Thread: Finally got out

Finally got out

We finally got a chance to get an offshore trip in Wednesday. We took a mate (Muggsy) who has not fished much and had never caught a Red Emperor or a Large Mouth Nannygai (Sadletail Snapper). You can imagine his delight when he got one on the first spot before the sun had even set! Derek got one here too and we also got three trout, a Spangeld Emperor and a sizeable Large Mouth to boot. The boys could have gone home then happy men.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	red1a.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	78663Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lm1.jpg 
Size:	96.9 KB 
ID:	78669
    Before the sun had set we had 7 trout in the esky including a 7 kilo Blue Spot that Muggsy nailed to make his day even better.

Name:	bs1a.jpg 
Size:	95.2 KB 
ID:	78664Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bs3a.jpg 
Size:	99.9 KB 
ID:	78666Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bs2a.jpg 
Size:	95.3 KB 
ID:	78665

After dark the sharks and Red Bass gave us heaps with Muggsy landing eight 5 kilo Bass in a row. His next bait then took off with what we all thought was a big shark but he wanted to catch it and persisted destroying himself in the process. It was a good call with a massive GT brought boatside after a sustained battle. I say with a fair amount of confidence this fish was over 35 kilos.

Name:	gt1a.jpg 
Size:	99.9 KB 
ID:	78667

The sharks chased us to another area where we got more large and small mouth nannys plus a cod and a nice little Mangrove Jack to finish off. Final tally was 37 fish which included 7 or 8 large mouth to 6 kilos to go with the two Reds, a bunch of Spangeld Emperor and Long nose. Muggsy has another excuse to come out as he missed out on poppins his Large Mouth cherry but he didn't seem to mind after the fish he caught. Was good to get out

Name:	mj1a.jpg 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	78668

Re: Finally got out

Sounds like a great trip!!! Nice pics too! The trout is a cracker!!

Thanks for sharing

Anthony

That Trouts a ripper. i reckon you have a fishing convert on your hands

Cracking conditions by the looks of it too, well done

Well done mark on a quality trip, definitely agree with tony, that's a cracker trout and a massive GT. awesome

Cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

Looks like a great trip. The weather was fantastic earlier in the week. That's a horse of a trout and GT.

Pazz

That is a cracking trout, would've looked awesome seeing it come up in the glassy water.

Nice fish well done mark

Cheers for the report Mark,good fishing mate.
    Gav.

Looks like you Finally made the most of it lad with some solid fish, nothing worse when the boat sits in the backyard gathering dust