Thread: Help needed

Help needed

If there is any auto leccys maybe you can answer me this. I jumped in the Mrs' 2007 toyaota Rav4 this arvo after she got home from work. put the key in the ingnition turned and nothing. put the battery tester on battery 12.99v not the battery (battery brought in Jan this year) left it and went to shops in my car got home and put the key in the ignition all lights working etc turned key to on posistion and everything turned off. Checked all fuses they seemed okay, i changed the ignition fuse and it clicked but then died.
    Im thinking the ignition is shorting the car if so why would this just suddenly happen if not shorting what else could it be?

Lucas

Re: Help needed

Check the earth from the battery to the engine and chassis. So remove all the connections, clean them with steel wool or similar and refit. The battery terminal is the most likely probelm spot.

9 out of 10 battery issues are people putting grease or anti corrosion paste on them,it gets hot and melts forms an insulation between terminals and battery posts.
    As lateral said clean it all up,Hot water first then remove it will take any dry oxide off which is nasty in your eye !

okay battery terminals were clean but pulled them off anyway and gave them a good clean with steel wool and hot water. full battery power until i insert key into ignition and turn to on posistion. reading 12.8v on the tester.
    put tester between battery post and terminal on +/- and all lights come on in the dash try to start car and sparks at the tester on the + ? does not start. could the terminal be rooted and the tester is acting as a bridge???

When u hit the start button what does the volts drop too? if it drops to the low 11's or lower then most likely the battery has dropped a cell.

Sounds like your battery needs to be load tested or throw another battery in there & see if you have the same issue.

Do all the lights come up normally if you turn the key to ACC? If they do & it is only when starting the car ( if not the battery) I would think the starter motor is cactus and dragging everything else down.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

try starting it with a different key to rule chip issues out.

Some good ideas there and will now have to wait till after work. Thanks and will let you know how it goes.

crises adverted. loose battery terminal was the issue . I had the battery changed in Jan from toyota (alternator probs) anyway when i connected the battery after doing the alternator and again last night i did not tighten hard enough, got home this arvo tightned the battery terminals so the nut wont move and works perfectly. i figured if the terminal was tight and wouldnt move it would be fine and has been for the past couple of weeks but it pretty much needs to be over tightned to work properly.

might need a little gym work buddy
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

not with these guns...