to even get your feet wet alot of the time.

When retrieving, have your winch rope out a bit and ready just to clip straight onto the boat.

Plenty of 4.1m boats up this way and I've never seen one drive on yet.

Good tip about changing the angle of the trailer to suit the tide from Dan5. Makes it heaps easier whether you are winching or driving.

Roo.

Is your trailer a poly lined skid trailer or does it have rollers??
    Skid trailers are pretty easy as most of the self guide the keel into place on poly's that i have seen. Seen some roller trailers under poly's too which I am told is a no-no.
    As dan said, give the trailer an attitude into the current a bit and all will follow suit.
    Angle of the ramp will be an issue at times, you will need to sink it pretty far on flattish ramps.

Thanks for the tips boys.

The ramp i am referring to with strong tidal flow s SOuth Aligator boat ramp, which is steep and exposed many times to strong tidal flow..

My trailer is fitted with skids.

I guess I have concerns about sitting at the stern when loading boat onto trailer in term of approaching the apex area behind the trailer and heavily weighted at the stern...

Splash

South is easy as mate,just flick the trailer to 90 deg at the last moment.....it has nice big concrete shoulders exactly for this purpose.......

Don't wanna be rude but are you a BIG fella Splash?.........I think there is little chance of you sinking the arse end of the polly mate.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Am I the only one thinking of a 60hp on the back of a 4.1? What are you a Kamikaze pilot? Does Polycraft approve 60hp on the back of its 4.1? Boy I'd like to have some calm weather down here in Moreton bay to go to WOT.