Thread: big mac's today 17/3/12

big mac's today 17/3/12

well the day started off with myself timddo and son donny and mick aka wave dancer in the cat heading to moreton...we rounded green and ran into axl setting some pots we said gday and headed off to our spot x...we droped the lures in and within 5 minutes the paravane surfaces so we let little donny pull in the first big mac a nice 54cm model not bad for a little fella.. we did a few laps and got a few grinners especially on the line timddo was looking after...no wonder tim d cannot catch fish with timmdo i think he needs to go back to fishing school..lol...next fish we got was a little banito owell i think least we got some bait for the next offshore trip...along comes vitamin sea in the haines to join the trolling beside us dont think he done as well as us ...we reset the lines only to get a massive run this is where i will add the zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz....zzzzzzz zzzzzz holy sh*t we got a huge big mac Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bigmac414.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	58.0 KB 
ID:	78111 boy did it fight i had to grab hold of mick b4 he got pulled from the boat...well with that beast in the eskie we trolled a bit more for timddo to get his 20th grinner and mick onto get a few more banito....we moved to the g spot well did this spot go off big macks everywhere we had the rells screaming u know zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...zzzzzzzzzzzzz by this stage poor old donny had fallin asleep on the deckie seat...with all the excitement he woke up to beat the old fellas to the rod to pull in another huge big macClick image for larger version. 

Name:	bigmac414.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	58.0 KB 
ID:	78111...high fives all around good times had by all.. so the tally for the day was 1 mac and 4 banito and around 40 grinners all caught by timddo..worse deckie ever...but have you blokes seen him throw a cast net...prawn king..
    hope this report give you a laugh..pretty quiet on the mack scene today...was a session just to show the fellas how i troll but hard day in the office...was a great day on the water with a few fellow ausfish's good to have you aboard timmdo and son as well as mick
    cheers rosco

Re: big mac's today 17/3/12

Thanks for the report Rosco, it was a really good read. Can you tell me what is a grinner.
    Good things come to those who bait

mate it a pest fish you get while fishing for whiting normally but they where hittin the barra spoons today..they normally follow up whiting when u catch them and try and swallow them

Thanks for that Rosco. About a month ago we were out at the rous channel, and caught a couple of these fish that were slender and had little sharp teeth, and a mouth that looked like it was grinning. I think thats what we're talking about.
    Good things come to those who bait

yeah mate they are a redish brown sort of colour

Rosco 2 X sandies from the soak (Rach said they tasted great) 2 X whiting from the Rouse (Bummer) Trolled the new paravane out the end of the Rouse for a bit over an hour and a half and caught bugger all, except for the biggest Grinners I've ever seen. Some of these buggers were around 500 long.
    At least I know how they (Paravane's) work now. Back to work for me I will see you on the water in a couple of weeks.
    Cheers Axl

bugger mate..all that effort and rach ate them on ya...will keep ya posted on the big macks

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    bugger mate..all that effort and rach ate them on ya...will keep ya posted on the big macks
    Cheers Rosco I'll look forward to reading your post's mate. 54cm for the young fella bloody beauty!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Axl

Good report rosco, glad to hear you guy's got stuck into the BIG MAC's

I think Tim may have to change his user name on here to "Grinner King"

cheers tim

yeah mate he can sure catch them.lol

Thanks for the day out Rosco had a ball and was good to meet Tim and his young fella.That rig of yours sure is nice and great to ride in. I knew it was going to rain over night so i threw some fertiliser over my shark cat, checked this morning but the f##kn thing hasnt grown any lol. The tips and pointers you showed us sure do work as i took my boat for a run in the arvo with Fiona (the missus) and she landed her first mackeral. Wasnt huge 52cm but had her grinning from ear to ear and now she cant wait to go for another troll. Going to order some paravanes this week.

Cheers Mick.

didn't grow hey...looks like you will need to buy a bigger one then... mick was a great day out with a couple of great blokes and a little man....so did you wind the cat up to warp speed 10 on the way back home..was good to see your missus with the mack she sure did look happy.

Geez rosco you must be a bad skipper, poor old Mick had to take his own cat out straight after going with you to put a Mack in the esky

Have to do another day at Micks soon, steak, smoked mac fillets, timddo can catch some prawns and we can sashimi a few of my 7" nuclear chicken gulps for entree.

cheers tim

yeah mate,he had to compair his cat to mine,yeah we will have to make another trip to micks...word has it mick got a mtr lizzard he caught down there..just waiting for him to do the post...caught on a plastic as well tim who would of thought that...

Here is tims new avatar pic

You should of kept some of the Grinners i have heard they go alright on the plate

cheers tim
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grinner king.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	69.1 KB 
ID:	78131