Thread: Mooloolah (mooloolaba) River Bar Update????

Mooloolah (mooloolaba) River Bar Update????

Howdy Gents

Thinking of heading out wide early saturday morning, haven't been up that way for a while and it would seem the bar has been causing a few concerns... Just wondering if anyone has been over it in the last week or 2 and can provide an update.
    I found a hydrographic survey done on it from the 05/04/12 showing a shallow bar extending about 180m to the west from the eastern breakwall, it also shows that if you basically head west once you reach the end of the inside breakwall (heading out) that you have a ~3m channel that runs out and around the above sand bar.

Just based on this it looks reasonable but i'd like to know what anyone who has been accross it lately thinks.

Oh yeah and it's saturday morning as i said so ~2m of swell.

Oh and here's the link for the survey if anyone is interested.

Jared

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/~/media/09...266_t_2012.pdf

Re: Mooloolah (mooloolaba) River Bar Update????

They have brought a new dredge (a decent sized one) up from the gold coast but it might be a couple of weeks before it is complete.

http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au...ives-on-coast/.
    There are only two moments in time.... There's now, and there's too late.

Yeah was talking to a lady at the mooloolaba coastgaurd this morning and she said it was there atm but i get the feeling from the way she was talking that it may not have been actually working yet.... in any case doubt much would of happend prior to this weekend.

Cheers for the reply

Mate there is a Ausfish M&G there this weekend 21st.
    So mate if you see us say Gidday and introduce yourself
    As for the Bar I can't comment as I have only been out it once..

go to www.coastalwatch.com.au and click on the mooloolaba surf cam it will pan across to the bar. The dredge was there yesterday but i just checked and it isn't there now. Maybe unloading some sand??

Hey Brett.... no worries thanks for that mate, if ya see the below boat come over and say hello... at this stage depending on where i get with this bar business i will be out of there before daylight though

Attachment 79028

Tried coastal watch yesty but it musn't work whilst i'm at work.... will give it a go at home this arvo... cheers mate

Jared

Mate your Picture is not working... So what boat you got ??

Our plan is to head out to the Reef before sun up, but that all depends on the weather and conditions..
    So you should be there around the time we are heading out as well (fingers crossed)

Thats weird it opens when i click on the link, tried again.... anyway 6.4m sportsfish... alley cat... big purple strip up the side, would be very hard to miss i would imagine...haha.

Oh ok sweet, i'll flick ya a PM on thursday or something once i get this sorted and see when ya heading out.

Whats your rig????

f10981480 compress.jpg

I have a Seafarer Vaga 6.2. white with a blue Canopy and Evinrude 200hp hanging off the ass...
    Just noticed the weather forecast for Saturday and its not looking so great now !!! Typical weekend weather.

The big news today is the Port Frederick dredge hit the bottom on a big swell and damaged itself and was heading back into Brisbane for repairs. The other dredge will now have to get into it.

I went out today and the bar was pretty good this morning at the top of the tide. I only have a small boat so I picked my time and shot straight out through the guts but all the bigger boats were heading left into the bay ( well inside the red marker). Coming in this afternoon was a different story Huey had his back up about something. She was pretty Gnarley with 2-3m sets breaking right across from well outside the eastern wall to well inside the western wall I sat and watched for a while, got a lull and headed well inside the red marker untill about level with the entrance and then scoot around the western wall. If this swell picks up any more (it was a pretty solid 2.5-3m today) I wouldn't be attempting any dark crossings and I would be very careful about daylight crossings no fish is worth a life. Cheers Brendan.........
    P.s keep an eye out for the surfers, kayakers, paddle boarders , ocean canoes and Bloody Jetskis.

Haha Smithy, that's a sure sign that they are way overdue to dredge it!
    "Elempi" American Bertram 33, 3208T Caterpillar power

Looks like we might be up for some better weather for outside this coming weekend. It has been a while since this thread was updated. Any locals been using the bar over the last few weeks and has anyone seen how it has handled this big swell this week?

Macca

Went and walked the dog down there this morning to have a look. Pretty nasty with white water going past the whole mouth on some sets. You'd have to time your run whichever way to went. Luckily caught the Pilot boat go out and he went back down into the bay and out like we were all doing a couple of months ago. The only thing was some sets were white water all the way to the beach at Mooloolaba. There were some lulls and if you had the speed and got your timing right you could run straight out but I've got a feeling the sandbank is back after this heavy weather. I'm going to have another look tommorrow. It is going to want to drop off or I might call Friday off. Bit too dicy for me at this stage. It was definately less grounds swell than two days ago but must have been hitting it at a different angle as right at the entrance it was probably worse.

Thanks Smithy. Be great if you could post another update tomorrow. Will be interesting to see how quickly the swell drops through tomorrow and into Friday...perhaps a Friday arvo trip might be warranted.

(Swell direction is from the ENE according to the Mooloolaba Waverider Buoy so may explain the change from earlier (Monday) when the swell was more ESE'ly. Incidentally, the size has come off a metre from 3.5m to 2.5m on the Mooloolaba Buoy in the last 24hrs although the t-max (biggest waves) are still hitting the 4-5m range).

Link to Buoy data is here...

http://www.coastwatch.com.au/Weather...ightBuoys-337/

Macca