Goin' bananas
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Goin' bananas

Goin' bananas

Gday all, went for a sneaky prawn before work today, ok so I got to work a bit late but it was worth it. Ended up getting about 7 kg of good bananas round 18-20 cm long. A few pics attached.

Cheers Cal.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01516.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	69.2 KB 
ID:	79012   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01507.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	79013   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01511.jpg 
Size:	37.9 KB 
ID:	79014   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01515.jpg 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	79015  

Re: Goin' bananas

Nice prawns - concerning they are as big as your hand. Even more concerning is that you've cracked the top off the stubby - before work.
    Well done!! Nice catch.

Great work Cal.

Great catch and they really look like good quality too....

I need better office hours.

G'day Schuey,

Good haul mate, Did you see Pero in the arena. I heard he was about.
    Bondy

Ausfish Gold Member

How did you hear that? Bondy. I was home doin' housework, cooking,watching days of our lives, etc....

If I was getting prawns like that I would have called in sick
    Well done mate

Cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

Thanks for the comments fellas.

Bondy, I swung by Pero's to see if he wanted to throw with his mates but he had his hair in curlers and was holding a mop. I left him to it, as I was in a rush to get to work myself.

Great prawns mate. Well done. I can taste the creamy garlic prawns as I type.

that stubbie is a throw down isnt it?

hahaha. awesome. some fantastic prawns there mate.

Ausfish Gold Member

I just had to go nout today, Cal. Will put up some pics of my exploits , later.

Quote Originally Posted by Pero View Post
    I just had to go nout today, Cal. Will put up some pics of my exploits , later.
    yeah you and about 40 other boats today pero, great day out, might have to do it again tomorrow, cheers, roy.

Ausfish Gold Member

Congrats Cal. You've gone from novice to pro in a couple of months. I bet they tasted great.

I ventured forth today.-
    Well the weather was great. The rain clouds disappated and me and 30 other boats, had our selves a ball.
    Had no probs getting my bucket limit as did many others. I saw numerous throws over a kilo. Best was 3-4 kg in a cast.
    I was going okay and thought
    I'd move out of the marauding pack for a quick count up. I knew I had 6-7 litres to that point.
    I was 30 metres from the other boats when,
    I suddenly found prawns were showering all around me.
    I looked at my sounder which is locked to the bottom 10 feet of the water column.
    To my amazement I saw layers of prawn showing to the top of my screen. I quickly gathered my net and threw.
    A half baked throw at best and to my delight. I felt a massive shake in the net. I got abour 3kg in one shot.
    That was my bucket limit. Also managed a metre long hairtail, Its tail had been bitten off.
    I think with tail, the specimen might have reached 1.5 metres.
    Heres some pics.-

Well done Pero. Sounds like a great day and probably thicker than yesterday. Prawns stacked 10 foot high would be lovely. Aren't those hairy tails mongrels, got cut by one yesterday...Again, nice haul.

nice work schuey,i would of been 2 sick for work after that effort ..you guy's r gettin what i get in 2hrs in 1cast
    cheers buzzin