Fishing Hervey Bay

Thread: Fishing Hervey Bay

Ausfish Gold Member

Fishing Hervey Bay

So it's set, we've booked ourselves into a place at Hervey Bay for easter.

Does anyone have any tips as to fishing Hervey Bay.

Is there a book like River to Reef that advises some basic GPS locations?

Re: Fishing Hervey Bay

Almako,

I was looking at doing the same soon. Check out the link.

http://www.fishingherveybay.com.au/F...aser-Coast.php

Lefty

I am going up as well for the week before and including Easter , the local tackle stores sell a small pamphlet type book that has some starter marks to get you started . I've been ther heaps of times and exploring the bay area is great fun we have caught all manner of fish at different times of the year you will have a ball. Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Bluefin 59 (Matt),

G'day mate, You got your own boat or have a charter op in mind?

Bondy

Here's another Hervey Bay fishing site.

http://www.fishntales.com/

They have a forum page (like Ausfish) where you can get the latest member's reports. You have to join the site to view the reports but the information from members about recent catches is far better value than general reports provided by bait shops aimed at attracting tourists.
    Cheers Freeeedom

The bait shop on the esplanade used to sell tide books with some generic marks in it. But drift round the roy rufus arti reef on the eastern side of Woody Island, I did that a few easters in a row, and scored good catches.

Hey mate,

If you want to find a great fishing guide who is a local try Mark "Bargy"Bargenquast. He is a top guide and knows his sh*t, he'll put you onto fish if you can get a booking. I'm booked Saturday (Easter) with him and can't wait to play with the long tails. tours@fraserguidedfishing.com.au

If you got your own little tinnie try out the front of Gattakers Bay for some reefies, the odd coral trout is a common catch if you are lucky.

tight lines
    Kev

As Kev said if your looking for a good charter go see Bargy

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...y+honeymooning

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...-Bay-11-4-12-4

cheers tim

Ausfish Gold Member

Thanks guys some great info there, looking forward to it.

also check out moon point and the end of kingfisher bay jetty in the late afternoons with livies. Work the ledges at moon point and look for the hard bottom and you will get a few fish. Dont forget they have 4m tides so take plenty of lead.
    good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Bluefin 59 (Matt),

G'day mate, You got your own boat or have a charter op in mind?

Bondy
    Yeah taking the bluefin the hobie the wife and we have a charter booked with Bargy on the Monday after we get there so that should start the trip of on the right foot ....Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

let me know how you go , i am heading up in 3 weeks time for 2 weeks , taking the boat up so planning to get out and get a feed most days

Bluefin59

Matt, I'm sure you will enjoy yourself, I hope the freshwater would have dispersed by the time you get to Hervey Bay. Too much freshwater in the bay can ruin the best of plans fishing wise. Unless you go outside the breaksea spit.

Bondy

z50man, where are you staying in HB? I'll be there around that time too! Can't wait, holidays woop woop... i own a house there and might try and book bargy.

Im looking our my window at the pier, and the fresh is finally winding down. Not really so brown any more, more a latte color, and very fishable if the winds die down. Coupla big threadys caught yesterday by a mate at Turkey Creek Sth of River heads.
    Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.