Lifejacket Signs - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lifejacket Signs

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Re: Lifejacket Signs

I have 2 boats that I will have to install the new stickers onto.

A hard top fishing boat where the vests are stowed behind a cabin door under the forward seat cushions (out of sight), and an inboard skiboat where the vests are stowed under the front deck in a forward ski locker.

Whilst I am OK with putting the stickers on, just putting a "LIFE VESTS" sticker on doesn't really improve anything other than compliance.

I will now go to the sticker place and get a couple of custom ones made:

Life Vests stowed under
    forward cabin seats

Life Vests stowed under
    front deck in ski locker

For red on white background (approx 100mm by 50mm) they will both cost about $30-40 I expect but at least they will add value in an emergency.

Perhaps Mr Ausfish is interested in a couple with standard wording for those with vests stowed in cabins etc.

I got a couple from cunningham marine on Friday.
    A mate of mine got picked up last sat in the pine and got a warning. They gave him a sticker, but said its automatic $200 fine. Just guess it comes down to what mood the bloke is in.

I just got a whole heap of stikers and stuck it where I leave the jackets. 3 different places .I have 10 life jackets .

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Still reckon it is basically a revenue raising, as if they were serious, they would have notified every boat holder about the requirement and at the very least supplied the stickers. However it would have been very simple to send the sticker to every boat holder.

To bring in a regulation, without the appropriate notification to all boaties, and the supply of stickers in the system.

First step talk nicely to the public, give them a sticker and explain the reason. Not you are facing a fine, but I will let you off this time.

Carrot not the stick.

Anyway, while the idea is good, still wonder where and what we will have to comply with next. Fuel stored here and here, Batteries here and here, Safety equipment, Fire extinguisher, Lunch, Bait, Berley bucket (For Humans). Then we can have safety grab rails, seat belts, helmets for going over the bar and I am sure they can come up with a few others.

Sometimes I think a case of common sense is not so common when it comes to all the regulations.

Yes idiots do need some help, but not everyone is an idiot, like some of these regs.
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

These regs are probably drummed up by snotty nosed little pricks in three piece suits sitting there fat asses behind desks in front of the latest model computers (compliments of the tax payer), and then get pat's on the back with a $25,000 a year pay rise all for just thinking of the idea..Grr!
    LITTLE SKIPPER!

Quote Originally Posted by LittleSkipper View Post
    Hi Rowan

Just a brief message to say a big "THANK YOU" for going out of your way to supply Ausfish members with those Life Jacket Sticker Signage. Received them on Friday.

Wayne.

I to would like to thank Rowan , mine arrived today
    NOW I,AM GUNNA EATCHA

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

For info, MSQ Pinkenba handed them out free of charge over the counter today.

Address here: http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/About-us/H...s/Regions.aspx

Ausfish Platinum Member Shawn 66's Avatar

Just like to publicly thank Rowanda for taking the time to obtain and send me the Lifejacket stickers .( Also at his own cost )
    Thanks again Mate.
    Shawn

The government is an ass, you would think they could coordinate with Qld Transport and send them out with the rego labels, I just paid for 2 boats and narry a sign nor comment about life jacket stickers.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    The government is an ass, you would think they could coordinate with Qld Transport and send them out with the rego labels, I just paid for 2 boats and narry a sign nor comment about life jacket stickers.
    But they will put in a pamphlet with some sort of advertising .
    NOW I,AM GUNNA EATCHA

Ausfish Platinum Member johncar's Avatar

I just hate the sneaky way laws are passed, we taxpayers are the last to know so they can whack us with another fine for being ignorant WTF.
    I am the first one to support safety at sea and it is my responsibility as skipper to educate my crew and they know where they are so for me the signs are just stupid and in many small craft just impractical. Commercial operations are different and should have them although that shouldn't negate the skippers responsibility to instruct the crew and passengers the location of survival equipment and demonstrate it's correct application.

Even though I have no intention of using them I agree it would be reasonable to at least warn boaties of these things at rego renewal or instead of some of Captain Bligh's "look at me on TV" ads, use that time for something more worthwhile.

I have been talking to quite a few boaties at work and none of them have heard bo peep about stickers. I run quite a few off on the printer and have used double side tape (the foam type) and velcro on a couple of others to position them. The velcro ones stick very nicely to bunk cushions.

After trolling the net as i don't have access to a chandlery store I managed to find these stickers on ebay, I know some of you guys managed to find them for nothing, this little sucker cost me $6.90 delivered. I reckon a small price to pay to save a $200 fine.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LIFE-JACK...item3a71819aaa

They had them at the Tinnie and tackle Show but they where under the desk, you had to ask for them and got queried where your lifejackets where, they didnt freely hand them out, they seemed quite precious about them... Mike D ended up with 3 but that was after going through the routine of lifejackets in different hatches etc...
    Tangles KFC

I could stand corrected but the "Lifejacket" sticker must be visible if the PFDs are not obviously displayed, that is, they are in a locker OR the master informs the passengers/crew where the PFDs are located OR the PFDs are obviously on display.