Thread: Shortenting a rod

Shortenting a rod

I do rod repairs for my workmates and their friends, one of my 'high maintenance' mates has a perfectly good Shakespear Ugly, I've repaired it before & know it well!!!!
    He has broken yet another guide, the ceramic ring has broken, no dramas there, however he now wants me to add another guide below the stripper guide and shorten the rod.
    I feel this is may be problematic, having checked out the rod I can see he is using it with the wrong line class and the taper is very slow for the type of fishing he's doing (IMO). Basically, I think he needs a fast to medium fast taper on a shorter rod, however this is his rod, so I guess he can do with it what he wants.
    Is there any type of method used for taking around 8 - 12 cms from the tip of a rod. I am not going to take the responsibility and actually do this shortening job, he can do it.

I am happy to add the new tip and alter guides to his specs, nothing more.
    I'm of the opinion "if it's not broken, don't fix it", as already mentioned this is a perfectly good fishing rod used in the wrong way, I think I am wasting my time trying to talk him out of this.
    Any advice greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Re: Shortenting a rod

I had to look twice when I saw your post, friggen hell where the hell have you been? Yep it sounds like a peice of snot, so start from the tip, cut away. Take a few inches if its that slow of an action per time. I wouldnt go and cut 12 off in one go though. I wouldnt even do that to someone I hate, well maybe. It sounds like he is tighter that a fishes arse hole. You cant polish a peice of shit.

Roz,
    It's good to see your still alive!!! Have to agree with Stuart .But it can easily change the dynamics of a rod by shortening it.Take it steady and it should turn out alright. Thats a lot of work for $75 UGLY rod but it can work.
    Best of luck Graham

I still think she should cut it in half then wack him over the head with the fat end and tell him to buy a new rod.

Hey Roz
    Good to see you on again!

I'm with the other guys on expending the effort on an ugly stick, but if he's dead keen then tell him to tape over where he's going to cut it and use either a dremel with a very thin blade, or a diamond wheel. Rotate the blank when cutting to avoid splintering.

The tip section on an ugly stick is usually pretty soft so I wouldn't be surprised is 8-12cm didn't make a huge difference if it's a lighter blank.
    You can get an idea by sticking the rod in a holder and hanging a weight from the tip as it is now and marking the curve on a board or something.
    Then hang the same weight at the point you're planning to cut and check the curve.
    With a fighting load I don't think there'll be a huge difference because on that blank I'm thinking (guessing) the bend will be closer to the butt and the tip will be just following the line, but as far as sensitivity or the ability to cast lighter lures it could make an average blank into a poor one.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Hi Roz, Great to see you back.
    As for your "mate" tell him to pull his head out of his arse and his wallet out of his back pocket and get you to build a rod from scratch. I wouldn't waste my time on that old piece of crap from the last millenium. If he wants to cut it down, let him. He can't be paying you enough to rebind a $75 rod off the Big W shelf. What are you going to charge him? $20, $30, $40. For the value of the rod it just isn't worth the time unless he wants to do it himself. Just my opinion.

Wow, thanks guys!!!
    It's really nice to hear from you all again... as already mentioned, and I won't dwell too much on this subject but it's taking some time to get back to my old self after losing Dad, time heals, small steps.

I didn't add a lot of detail in the opening post which I will add now, simply to back up your collective opinions. The rod is has a slow taper and line class recommendation is 6 to 8.5kg, it is around 2.5 metres + long, that's suggesting to me it's a lure casting rod not a blue water bottom fishing rod.
    To top that, I'm sure he could be using around 30kg braid.... nice rod for it's intended purpose, which aint bottom bashing!!!....and he keeps crying about all the big fish he is losing.
    I will see him at work in the morning and pass on your opinions.... gently.
    Will see what happens, keep you posted.
    Cheers Roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

@ 2.5m you could probable lose .5 but its going to stiffen it up heaps. Good idea that Owen said to get an idea of what the rod will do when cut down...and also how to cut a blank.

I think he has seen the light!!!!!
    So for the moment I will just repair the broken guide, there is a chance he might change his mind... keep you posted... well sort of, it's not exactly riviting stuff.
    cheers Roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

It's just good to hear from you!!!
    cheers Graham

I cant waite for the next episode.

Hi Roz!

I shortened an ugly stick on my honeymoon - I put the rod into the boot of my car then closed it. The boot hinge did the rest.

And back at the hotel when the wife asked "why are you upset, it's just a stupid rod" I considered shortening the marriage as well.

Nice to see you posting again.

Hi Roz, did somthing similar to a rod I bought second hand was ment to be a jig rod but was far to soft in the tip, cut approx 5 inches of and is now near perfect, nice practice have not built a rod since my uncle and I used to build our own LBG gear in the late 70's

Hi Roz
    As you can tell by my ranking I don't usally respond to alot of forums ,but i watch with a great zeaot like nature for the rod building forums.
    I have been building now for thriry years and i have never cut anything from a the tip of any blank that i have ever built apart from the odd clean up of a messy tip replacement. I found that the blank or mandrel lengths set by the the rod manufactors was all was good enough for me,if you wanted a stiffer rod you went to the next blank up the asuppliers range.
    rather than go to this extreme I have always explained to the customer that the tip will fold away point towards the fish reguardless .
    in short don't do it.

Sorry for the break in responding to replies, back at work as a steering wheel attendant keeps me off the computer.
    Anyway, the rod shortening saga is settled, my fellow steering wheel attendant Fred, has seen the light!!!
    I must add it's not often Fred takes much notice of any female, but if he wants me to continue to repair his broken and neglected fishing rods he listens...good 'ol Fred.
    I passed on everybodys opinions, even yours Stu!!!! including my thoughts.

I basically told him a light to med rated, slow tapering beach rod, would never really cut it as a bottom bashing stump puller.
    I did have a few ideas, one being to insert an old blank up inside the rod to change it's taper and load bearing however, I've never heard of that being done before, I would rather experiment on one of my own rods rather than wreck someone elses. The old saying "You can polish a turd and put a cherry on top, but it's still a turd" does apply in this case...sort of, but IMO the rod is a great little beach rod, best left alone.
    Will see what happens.
    Cheers Roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!