Thread: Hervey bay

Hervey bay

I was supposed to go on a charter with Bargy today but the winds put a stop on that so we went out of point Vernon in my bluefin for a placcie around to try and get something . Well me and the wife where drifting around throwing some squidgies around and my luvias 2000 da comes up tight on a decent fish which after a 25 min fight on 6lb braid and 12lb leader turned up a nice 80cm golden trevally which was released to fight another day . I had to swim the fish a bit as he was buggered after the fight but he swam away healthy from what I saw , thanks for reading photos to follow . Tomorrow it's the Artie then moon point then maybe out into platypus bay for a look for a longtail tuna . Thanks Matt.
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Here are the photos

Re: Hervey bay

Nice Golden Matt

Shame you couldn't get out with Bargy, bloody wind

cheers tim

nice fish , well done , hope there biting in 2 weeks time ....

16 days and counting!!!!!

just spent 5 days houseboating out of tin can bay,s/e winds,25 knots +,water is dirty brown & fresh,no fish to speak of but the muddies are plentiful so take some pots & you will get a good feed.

Beats standing on the gate at the RNA. Had to send the job home yesterday grubs were working on the RDOS. Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Not me Pete I enjoy my RDOs for what they are mate ,actually sitting out in the yak right now off point Vernon chasing another golden ...Matt

awesome, nice fish. i bet that 2000 luvias was screaming!!

The little luvias screamed of half the line first run but the misses stated the boat and we chased him for the next couple of runs and everything held together . When he started to come up at first the wife thought it was a small ray as he came up on his side then took of again , but once we saw him the heart beat went up as I was worried I was going to lose him but we turned everything of and ended up getting him . Yesterday was very ordinary and we did a lot of Km for a couple of undersized snapper and some vermin .... Thanks Matt

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    The little luvias screamed of half the line first run but the misses stated the boat and we chased him for the next couple of runs and everything held together . When he started to come up at first the wife thought it was a small ray as he came up on his side then took of again , but once we saw him the heart beat went up as I was worried I was going to lose him but we turned everything of and ended up getting him . Yesterday was very ordinary and we did a lot of Km for a couple of undersized snapper and some vermin .... Thanks Matt
    it was a nice fish ,,, keep the daily reports flowing ....many boats out on the water ....

The straits are still tea coloured and we had a accie around the Artie then went over to moon point and tried to fish a gutter that drains a creek over that way for nothing so we went out to platypus bay looking for some clean water and some fish. We found clean water in view of arch cliffs but couldn't find any action so we headed home and went out on the yak of point Vernon and caught a few undersized snapper. We are heading out again this morning in the boat at the Point again today to catch the bottom of the tide so we will see how we go,it's quite up her as far as boat traffic and holiday makers go for this time of the year I'm actually surprised how few people there are . The bloke at the servo at the boat ramp at urangan recons it's the slowest 4 months he has ever seen , and the wind has popped its head up again oh we'll fish around that ...Matt

Think I seen you yesterday in the yak, you were drifting past us at Point Vernon me and the 2 girls were in a white 4.1 brooker, caught a 3 foot shark, a couple of batfish, lots of under size squire and heaps of rig stealing vermin. We were out at the artificial on Monday caught lots of tuskfish, good size mother in law fish but nothing worth keeping. Pretty scary coming back into the boat harbor about 6 ish on Monday with the wind and swell, nearly has to go for the life jackets.
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

good stuff guys , good reports , getting ready for a fish up there in 10 days ..good to hear that there isn't much water traffic up there , hope the fresh clears up a touch ...

Yesterday it was alright to head out early from urangan in a tinnie but we had a late start so headed out of the point again for some small reefies and some sea toads o the joy at least we had a fish . A lot more boats today but we still got a few , the wind is worse than it shows on the charts but it's only chop that would be manageable in something like a halfcabin than it is in an open tinnie way more doable than Morton bay in the same conditions . That was me in the kayak pig I am staying walking distance from the ramp at point Vernon but watch the ramp at low tide it's a bit Dickie especially in a front wheel drive , if you get caught out use the right hand side as there is a hole scoured out by boat wash from the blokes who are driving on but leaving the boat I gear while they hook up . I drove on my trailer no problem but I am using a ford with IRS so it pulls out easy if you take it easy ....Matt