Thread: Scarbrough Snapps and Sweetlip

Scarbrough Snapps and Sweetlip

Well guys i have had an awsome day today was up early this morning and took my daughter to the tinny an tackle show and my god there was some very overpriced boats there haha. Coming home over the Hornibrook bridge the bay was flat so out come the tinny at 3pm and off to my little spot I have off Scarbrough the tide was incoming and my little 15hp Merc 2 stroke was a full steam all the way out was awsome to be on the water after about 3 weeks of shithouse weather. Pulled up and burleighed up my old mates come over to visit 2 massive sea turtles coming in to steal all my burleigh. Big buggers they are. They are getting a little bit more bold and coming in closer to the boat to the point where they swin under me beautiful creatures they are. Anyway got a feed I had 3 lines in 2 went off first one was a 32cm snap off it went back over the side second was a 33 back it went to lines went back in 10 mins off they go again 35cm snap hits the ice and a nice little 33cm grassy sweetlip hit the ice also caught a couple of shovel nose sharks and a few more undersize snaps but all in all it was great to be back out on the water headed back in just on dusk watching the sun set over the glasshouse mountains the bay was glassed out great afternoon great day this is livin Barry
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P3230001.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	66.6 KB 
ID:	78288   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P3230002.jpg 
Size:	75.7 KB 
ID:	78289  

Re: Scarbrough Snapps and Sweetlip

That fish on the left was obviously unwell swiming upside down like that...do you think it will be safe to eat?

Sounds like a fun day out! Love the story about the turtles...they are beautiful and always great to see them in the bay.

Haha I think the bloke that took the photo was a bit upside down haha it was dark I was buggered give me a break lol.

Nice work Fisho mate. Great to see theres still a few fish around Scarby after all the floggin it cops. Always a nice welcome having a big green hang around near the tinny. I sit out at Woody some days and wait for old mate and its not long before he shows his melon.
    Im thinkin might be a decent snap / squire season off reddy come cooler months.
    PS. Any Grassy is welcome into my esky

Thanks Kingcray I am hoping for a good winter season on the bay I haven't had a great deal of luck down the reddy end Scarby has been fishing really well the chicken pellets mixed in with squid is the go for burleigh I have found the snaps love it.

good read mick. was tops on the water yesterday. looks like it will be a while before the next 1 tho.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Yeah Dave this wind and rain is really shitting me just gotta get out when you can at the moment even if it is later in the afternoon.

yeah. its been horrible. tinny creek boat ramp was chockers this morn. was going to drop some pots in there today but thought better of it. reckon all the rivers and creeks will have a busy day today and tomorrow.

Yeah dave I might head up the Pine river tomorrow haven't chased bream in a while might put my little Atomic Lures to work I think.

best of luck mate. i'm looking for a different catch tomorrow. doing the boaties market. collecting dave dobson and bingo on the way. coffee, snags, chinwags and bargains.

Ahh yeah I forgot that was on hmmmm decisions decisions might come down for a look.

Quote Originally Posted by Chas & Clarry View Post
    That fish on the left was obviously unwell swiming upside down like that...do you think it will be safe to eat?

Sounds like a fun day out! Love the story about the turtles...they are beautiful and always great to see them in the bay.
    It got a mouthful of Brissy river water mate!

One of the best parts about this is eating it went down very well with a Beer last night.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P3240005.jpg 
Size:	37.1 KB 
ID:	78326   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P3240006.jpg 
Size:	42.5 KB 
ID:	78327  

now thats a meal , good work on the fishing too

sounds lovely,the calm water ,looking towards Glasshouse mountains,the fish a bonus