Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Stabiliser Fins -Stingray Hydrofoils etc

Re: Stabiliser Fins -Stingray Hydrofoils etc

Good feedback Kondo did you manage to get it right without the use of a hydrofoil?

I'm guessing you already tried moving weight up front & cranking the trim tab.

I wonder if they ever get to the point where they can't be fixed?
    Light tinny, big motor, tiller steer, battery & fuel at stern, solo driver.

Nagg
    What's this fast tail alloy stabliser?

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Nagg
    I just googled it and this thread was the first thing up, no other mentions from what I could see.

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post
    I just googled it and this thread was the first thing up, no other mentions from what I could see.
    yes I have never heard of them before but they sound alright I have the Permatrim waiting to go on and do some tests, bring on Thursday

cheers Murf

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Nagg

I'd seen one ..... once but never gave it a second thought - I'm going to have a closer look at them in the coming days as they appear to be alright

I bolted a foil to my 25hp donk on my 4.1m tinny, turned it into a wallowing pig and soon removed it again. I found new locations for the batteries and some other gear and have not had a problem since. I wish there was a way to test run a foil without drilling the holes.

Quote Originally Posted by Fed View Post
    Good feedback Kondo did you manage to get it right without the use of a hydrofoil?

I'm guessing you already tried moving weight up front & cranking the trim tab.

I wonder if they ever get to the point where they can't be fixed?
    Light tinny, big motor, tiller steer, battery & fuel at stern, solo driver.
    Gday Fed,

Yeah mate I managed to get it pretty good without the foil, however teh Permatrim does make everything perform allot better. Certainly much more trim authority and is better out of the hole without losing any speed. Certainly the boat wasn't a pig without it but it does make it better.

What revs you lot getting out of the 70A, ive just gone down to a Yammie 15"pitch and just getting 5800 ( with 2 POB eskies etc) and thinking of the 14" Solas
    Tangles KFC

Gday Tangles, around 6100 with both SS and Alloy, cant remember the speeds exactly but going for a week of fishing tomorrow (first time the boat has been wet since january)

My boat is usally pretty heavy, I dont really run super light - I find the SOLAS 14" slips less than the Yamaha Alloy and speeds are similar overall.

Going from the Yammie 15" pitch to the SOlas 14, how many revs did you gain? i have a CCraft 485 Explorer and for its size its heavy as well
    Tangles KFC

Pretty much exactly the same from memory, the Yammie slips pretty badly I have found...

GOing away tomorrow for a week and will be running both props so will send you the data when I get back if you like?

Quote Originally Posted by Tangles View Post
    What revs you lot getting out of the 70A, ive just gone down to a Yammie 15"pitch and just getting 5800 ( with 2 POB eskies etc) and thinking of the 14" Solas
    I'm getting 6300 with a 13 x 13 5/8 yammi aluminium prop ....... so I cant get any more but I reckon I can find a more efficient prop -
    getting the ass end up at lower speeds would be good though.