Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Plastics 101 - with Mossy

Plastics 101 - with Mossy

Organised a fish with a fellow ausfisho and chilli making machine Lucas. I know a few at the last tanga's M&G know who I'm talking about. Got the the boat ramp where lucas was going to grab us so made myself useful with my valet boat services assisting people on the ramp with their boats. Doesn't cost anything to be nice

Lucas came a grabbed us and we headed up the river towards his favourite river spot, turns to me and asks should we go straight over to mud or try the river? Ummmm OK, a year ago I would of stopped but I had to get Lucas on to his first legal squire on plastics. We got over to our spot at mud and dropped the plastics for a flick. There was a few fish around with the odd squire and grassie being hooked up with one legal squire 42 in the box. I had rigged up my over head for Lucas but was thinking the 20lb leader might be abit too much to entice those bites, so handed him my favourite set up and decided to throw the bream gear hoping Lucas would come good.

Few casts later and I came tight on something nice, put abit of back into it and she took off zzzzzzzzzzz holy sh!t this will test the 6lb leader LoL. OK, so no hands on the drag as she was up as tight as I was game on light gear and it was just a matter of holding on keeping up the line pressure. So off she goes, call out to Lucas to get in the other lines as I had no control as to where this one was going as it was going to be fun. Few more big runs and she managed to hold up in the water and wasn't doing much turning her with the 2-4kg pfluger. Started to get some line back slowly and the odd little run and she was a snapper for sure or one of those big catties netmaker hooks up .

A few minutes later up comes up the big girl and the great netting skills from the skipper see's this 68cm beauty on board. Boo yahh! Mossy's Back!
    Pretty chuffed at this stage as we kept flicking around the island catching the odd squire and grassie. Mate calls me on the moby saying he just got to mud and bam... bit of weight on the line and up comes an EC.

Down to the southern end of the island over the nasty grounds and Lucas gets a nice hit on the rod and after a little tussle up comes a squire at 47. Few more casts the odd squire and we decided to head back up around the middle of the island. By this time I had snagged my light gear and just flicked the overhead and a 5" J-shad. Bouncing along the bottom and she gets engulfed, not much fight but a little weight and manage to boat a nice flatty around 62cm.

Getting low on fuel and energy we decided to head back to the river for a fish, water was running a bit hard so we packed it in and Lucas dropped us back at the ramp. So all in all we managed to get 3 snapper in the esky 42, 47 & 68. 1 EC around 50 and a nice flatty about 62cm. Great day on the water with great company.

p.s thanks again for the chilli mate and a great day out.
    tight lines - mossy
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	457333_3728344167686_1248399383_3539012_2028134551_o.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.4 KB 
ID:	79222   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	469682_3726152152887_1248399383_3537908_46426349_o.jpg 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	79221  

Re: Plastics 101 - with Mossy

That was a quick report for the slow fishing conditions (plastics what else could be expected)
    Seriously though it has changed my perspective and while i am not by any means a plastic fanatic i will be fishing to the conditions. Some spots do better on artis and some are better on stink bait. If fishing mud it will be on plastics with a livie out and fishing deep or the river i will be sticking to bait for the time being.
    Picked Mossy up at 5:30 from ramp straight over to mud and the lines go out. Including a sneaky bait that i admit didnt do the greatest... Due to drifting of course
    Fisrt cast a bit of a enquiry not hook up this isnt too bad Then mossy's on, a bit undersize back she goes. A few more flicks and one at 54 for hits the ice for mossy, swap rods over and bam mossy's on again for 68cm some quick netting skills some photos and on the ice she goes. Things are heating up and bang a 32cm model back she goes next was a 47cm for and my first legal anything on a plastic and my second fish on a plastic.... on the ice for that one things then slow right down till a nice E/cod hits the ice and around lunch time a 62 flatty is netted and on the ice she goes, In total 5 fish kept about 10 caught and quite a few misses, still getting used to plastics and will definatly be giving it another go in the following weeks.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fish 1.JPG 
Size:	41.8 KB 
ID:	79224

awesome mate. very nice!!!

Did Mossy have his complimentry Burlie trail going Lucas
    Ive caught sum cracking fish with Mossy hurling abuse and his lunch overboard

Great stuff Mossy. I am hoping it all comes together and I get my 1st snapper this weekend. Can't wait

I picked up a 60 Mackeral on my 2-4kg bream rod. Snagged him in the gills. U at Coonar.

