any one got any ideas to get rid of bad luck with name change
Chimo posted these a couple of years ago.
http://boatsafe.com/nauticalknowhow/rename.htm
http://www.yachtsee.com/helps/boatdenaming.php
Just bring a couple of banana's on board. Get Tol to bring the Breaka girls and problem solved
just changethe name and forget the old wive's tales
right on pin, what a load of bollocks !!!!!!
Its not bollocks its important !..and can only be done on the water.
Never change TO a female name...you can change from one tho.
String 6 bananas from the bow rail (dont let them touch the superstructure) and repeat this....
" Out vile demons "
....then quickly cut the bananas off and hurl as far away into the drink as u can.
Helps to have a few beers handy as offerings.
No good mate, it will never work as a fishing boat again. I like helping others out so what I will do is give you $100 to take it off your hands. Then go and buy a new boat.
Stu
I have re-named both of my boats, more for day out on the water to celebrate the new boat. We used the ceremony at the link below - bottle of bubbly at the wrecks at Tangalooma was a nice relaxing way to enjoy the new boat - and ensure we have safe passage and lots of fish in the future
I do think it is an old wives' tale, but if it eases your mind, it is a great fun thing to do.
http://boatsafe.com/nauticalknowhow/rename.htm
...........GOOD THINGS COME TO THOSE WHO BAIT.........
Exactly what bad luck has this boat brought you?
what a load if sh... just change it ,have done to all my boats, its all in your head ,you make your own luck
Ahh 40 years of boating, never named a boat..ever... boring hey..
none yet i renamed a boat a few years ago . both engines exploded . i seen a cray boat get renamed in tassie . it sank the next day . just a little bit worried about the bad jew jew .
As a few people on here know I've had my fair share of bad luck and misfortune with my boat for the year Ive owned it.Mostly engine related.So what does one do when the engine is cursed?Buy a new engine which I did.Problem solved I thought until during the first run with the new motor I nearly sunk due to a hose that had been removed from a sea cock during installation.
After a lengthy debate in my own head I decided to do a naming ceremony...the one in Wags's top link thinking this would sort out the demons that lived on my boat.
The boat never had a name when I bought it so I never actually renamed it I just did the purging ceremony the naming ceremony and the ceremony to appease the wind gods by covering up the name I put on it some time ago and used a metal ingot with the former rego number on it during the ceremony.
4:30am at Horseshoe Bay before heading offshore one morning the ceremony was performed word for word with bottles of champagne with a total value of more that the fuel used for the day (Poseidon's not a cheap drunk you know).
Anyway all done and dusted all the ceremony gear was packed away and we started to head out up the Rainbow Channel to go offshore and whilst traveling at about 20kts on glassed out water BANG!!!!!Turned around to find a perfect circle of red where a hard shelled, round marine creature must have decided to take a breath.Lifted the motor and the gear case had been scratches up to all hell and I had bit's of shell in the grill of the water intake.Not 5 minutes after doing the ceremony!!!
So as for the question, will a ceremony change your bad luck....who knows.But what it will do is maybe give you a bit of piece of mind if a run of mishaps seems to have no logic to them as with mine.
Just try and do it without the sacrifice.
I've heard the old name should be written on the wall of the engine room.
Not sure what you do with an outboard?
thanks guys am going out to morton on satuday morning and doing a reverse gear ceremony to erase the name .then smashing a 30 year old bottle of scotch over her to rename . (don't like the bubbly)