Thread: This fresh wet and the muddies.....???

This fresh wet and the muddies.....???

Hey boys quick question getting into a bit of crabbing, now with this wet we have had round brisbane the last few days does it affect the muddies? i know it should flush em out but if we have to much do they head for mouth and more salt or how does it work? Im trying to work out what impact the fresh has on them and if you would get any further up the creek after all this rain or do you have to crab closer to the mouth where more salt is? appreciate the help and hopefully i can get a few! thanks boys

Re: This fresh wet and the muddies.....???

Fresh will sit on top of salt water so look for deeper creeks. Depending on how long the creek is, it might have a large catchment thus pushing alot of fresh out it.

Muddies don't like fresh water plain and simple. They will be more towards the mouth, or in deeper water in search for salt.

no worries drifty mate thanks for your help

I've found that a good time to crab is as the flow of fresh eases, especially on a rising tide. Deeper water is best as Drifty75 says.

gday J man. I dont think there is a right or wrong answer to your q, but i can add that i hv thrown some pots up the creek on a few separate occasions after decent downpours recently in wat is normally popular muddy territory and threw a couple outside the bridges in the bay. The ones up the creek hv been empty and the ones just out into the bay have had both muddies and sandies. Mainly big jennies
    Cheers Deano

thanks boys i appreciate your input and will try some deeper more salty areas atm, hit and miss just keep trying till i find them.

RIght well checked my pots to drifty after moving them towards the mouth and deeper water and boom, got 6 keepers you little beauty thanks for the help mate owe you one. cheers

Quote Originally Posted by j_man_84 View Post
    RIght well checked my pots to drifty after moving them towards the mouth and deeper water and boom, got 6 keepers you little beauty thanks for the help mate owe you one. cheers
    Now that is a bloody good result from a bit of well shared info...gotta love this site

chas and clarry mate i couldnt agree more, im stoked had a feed of mud crab last night, life couldnt be better haha. cheers

Im really lazy.. i just throw my pot off my backyard.. tested it last night and its pretty shallow and the water was near drinkable.. the crabs around my joint must be completely nuts as they still find my trap a nice cosy place to sit for the night lol... i just have to make sure the neighbours dont catch me bringing in my pot as no one else does it?? then again it just doesn't look even remotely like a spot they would be... shallow and sandy. go figure?
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!