Good decky work mate. Getting the boat on the spot and banging the solid ones at home. I am gonna have to spend time there i think as southern def slower than there. Seems a good flow of fish pass through and the parents must have fed em plastics by the seems hah. Cheers DD.....

Well done Mossy you never seem to dissapoint mate very nice fish indeed. I do not think you will ever live the sea sickness down but it shows you do not have to burn a shitload of fuel to go offshore when you have fish like that swimming around in the bay. My boat is sitting there ready when you want to head out mate I am spewing I could not get out there with you the last time might have to give the plastic's a good run when I am over there next. I was over at mud on Sunday just gone and all I could manage was 16 undersize squire at one of the spot's I have over there good stuff mate that one will go down well.

Quote Originally Posted by fisho8 View Post
    Well done Mossy you never seem to dissapoint mate very nice fish indeed. I do not think you will ever live the sea sickness down but it shows you do not have to burn a shitload of fuel to go offshore when you have fish like that swimming around in the bay. My boat is sitting there ready when you want to head out mate I am spewing I could not get out there with you the last time might have to give the plastic's a good run when I am over there next. I was over at mud on Sunday just gone and all I could manage was 16 undersize squire at one of the spot's I have over there good stuff mate that one will go down well.
    I think you spot on their mate, I will never live it down I am either hurling abuse or my lunch. It's all water off a ducks back hey, who needs enemies with friends like mine
    Next time Fisho we'll head out in the bay and crack the placcies buddy I really struggled sunday off mud also, ended up in the river chasing bream off the pylons, I forgot how much fun they can be watching them follow out from the shadows to smash your plastic.
    I also got a few spots around the cape if anyone is interested
    Wife says I can't "look" on boat sales till the tinny's paid off.
    tight lines.

Quote Originally Posted by ddobson View Post
    Good decky work mate. Getting the boat on the spot and banging the solid ones at home. I am gonna have to spend time there i think as southern def slower than there. Seems a good flow of fish pass through and the parents must have fed em plastics by the seems hah. Cheers DD.....
    Hopefully they start getting thick around mud DD I hear they are winter fish but I've got my best results in summer, let's hope the water cools down and the bites heat up.
    tight lines

Quote Originally Posted by Funchy View Post
    Great stuff Mossy. I am hoping it all comes together and I get my 1st snapper this weekend. Can't wait
    Hope you come good on a few Funchy if your ever down my way the invite still stands mate

good stuff mate. is that your mud pb? and without berley too. good to see you're over your donut run. i haven't been back to mud since easter weekend. every other day sees me down the bottom end of the bay chasing prawns now. inside of my boat is filthy from cast net detritus. still sniffing out the odd bay prawn or small fish a few days after that has found its way into some nook or cranny. only a couple of kilos again yesterday but ripper size prawns. also scored a bonus 59cm flattie in the net too and saw another bloke bring in a nice big muddie from his. still dont know about these catties. ONE bloke suggests i am onto a cattie and you blokes just go on and on and on.... i cant even remember what a cattie looks like. and the reason you have caught your best snaps at mud during summer is because you were on holidays for most of summer and didn't fish mud for much of winter at all last year (you were still a river boy for most of winter remember). there are definately more quality snaps available when the brass monkeys show up in another couple of months. AND i'm gunna beat ya to 'em.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    good stuff mate. is that your mud pb? and without berley too. still dont know about these catties. ONE bloke suggests i am onto a cattie and you blokes just go on and on and on....
    Nah I am still standing with a 71cm off mud as a PB but this was one was up there amoungst them. Hahahaha I can't even remember the last time I caught a catty it's more of a laugh than anything else, don't know about you but I am sure as hell I can pick up the blistering runs of a 70cm snapper over a cat fish that's for sure. I think the last catfish I even saw was on Dicktracey's boat. Your on buddy it was nearly a year ago I came out to mud with you and haven't looked back, except at about 2am when I was cold and wet

that was mid july if i remember right and i think that night scared you off for a few more weeks so i think you missed most of winter and only caught the bum end of it. probably why i did so well.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by Mossy247 View Post
    Nah I am still standing with a 71cm off mud as a PB but this was one was up there amoungst them. Hahahaha I can't even remember the last time I caught a catty it's more of a laugh than anything else, don't know about you but I am sure as hell I can pick up the blistering runs of a 70cm snapper over a cat fish that's for sure. I think the last catfish I even saw was on Dicktracey's boat. Your on buddy it was nearly a year ago I came out to mud with you and haven't looked back, except at about 2am when I was cold and wet ::)
    Bit of a sook..... no doubt you two were cuddling... Its a small boat and only one place to lie