They'll be great bait for all the crocs around there at the moment
![]()
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
Hey Boonie,
That rigs the go mate, ive been using it for a fair while now and love it. I also did it so the fly was on the bottom hook, the bait looks massive and always seem to get the bigger ones on that. Big bait big fish right? haha good report as usual mate. Might see you on the water up there somewhere. cheers.
I'm sick of seeing all those pics of you holding up those fish Boony.
How about you put up some of Mrs Boony holding some fish up?
Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
"Fishing was around along time before you darling"
I've been at work over a week now have spent hour making rigs and packed ready for next trip. Any break in this weather wonder how Trevalley went he was up this way during week blew most of time it blew and blew
VHF CHANNEL 21
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
Tuesday morning would have been the only opportunity to get out if he did, other then that there would have been 1 meter swells in the creekscouple of nights ago rundle island peaked at 39 knots, we have has a few showers last night and today as well
Cheers from boony
Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
"Fishing was around along time before you darling"
Maaaaattttte - it blew it's freaking socks off!!!!!
Left home Sunday morning 1am and was all set up on Humpy at 1pm - Sunday, Monday and Tuesday were just unbelievable.
I went up to fern country Tuesday solo - first bait on wide pinnacle and I was having a double hernia trying to pull up the monster 20 minutes later and I was requiring re-constructive surgery - up comes a grey shape2.5m white tipped whaler. Second bait a repeat but this time I had a rod bucket and it was give them heaps approach on 100lb braid - unfortunately around the pinnacle I could only raise sharks, hussars and baits were getting mobbed by leather jackets.
I tried two other spots nearby for more hussars then found an isolated peak with some colour and reckon I finally had on what I was after and 3/4 way up pulled the hooks in my enthusiasm to ensure it wasn't shark foodand that was as close as I got in fern country to a good fish from 8am onsite till 2.30pm heading back to The Child for a troll. It was real calm first up and windy mid-day 20-25knots travelling at only 15kph then just dropped about 3pm to 10 knots then did 35kph second half of 40km trip to The Child. Real fickle.
I saw fish wide of The Child and trolled for a 12kg mac tuna - threw back then headed in closer to troll for a spaniard it was now 4pm. I trolled till 5pm then was ready to leave when I got a screaming hookup. 100lb braid on Daiwa sealine and critter took 200m - it was a heavy fish! I fought it for 20 minutes and it tried everything then from 200 out it ran hard at the boat chomping, and shaking it's head and thrashing about and finally with a loose line it got it's freedom - damn it was a BIG fish. It sat in the current for 5 minutes and with 100lb line we were even - it took none and I gained none - but still pulled hard to keep it even. Gotta love what I recon was an awesome spaniard - never will know but - a wahoo did similar to me once but this was a very very big and very angry fish either way - I enjoyed the competition and reckon with someone at the controls of boat it would not have been lucky enough to run down some slack line and the story would have had some great pic - but hey thats what I love about fishing - if I caught all the one's that got away I would have Australian record captures - nice to know they are still out there
Tuesday night it turned and was 35-40 on Wednesday and 30-35 knots on Thursday and we left 25knots Friday with 2.5m swell with 1m chop on top - WOW!
JT - Boony - send me your email addresses guys and I will send you photos to find an easy 30m of chain (6mm chain and 10mm chain) and a Sarca anchor (all new) (finders keepers) and a story - compliments of Humpy and 35-40 knot winds for freaking days - pushed the boat onto the beach twice (nearly killed me once pushing to get it back out against the shore break for 40 minutes) and saved it once from being blown over the horizon when I lost the anchor and chain. The anchor and chain will be an easy find in 2.5m of water once this sea settles and clear - I tried but in 1m viz in 30 knot wind it was not possible - so an easy $500 pick up of a set up - I would hate to see it stay in the sea or go to some other lucky tourist!
The first couple of days on island I resisted fishing the big schools of hardiheads being ambushed by trevs at my feet saying in a couple of day little Ronnie and I will be into these - but when it turned to crap the sea went milky the baitfish went wide and the opportunity passed - SHOOT really wanted to get the young fella onto something fun.
Trev
I am after a Sarca anchor and will be up that way soon![]()
![]()
all fun and games
cheers Murf
Well Murf from the pics I have of where the boat was sitting - if you have viz to bottom it is a very easy collect - just that 30 knot wind and 1m viz didn't make it possible for me. But otherwise I have pics of boat from beach and from hill top showing exactly where it was relative to the NPWS anchor buoys.
Trev
Mate tentjl2@bigpond.com.au will be there tuesday morning . Sorry to hear the wind was terrible but ya had fun hey
I'll get it for u and pass it on the Wags who can drop it back to u on way thru in may for ya
VHF CHANNEL 21