Thread: Australian salmon nsw

Australian salmon nsw

Gday fellas, some months ago a few of you gave me some tips on catching the Salmon.

A few mates and I are putting a trip together to come down from SEQ to catch a few.
    ( Promise we wont take too many )

? When can we expect them to be travelling north on their Winter run, and.
    ? Is Evans Head within their circut.

As one mate has been to Evans before and recomends it for a holiday spot.

Regards Gordon

Re: Australian salmon nsw

Yep there where millions of the critters at Evans, Ballina, Lennox, Iluka....heck take your pick. Last year they turned up about may june and I had a mate that was still catching the odd one a month back. If I was going to specifically target them I'd b looking at Augustish....bag limit of 5, but fair dinkum some days you'd be hard up not to catch 50.

If you need to fine tune your "Salmon" catching expedition, keep in touch Im more than happy to point you in the right direction

HI What are they like to eat Do you catch them in the river like say at ILUKA or do you fish the beaches CHEERS Fuglee

IMO they are average tucker..thats my opinion. Maily on the beaches or breakwalls. Pro's were getting them in their nets all the way upriver to Broadwater this year though.

Smoked they can be surprisingly good eating but very average other than that.

Bag limit of 5 is a joke IMHO. And a bad one at that. Should be 50!
    Personally I'm hoping the new commercial cull cuts a swath through 'em ASAP.

Thanks for that Stonecold I will work on something to that part of the year and I was going to fire up the smoker as it seems to improve most fish flavor.

Regards Gordon

In my view, they are pretty limited in their eating capabilities. I made some thai fish cakes out of them (make sure you take all the blood lines out - they're huge!), and they were o.k. A mate actually chops them up into bite size pieces and rolls them in salt and vinegar chips and says they're o.k that way too. Havn't tried the smoker, i'm sure others will comment on. They are literally a pain down here so feel free to take as many as you want . They seem to always take whatever you put on offer and ruin any chance of nailing your target species particularly from the beaches. I have seen a couple of people break some rods trying to lift them on the breakwalls .

I fished shark bay {Iluka} beaches last week for 4 days morning and evening no salmon

yeah bnb, we should get a rest from them for a few months until the water cools down.

crab trap bait at there best

Attachment 77283
    last sunday 19-2 botany bay was filled with the buggers
    Attachment 77282

~~~~Keep ya thirsty eyes off my jim beam~~~