Thread: Green & Peel weekend

Green & Peel weekend

Shot out to green friday arvo to drift plastics until dark and hooked a 35cm tailor for tea. Wind picked up so bad i could not stand so left at 6 ish to get up and try 4 am at green. Shot out and it wasnt much calmer until sun came up and things calmed a bit but didnt matter as nothing but a grinner for hours of drifting plastics. Mates sms me his snapper and boy di he do well at peel so shot out there 11 sunday until dusk but nothing on plastics and wind picked up again so anchored up with the smelly left over bait i bring along to throw so threw some shark, squid and large prawns out (all smelly and old) but had to keep going some how. Sweety,s came on half tide coming up and threw back some smaller ones but did land a 45cm one on the 2 pound fireline but had 10 pound leader so safe fightClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0328.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	62.1 KB 
ID:	77100 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0322.jpg 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	77099and a mowong Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0326.jpg 
Size:	59.3 KB 
ID:	77101and tuskyClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0327.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	61.3 KB 
ID:	77102 along with small crap. A slow weekend for me but i know others did well. Cheers DD......Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0322.jpg 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	77099PS the jelly fish at green were so thick you could hardly get your line through it.

Re: Green & Peel weekend

Well done mate, you look like ya had a lot of fun...nice looking fish.

Billy

still a feed dave. better than last weekend at peel. be alright if those jellies were edible lol.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

The snapper love eating the jellies....usually get some good fish when the jellies are around...

Nice work DD some nice fish there there are jellyfish all over the bay ATM. Heaps up the northern end to.

Fish your plastics higher in the water column when the Jellys are thick. i don't know if they eat them or just chase the bait that hides amongst them

Ive heard of a few guys targeting snapper on topwater around real thick jellys. Like Horse said im pretty sure they chase all the small bait that hides amougst them. The figgen things were even thick down towards the pin last wkd.These winds might clean them out a bit though.
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

They eat em allright ..... Had them spewin jellies up all over the boat...

I caught an small snapper at Green on Sunday morning. Blue jellyfish were thick where I caught him.

Anyhoo, he regurgitated his last meal which was a bunch of small blue jellyfish pieces...

Thanks boyz i might not wory and keep casting in the shallows to see if they like plastics with there jelly. Interesting thought as they are scavengers.

Nice spangly ddobson , only just legal at 45 for some reason. Would have given you some curry on 2lb that is for sure,those suckers pull hard! Those jellys are rediculous. Ben

well done dave a nice feed
    cheer rosco

Quote Originally Posted by ddobson View Post
    Interesting thought as they are scavengers.
    Not always Dave...they will attack schools of bait.

Recently I have landed a 48, a 37 and a 42 trolling Jackall Squirrell 79s along the reef edges at Green. Also been done over by some bigger fish...

The lure that works best is a hardy head immitation.

Hey Pete i have been smoked by monster snapper at green and bricked or hooks straightened so i keep going back and they love bait fish as they hit the flick baits pretty hard to.

I have a net full of jelly after landing a few snaps before.