Thread: Say G'Day on Labour Day at 1770

Say G'Day on Labour Day at 1770

Hi , The girl and I will be travelling from Gold Coast Hinterland to 1770 from 27th April for two weeks. Towing Boat up and camping at headland park. If any one will be up there then and would like a chat and a beer would like to hear from you.I went up many times rock fishing and camping at the Springs in years gone by but got the shits when they finally sold the last beach with a freshwater spring to the rich and famous and havent been back since. Probably wont recognize the place. The last time I was there I went boating with a mad Dutchman who invited me out in his 8ft tinny which we beach launched off Honeymoon Bay. We got out about 200 mtrs and ran out of fuel. He forgot to fill it. So I had to throw out the anchor and pull us in quick and repeat the process 50 times Then ride the breakers in with no power. Couldnt thank him enough. . Wonder if Simo the painter and his partner Kelly are still there? Anyway Can't wait!!

Re: Say G'Day on Labour Day at 1770

I guess this should have been in Meet and greet section. Sorry only a new member. Thanks for your understanding and well wishes. Cant wait to see you all

Hey Loz

If I was heading up I would have had a beer and a fish with ya mate. Hope you get on to some fish and weather is nice. Post a report or two if ya get on to some

Thanks mate. I was starting to feel like Major Tom there for a while. Wont mentio the woman next time. lol.

Here now and not good weather at all! Trip up was good except for big Pothole coming down to bridge past Bundy. Nice campground still at 1770 river mouth. Amazing the rigs that come in nowdays, Big money jobs but some keen fisho's. Looks like rain/ showers till Sunday. blowing NNW 15/20 at present. Fine bye Sunday they say.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky Loz View Post
    Here now and not good weather at all! Trip up was good except for big Pothole coming down to bridge past Bundy. Nice campground still at 1770 river mouth. Amazing the rigs that come in nowdays, Big money jobs but some keen fisho's. Looks like rain/ showers till Sunday. blowing NNW 15/20 at present. Fine bye Sunday they say.
    Hopefully with 2 weeks up there the weather will improve & confirm the "Lucky" in Lucky Loz.

We have heard people rave about 1770 forever but have never been there ourselves. Looking forward to your reports! What sort of boat have you got...and Trace wants to know if your girl fishes (Trace is on a bit of a role identifying all the women on the forum at the moment )

Tim and Trace

We have a little 5.5 Cruise Craft with 115 Johnno. And yes Leeann loves to fish aaaaaaand Eat the Catch, Heaps of Nice people here at the moment. . Where are you now ????

Hope ya get stuck into em

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky Loz View Post
    We have a little 5.5 Cruise Craft with 115 Johnno. And yes Leeann loves to fish aaaaaaand Eat the Catch, Heaps of Nice people here at the moment. . Where are you now ????
    We are on the north side of Brisbane so 1770 is very reachable....just never gone there. We don't fish outside though (Trace is a mad keen angler but seasickness limits our range )

Quote Originally Posted by Chas & Clarry View Post
    Trace is a mad keen angler but seasickness limits our range
    Have ya tried Kwells, they seem to work for my other half.

Corry
    Corry

Quote Originally Posted by Corry View Post
    Have ya tried Kwells, they seem to work for my other half.

Corry
    Trust me we tried most things before giving up on outside fishing and just sticking to the estuaries, but we love that anyway

Good morning and a glorious one it is at 1770 this Sunday morning. Yes Leeann uses the kwells too when we go outside as she is good at burling up the fish,but she does prefer the rivers. NO WIND AT PRESENT 7.00am .Get up here i say.