Combined order from US tackle shop to save on postage

Thread: Combined order from US tackle shop to save on postage

Combined order from US tackle shop to save on postage

Hi all, I am looking to buy a spool of Fins braid from Tackle direct in the US (www.tackledirect.com). The braid is only $22 US for a 300yard spool of 50 pound. you pay 3 to 4 times that much at the local tackle store. But the problem for me is the courier charge is $26. But the good news is it's only a couple of extra dollars for an additional 3 or 4 spools.

So I was wondering if anyone wants a spool or two and we can split the courier charge? It gets really cheap if we get 3 or 4 people to split postage. If you don't like fins they have heaps of brands, plus they sell plenty of other stuff too.

I will be happy to place your order and pay for it if you promise to come and pick it up and reimburse me when the gear arrives. For this reason I will probably have to limit this offer to people who have been around on this board for a while.

If you can get back to me tonight it would be perfect and I will get the order off, hoping it will get here by next weekend

Re: Combined order from US tackle shop to save on postage

Have a look at an ebay store called " shimreels".

Get the express postage and you should be happy.

Quote Originally Posted by thriller View Post
    Have a look at an ebay store called " shimreels".

Get the express postage and you should be happy.
    thanks, but I don't see any option to get express post, and it doesn't indicate how long it will take to get here??

edit: based on some very mixed feedback for shimreels I went with tackledirect and just selected USPS first class mail. Just under $30 delivered but could take 1-4 weeks.

I have bought heaps from shimreels. Agreed the Express post is a little hard to work out.
    all you do is win the items you wish to buy and then ask the seller for a combine total with express postage.
    The delivery time is like 1 week (express) vs up to 6 weeks (normal) postage.

express from the US should be 3-4 days. The last reel I purchased was shipped via postal service and took 10 working days for 16 dollars. (it was free shipping for me). Surface mail on a spool of braid would be about a third of the price $6 if it gets charged by volume. I personaly wouldn't bother with express unless I really wanted it within a few days.

That's alright I bought 3500yards of 30lb Sufix high performance braid for $89 delivered. The bloke make a mistake and sent me 40lb so he sold that to me for $50 and resent the 30lb. The stuff works just fine.

I'm in florida at the moment and then in a few days I fly back to LA for a week then home to brisbane if it was easy to pick up i would stuff it in my bag.

Now you tell me Roly!! I received my new Stradic FY last week!!

Have a good break over there mate and will organise a fish in the next few weeks after your return.

Stay away from shimreels, many members on this site including myself have had bad dealings with this prick. Do a forum search and check his history.

$26 seems a hell of a lot for postage. USPS First Class Mail International is an excellent, cost effective method but it will take about 10 working days.
    I've found postage costs a good way to seperate the wheat from the chaff when it comes to on-line sellers, whether they be OS-based, or in Aus.
    Good luck, FWIW I'd shop around a bit more.Cheers.

Hey guys I bought 1800m of Daiwa jigging 80LBS braid for $200 from the states for your info off flea bay
    Living the dream, Barry

Check out a fella on the bay-- rivertoreef-- he has fins braid and is cheap

Who is the seler sending the shipment through- sounds alot for postage.

Ronnie

$26 is for fedex expidiited. Pretty standard price for courier. I like to be able to track my parcel and it can arrive in less than 5 days. USPS will do on this occasion because its cheap and im not in a hurry. I don't like buying off eBay. The whole interface is clunky and amateurish comPared to a proper online store. I like tackle direct because he always ships the same day you place the order. None of this "seller usually ships within 3 days" BS.

I notice the Aussie online stores are trying to reduce the price of fins down to $50. Still not cheap enough when you can get it for $20 from the US. I saw one tackle shop in townsville selling 300 yards for $80. Strewth!

Let the free market previal I say.

Do they have 500 yrd spools of 50Lb.

Ronnie

No they don't seem to stock 50o yard spools at all.