Length of Barra Rods for Flicking Lures - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Length of Barra Rods for Flicking Lures

Re: Length of Barra Rods for Flicking Lures

Just noticed your last question. Accuracy is more important than out and out distance. Also the ability to cast forehand and backhand and everywhere in between. I think thats one of the reasons why the shorter 5ft6 rods are popular.

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by Splash View Post
    Hi Moffy and thank you.

I assume your round reels are small overhead reels?

Splash
    yeah mate small overheads - "baitcasters". (haven't touched on spin gear - do use them for flicking soft plastics and lighter lures sometimes- but baitcasters are the generally the tool of choice for flicking minnows etc (snd soft plastics) as they are generally far more accurate cast after cast).

As Jarrah says - all the distance in the world is useless if you can't hit the mark - if you are too far out to get right next to the snag (within inches) with a cast - move the boat closer! whatever rod you can use to cast accurately for long periods from all angles (backhand, overhead, side cast, front arm etc) this is the one to use as you will get more fish than simply being able to cast a long way. Up a small creek or in a small boat there's often something in the way to the standard cast and you will learn to adapt if you want to get the fish!

Moffy

thanks guys.

splsah

ok - I am getting ready to splash out on some good rods.

I like the glx loomis stuff.

What action (fast, slow, medium) and line weight should I be getting for this 5'6" rod for flicking lures for barra all day?

How many guides do these rods have?

Ideal baitcaster reel and line type and weight for this rod?

I am after a light reel (such as a Shimano Core 50/51 Mg7, Shimano Cronarch MG50E, Daiwa Steez or Cumara) to maintain a light weight and good balance...

Any other thoughts / recs?

Splash

Have a look at the Ergrell S10 for sale in the classifieds, at $200 you wouldn't go wrong. My new rod for the curado is a GLX 3 medium 12 to 17lbs and its perfect for flicking all day. My other loomis which is a bit heavier, 15 to 20 lbs is better for trolling and occasional flicking.

thanks mate.

Which gear ratio is best for lure fishing for barra - 6.2:1 or 7:1?

Reasons?

And, left hand or right hand?

SPlash

6.2 Splash..........Bit easier to drag deep diving lures,the Core is a nice little reel.........

Personally i'd be looking at either importing a 200 conquest Calcutta or a Metainium MGDC the Matainium is very light virtually the Core with DC.

I use Calcutta dc's......a 250 and a 200........I have gone back to the round traditional baitcaster as i just find the balance suits me better although it would be nice to have the 6.1 type retrieve speed as the 5.0 can be a little slow sometimes.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

I reckon go the fastest retrieve ratio possible. You can still use a dead-slow retrieve, but it's frustrating when a barra comes jumping towards you out of a snag and you can't wind fast enough to keep the pressure on. Makes it easier for them to throw hooks.

Quote Originally Posted by scuttlebutt View Post
    I reckon go the fastest retrieve ratio possible. You can still use a dead-slow retrieve, but it's frustrating when a barra comes jumping towards you out of a snag and you can't wind fast enough to keep the pressure on. Makes it easier for them to throw hooks.
    Yeah I reckon the opposite.You will never have to wind fast if you dont get hookups in the first place.Personally I reckon its easier to wind faster than slower.
    You really have to remind yourself sometimes when barra fishing in the creeks to sloooowwwwww down.
    Way slow.
    Each to their own though.

Toddy

Thanks guys.

Does the DC make a big difference in casting performance and eliminate backlash?

What was it about the low profile baitcaster that did'nt quite sit with you?

If a 6.2:1 ratio reel was acquired, how would you accommodate the issues Scuttlebutt highlighted?

What do most Barra anglers use - 6.2:1 or 7:1?

And, is it better to have the handle the opposite side to what your bias is (i.e. I am right handed normally).

Splash

Quote Originally Posted by Splash View Post
    What is the optimal length of these rods - using those light overhead reels??

Splash
    Hi Splash

it's a very personal thing ..... no right or wrong
    As long as it's balanced with the intended reel .
    The decision could be easier if you look at the environment you want to fish ..... open waters the long 6'6"-7' rod is great - close quarters .... the shorter rod 5'6"-6'.....
    my personal favorites are the 6' to 6'2" as these can cast a variety of lure sizes better than the shorter rods & can be fished well in tighter environments than the longer rods ...... a bit more versatile you could say.

thanks nagg.

any other thoughts on selecting the right gear ratio for reels?

Splash

Having tried slow and fast retrieve baitcasters, I've decided I like 'em in the range 5.8 - 6.4. Fast enough for twitching, but not too tiring if you need to crank a deep diver (such as a 15+ Classic or a Tilsan Big Barra). One of the best all round Barra rods is the Loomis IMX CR724. It has plenty of grunt for big barra, queenies and trevs, but can still throw the lighter lures. It is 6' long, but I shorten the handle by a few inches so that it doesn't get caught in my shirt when twitching (personal preference, as I rarely cast two-handed). With a good reel and 30lb braid , you can get heaps of distance with 5'6" - 6' rod and they provide better accuracy over a wider range of conditions. Regarding reels, the Calais 100A from the states is a gem (can get it for around US$300 in sales) as is the smaller Scorpion XT1000 (about A$250 shipped from Japan and, despite its small size, has 4Kg of drag). They are both super smooth reels. Curados are OK too, but the new Curado is a step down from the old Curado (fewer bearings) and I would be looking at the Chronarch instead.

Thansk Strewth.

GOod feedback to take note of.

I will check out these Calais 100A - where are they made?

Your thoughts on using 4kg and 6kg live fibre rods in lieu of the loomis?

Alot of people have advised me that the Core is too light for Barra fishing up here - how does the Calais 100A rate when compared to the COre reel?

Splash

The Calais 100A is made in Japan, and is also sold as the Antares AR. I've had one for 7 years and it is still super smooth after 100s of fish. Slightly smaller than the "standard" Calais, very rigid frame, and a superb casting reel out of the box. I know quite a few anglers who use the Core 50 as well as the Core 100 for Barra. Nice reels, but they have magnesium in their build which I don't like in saltwater (fine for fresh). The Core 50 has exactly the same body shape as the Scorpion XT1000, but the latter is all aluminium and has saltwater anti-rust bearings throughout. 4 Kg of drag is enough for most Barra - bigger reels with bigger drags can be hard on your wrist when casting all day. Can't answer about the Live Fibre rods, but the Loomis IMX blanks are hard to beat for a balance of weight, power and durability. As with much of our gear, they are much cheaper to buy in the US - even after shipping.