No more white whale. Very nice
I am so happy to wake up in the morning.
Beats the alternative!
Looking great :-), I've never built a boat apart from a couple of sailing dinghies as a teenager. The urge is there, time is not there just yet in my busy life, but I worry about spending all the effort, getting to the end and wishing I'd built one 5ft longer
Snaps2.jpgSnaps1.jpgMaking Cushions.jpgSewing Cushions.jpgCockpit Cushions.jpgIMG_1860.jpgI got the snaps put in to attach the canvas to the boat, which took out a lot of the sag. The rails I put in around the cockpit are about 2' further aft than the roof so there is a natural place for the canvas to sag. Also the roof is unsupported at the back and quite flexible so it is impossible to pull the canvas down tight. I didn't want roof supports in the back as it would interfere with fishing. I put snaps up on the roof so I can roll up the sides and the back and store the rolls up on the roof out of the way. The seams that you see over the aft rails are reinforcing leather sewn to the inside of the cover since Sunbrella is notoriously prone to chafe and the canvas makes a pretty sharp angle over the top of the rail.
I finished the cushions for the cockpit and the cabin. The colour is a kind of blue green that matches the colour of the graphics. Unfortunately, the shed is dark and with the tinted windows the interior pictures didn't come out too good. I used plywood backing on the cushions and epoxied the cabinet covers right to the ply backing. This positions the cushions and keeps them in the right place. I'm going to need to figure out a vinyl cover for the cockpit cushions as I can't imagine the fabric will mix well with fish slime. I actually wanted vinyl covers in the cockpit but the Minister of the Interior wanted all cushions and the bedspread of the same fabric --but then she doesn't like to colour of the canvas either. By the time I got to the last cushion I was happy with the quality of the sewing
The rest of Saturday I spent building the 6 4-wheel carts that I'm going to put under the hull stands to drag the boat out of the shed. I'm very nervous about this but it is going to happen on Monday or Tuesday when I'll do the next update
S&S34
Spirited 230
How are you going to lift the boat onto the carts?
Do you have a bull bag ? And have you considered using one to softly lift the hulls to slide the carts under?
You could also sew some vinyl cushion covers for the slime days in your spare time. Be a shame to smell up you cushion handy work.
What could go wrong.......................
There's a double beam that crosses above the boat in both directions. This formerly supported a mezzanine level in the shed but I raised it to fit the boat under. I created a double beam going to the back of the shed to this cross beam by joining two of the support beams for the mezzanine floor, thinking that I might need a hoisting location at some point in the future. You can just see the beams at the top in the 1st pic. I've got two chain hoists and a couple 2T lifting straps. This beam seems plenty strong as it was engineered to support the mezz floor. also I hoisted the 200L barrel of resin out of the trailer from the centre of it without a groan.
PS At this point the boat should weigh about 550KG but I am absolutely dying to get the boat on the truck on the scales to see what it actually weighs vs. advertised displacement. (750 with 2 100kg motors )The only things not on board are the motors and any liquids.
Last edited by stevemid; 01-03-2014 at 11:42 PM. Reason: more info
S&S34
Spirited 230
I think Steve you have earned the right to be called a shipwright and boat fitter,you would have saved heaps doing all the trimmings your self and it all look sweet and im sure all will go well for you monday or tuesday,cheers chris.
Looking killer Steve...those graphics transformed it and the trim looks sweet.
550kg ? Sounds a bit unders but you'd have a good idea basis the build.
You must be stoked being this close now.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ok now your pissing me off i cant believe you can also doing a pro job on your own upholstery next youll be building your own outboards
enough
seriously its looking fantastic well done
Nuff said.
IMG_1876.jpg
S&S34
Spirited 230
Outstanding work mate, what an absolute ripper of a boat!
I like how even viewed on an angle the paint line on the bottom of the hulls lines up perfectly.
You must be proud as punch and rightfully so.
The motor installation/launch is scheduled for Thrusday the 13th. So I've been cleaning out and re-instating the shed. Just a quick question on the anchor rig. Here's a picture of the way I've got mine set up at the moment. At the end of the shank I've got two long cable ties. One is wrapped about 4 times the other twice. I've also got one cable tie to the top of the roll bar. I've also used a pair of small cable ties to secure each of the shackles. Is this about the right idea?
photo-3.jpg
S&S34
Spirited 230
Not quite Steve, you need some more slack, from the look of it, at the shank so the pull is on to the cable ties. If the anchor is jammed the tension is on the cable ties that are then supposed to let go and you retrieve the anchor, from in your case, the top of the roll bar or the end where the chain is "Deed" to the anchor proper.
Not sure if the extra ties along the shank are going to help but I guess they keep it looking tidy and you could soak up the slack with them too.
PS How did you go with the truck alternative?
What could go wrong.......................
So you anchor your boat with cable ties Chimo?
Edit: I think I'd avoid going over the hoop Steve.