Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Turbo Timer - Are They Necessary

Re: Turbo Timer - Are They Necessary

Ill just say it again as 99% of people don't know.
    Turbo timers void your insurance as its a modification and it by passes the immobilizer.
    My fiance works in the finance industry and hears all the time insurance companies not paying out because of immobilizers.

Just take it into consideration before you install one as they are a handy product.
    Todd.

Fair enough. If yours has a imobiliser. And depends on your insurance company.

Mine has an immobilizer and a timer and the immobilizer certainly works. If I left the vehicle running (1minute) and some crook got in and started to drive off he / she (to be evenhanded) has a very short time and motor etc works no more. One presumes he she can also deal with the steering lock in the time available.

To each his own / vs bearings (maybe)

C
    C
    What could go wrong.......................

Mine has no imobiliser and Im covered. Im covered anywhere on australian soil, road, track, bush, water. What ever

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    Got to the chewed up cutting and a few speed bump thrown in. Spooled the turbo and dug deep and got it through reasonably easy. Through huge roosters into air and forgot old mate had no windscreen, who was by this stage no doubt showered in sand. All in a weekends work. But sadly now no springs for me. Custom clutch has just made it up a few runs on the list. AND BIGGER BLOODY TURBO"

After doing all this and keeping my egt's in check, I knew I had worked her hard. But, was a bit tired and pulled into the servo and shut her down. The turbo timer caught me and reminded me. Flicked her to 3 minutes and went in and got a coffee and some breakfast.
    By the time you get back on the bitumen and drive through town to the servo and idle up to the car park or bowser or whatever your turbo has had enough time to recover from the stresses placed on it and there is no harm is shutting it down..

Lachie

Pretty sure the use of inter coolers has reduced the need for a Turbo Timer.

Says who?

Thats just advice someone has told you and your passing it on. This is a great example of why you should run a accurate full range egt gauge, boost gauge, water temp. Or even a full managment system. Then noone knows your truck like you do. I watched my gauges and know exactly where Im at. And shutting it down at this point was not a good idea. This its just spiking the egt's upto 5-600. Its running it in that range for duration. They dont cool down as quick as you think they do. Its cast that need time to cool. A mate used to run his at 1 minute. Still visibly glowing red 3 minutes later.

Quote Originally Posted by MudRiverDan View Post
    Pretty sure the use of inter coolers has reduced the need for a Turbo Timer.
    Not really, factory intercoolers dont work veyr well. After intercooling they turn the fuel back up to same as factory temps. Meaning they have more power but run the same temps.

Bendover - Factory intercoolers work well for what they are.
    My xr6 turbo made 380rwkw on the stock cooler (435 with plazaman cooler)
    My xr5 turbo made 155fwkw on the stock cooler
    I know they are different types of cars but it makes my point.
    All they do is get headsoak faster.

Having gauges doesn't help tell you when to turn your car off, it doesn't tell you when clean oil has started moving through your turbo.

Ill give my cars a flogging at the track, pull into the pits and look it cool down for 5 minutes before turning off.
    If I drive on the road normally, ill pull into the garage and turn it off straight away.

If you use common sense and don't act like you have a race car, you will be fine.
    At the end of the day its a 4wd, they are built to tow and go on sand. If it shits itself, take it back to holden.

Says who?

Thats just advice someone has told you and your passing it on. This is a great example of why you should run a accurate full range egt gauge, boost gauge, water temp. Or even a full managment system. Then noone knows your truck like you do. I watched my gauges and know exactly where Im at. And shutting it down at this point was not a good idea. This its just spiking the egt's upto 5-600. Its running it in that range for duration. They dont cool down as quick as you think they do. Its cast that need time to cool. A mate used to run his at 1 minute. Still visibly glowing red 3 minutes later.
    Running it red hot would be beyond factory specs, whole different kettle of fish.

This thread should be called "If I am going to flog my car red hot, should I give it a minute to cool down before stopping?"

Not required.
    I don't even run one on my turbo race car.
    And, for what it's worth, intercoolers have NO bearing whatsoever upon the use of turbo timers.

Only time you even need to think about running the engine for a short period is if you've REALLY been flogging it and on constant boost. After such treatment you would let it cool for 30 seconds or a minute, but no need for the 5 minutes or so you see tool squeezers in their old WRX's doing at the shopping centre :p

The whole turbo timer thing is a hangover from the old days prior to turbo bearing cartridges being water cooled. They were only oil cooled by engine oil and naturally ran hotter. In the olden days, when worked really hard and turned off quickly, heat soak (things get hotter aftern engine turns off) could possibly boil the oil inside the turbo bearing cartridge, leaving a coke deposit on the bearing. Next time the turbo shaft spins a bit of bearing damage could occur. Over time the turbo would fail.

But anyway, I'll stop dribbling. You do not need one

Says who?

Says me and my diesel mechanic brain. The Woo is also right with the water cooled thing and engine manufacturers will tell you the same thing too i'll think you'll find. I don't see the point in spending a couple of grand or whatever on timers/gauges/management systems etc for something that you dont need just to help you feel better about yourself. It's easy money selling and fitting turbo timers also so thats why some smaller diesel workshops and "specialised" turbo shops push them like they do.

Lachie

Not really, factory intercoolers dont work veyr well. After intercooling they turn the fuel back up to same as factory temps. Meaning they have more power but run the same temps.
    Not sure what you're getting at here mate? Turning the fuel back up to the same as factory temps??

Lachie

hmm there is no easy answer unless you already understand all the fundamentals.

Firstly, half you guys are talking about petrol turbo engines, totally different beast....

Factory intercoolers are mostly cheap and nasty. I wasnt getting at topmount heat soak, more so efficency of the cooler itself and many have known to just crack.

Just because a truck is factory intercooled, dont let a false sence of engine temp stability creep in. Your Afr's and temps are the same as a non intercooled 1. Infact if your cooler fails, garanteed cooked enigne and turbo. Like most people who aftermarket intercool their engines. The cooler drops the temps by say 100 degrees, cooler air has more mass. Therfore turning fuel up to the same afr's and engine temp. Means more power for same temps (more air and fuel). You dont think a manufacturer is going say as a selling point "mine runs 100 degrees cooler" god no, they will want as much power as possible while giving as longer life as possible. And some even over step this line in persuit of power like the navara's running a rediculous 16 to 1.

People are talking flogging the guts out of their trucks. If I flogged mine up a steep hill my egt's would hit about 500. But... Come down again very quickly as it was not held for very long. It works on load and duration. So towing a 3 tonne caravan is the same thing. Add soft sand to that, and the load is huge and held for a very long time.

Lachie, You cant claim to know my truck better than I do. So your advice when to shut it down is wrong. I watch my gauges and know it very well. Your turbo needs COOL clean sump oil. Egts are just a quick giude and the first sign of overheating. Like with water and other liquids, it takes a long time to heat up, but also along time to cool down. Like I said, a mate who was towing timed his engine for 1 minute. After shut down, and being night time you could still see it glowing 3 mintues later. It simply wasnt enough time, pinging and cracking is a sure sign. Your thermastat works pretty well so most of the time water temp doesnt show the real story. The only way to do it propperly is a oil cooler and digital oil temp gauge at the inlet of the cooler. Then you will know forsure when to shut it down.

There are no special factory turbo diesels out there. Under load they will reach the factory set temps in worse case conditions, namely towing.