If Mark R wants to help the fisherfolk - then this is the time to SHOW IT.
Redcliffe Coast Guard is calling for help after it's flagship boat was grounded needing a $70,000 engine refurbishment.
Redcliffe Commander Col Ward admitted the maintenance requirement could not have come at a worst time.
"The vessel allows Coast Guard Redcliffe to offer vital help whenever and wherever needed" Mr Ward said.
Last year, for example, Coast Guard Redcliffe carried out 83 vital medical evacuations from Tangalooma and they already estimate more than 100 are likely to be performed this year.
Another example of the worked performed by the vessel is contained in the video recording below showing it assisting the Kookaburra Queen during the peak of the Brisbane floods 12 months ago.
Further details, please contact:
Merv Porteous - Deputy Commander
m: 0428 854 688
or email: dfc.qf3@coastguard.com.au
engage, educate, encourage
If Mark R wants to help the fisherfolk - then this is the time to SHOW IT.
You guys do a wonderful job and i would have thought that the government would have coughed up some cash from the millions of donations that both i and many other people gave at a trying time.
As a former tug master/salvage operator this video disturbs me in more ways than one im glad no one was hurt in the process.
Yes. Yes it is.
But not just for the fisher folk.
These people from VMR's and Coast Guard help a lot more people then just those with boats.
Just imagine how much money all the rescue vessels saved Governments during last years floods. And that is only one occurrence.
Now is the time to give some back. Especially seeing what the QLD does waste a hell of a lot of money on. One example....more then $9,000,000 spent on advertising last July.
Makes the $70,000 to keep this rescue vessel going sound mighty cheap doesn't it??
http://lnp.org.au/news/waste-watch/l...-tighten-belts
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Gotta love how Mark gets the blame for spending/not spending the goverment money.
Perfect example of the way this pathetic government allocates its funds..
Look at the prison riots.
Look at the amount of coin was WASTED getting the 3 knobs off the Japanese ship..
How about all the Pollies agree to NOT PRINT FLYERS for the upcoming election, There is the funding for over a year to all the VMR's
Last edited by mod2; 20-01-2012 at 05:05 PM.
Yeah I'm his neighbor.
Sad but true, allocations of funds is a joke. Reckon we loose millions in failed or poorly planned govt initiatives and no one is accountable that's the issue. Why are the fat cats getting pay rises when they don't meet any key performance indicators. You know 1% of a couple ministers pay cheques would fund the boat repairs.
Peter, what happened? How was the vessel grounded?
Apologies if I've missed something......
Wags....
Perhaps you don't understand how our parliamentary democracy works....you see, Mark Robinson MLA is in the Opposition. He would need to be in the majority party on the government benches before he could have a chance to commit to funding the work on this VMR boat.
If you're a Labor man, perhaps you would have been better off suggesting that whoever is the Minister responsible for maritime safety (this week, that would be Craig Wallace, I believe) in Anna's crumbling empire should take an interest in this issue and do something constructive for a change.
But perhaps Mr Wallace is too busy clearing out his desk and shredding files to do something constructive to in the portfolio that HE is actually responsible for???
Your comrade
ML
Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Very frustrating indeed watching particularly this present Govt waste money state and fed i suggest you speak with your vote and or bang on doors right now.
Anyway it's not getting CG Redcliffe back on the water. A lot of members on here who rely on this voluntary service whether they know it or not so I hope we can all dig deep and continue to support the service. Don't wait on the Govt, I think we all know what priority they give to us Rec Boaties.
Where do all the squillions they suck off us for boat and trailer regos, GST, duties on all the sh$$$t that we buy?? Plus they are selling off everything that makes any money, should get a good price for Qld Transport..
ML,
With the threads started on this forum on how voting for the LNP will help the fishing fraternity - maybe this is a bloody good way of showing it. We were all screwed last year - "There will be no carbon tax under a government I lead." So how about the pollies (BOTH SIDES) who want our votes do something constructive and worthwhile with our money.
Well... Mr Mark says that the current govenment is screwing us with higher regos, yet his response to that "we will freeze the rego payments" (YES AT THE HIGHER PRICE) So, what I take by that is Mr Mark saying "I am going to screw you too and I agree that the labor government screwing you is a good thing" (if he didnt think that he would be saying he is going to reverse the last hike)
NOW, seeing as though you Mr Mark are going to continue to screw us with our higher rego's, now is your chance to say "hey, yes we need the money, and we are going to pump some funds BACK into the boating world"
Tell us about how you plan to support the Volunteer groups?? Tell us about the better facilities our money is going to be used for??
No, Mr Mark is not in power, (we know what the current govenment does and doesnt do for us, we have had them for many years now) but it time to put up why the LNP is REALLY going to be better off for us.
Here is a good start. What is the LNP plans for the Coastguard/VMR funding??
As mentioned, this isnt only about fishing folk, they support anyone anywhere on the water.