Thread: Pine River Prawns

Pine River Prawns

Well what a top day , not many clouds and heaps of prawns. Mate of mine had no problems getting a bucket nearing low tide in the Pine River.

How many others managed to get a feed, dont be shy, there were a few boats scratching around

Bondy

Re: Pine River Prawns

Yeah, Bondy. My mate Royslaven Got a bucket as well. I popped out in the arvo. I managed 3/4 of a bucket. Size was reasonable. And managed 3 good bream too. The Pine is cleaniing up well.Might be a few boats theretoday.

Well done Pero, Royslaven slaying into 'em too. Yeah, I say there will be even it will be overcast, wont stop hardcore, it's in the blood.

Bondy

Can you guys give me some more specific info on where to go ? I only bought a cast net the other day when I was in a second hand shop browsing and spotted a 9' for $20.. Bottom pocket only though, but still cheap!!

I noticed a few boats today outside baldl hills creek area, but couldn't see what they were doing. (Figured chasing whiting)

went on monday to the pine .Got about a kilo.Very small bananas ans a few greasys.All from up the top end.Caught 1 bass and 2 massive catties on live prawns

I hear a lot about the Pine, it's a bit out of the way for me. What about creeks up near Bribie, Ningi and the likes up towards Torbul and Donnybrook, do they yield much in the same way ? Sure as hell we've copped a lot of rain in the past 2 months, I figure conditions would be much the same as the Pine. I've snuck around up past the oyster leases and such fishing and crabbing, but never taken a net *yet*. If anyone goes up that way prawning and wants to give me some tips feel free

Quote Originally Posted by Fillet`n`Release View Post
    I hear a lot about the Pine, it's a bit out of the way for me. What about creeks up near Bribie, Ningi and the likes up towards Torbul and Donnybrook, do they yield much in the same way ? Sure as hell we've copped a lot of rain in the past 2 months, I figure conditions would be much the same as the Pine. I've snuck around up past the oyster leases and such fishing and crabbing, but never taken a net *yet*. If anyone goes up that way prawning and wants to give me some tips feel free
    I used to cast net some reasonable amounts in Ningi Creek between the ramp in the creek proper (accessed from Toorbul) and the prawn farm on a run out tide, the drains leading into the creek is where they would congregate mostly.
    Alternatively Glasshouse Creek used to produce around the bends where the deeper waters were, just be wary of submerged trees.

The better creeks and areas have substantial mangrove forests where the prawns enter as the tide rises.

Thanks Tuna. Going to look for a 12ft top pocket net at the boat show this coming week, then I might go give it a burl. At the very least I know I can catch mudcrabs up there, a feed of prawns while they're soaking wouldn't go astray

Are they clearly visible on a sounder ? Do they sit very close to the top ? do they ball or just look like a bit of vague soundings ... I bet after this blowy weather there will be a lot of debris in the creeks and passage.

Thanks Bondy i might head down there around the low tomorrow if it aint bucketing down

Gday Bondy. I got about a kilo there yesterday. Small bananas and some greasies in there also, weren't real huge but nonetheless still good seeing something in the top pocket. Really needed to castnet longer but was also setting some crab traps. Too many jobs mate.

Schuey

Kingcray,

No worries mate, I'm sure you will get a feed.

Bondy

Quote Originally Posted by Schuey View Post
    Gday Bondy. I got about a kilo there yesterday. Small bananas and some greasies in there also, weren't real huge but nonetheless still good seeing something in the top pocket. Really needed to castnet longer but was also setting some crab traps. Too many jobs mate.

Schuey
    G'day Schuey.

Oh well better than zilch hey! How's the crabs going up there at the moment?

The more you castnet the better your chances of hitting the mother load.

Bondy

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Kingcray,

No worries mate, I'm sure you will get a feed.

Bondy
    Well Bondy i gave it a crack for a few hours. Water was very fresh, a couple blokes down there told me they released more water from npd yesterday which doesnt help. Got a total of about 10 prawns all quite small. Rain was heavy at times too.

Kingcray,

Sorry mate, forgot to tell you but you probably known that in relation to excessive freshwater. If you get too much fresh then they take flight as they need the salt, they'll come back once the clean salty returns.
    Bondy

I had a look at all my regular spots plus did a long search of new territory using the sounder. Did not get a single prawn.
    Cheers Freeeedom