Due to the fact that I cant go fishing because I cooked the motor in my ute I decided to indulge in my second favorite passion. ( Maintaining the size of my gut)
When we were in New Zealand we had some manuka honey smoked chicken so I decided to see if i could duplicate it.
Bumped a few chooks and I couldnt be bothered plucking and cleaning them so I just skinned them and kept the breasts and marylands.
I didnt have any manuka honey so I used i/2 a kg of Tassie leatherwood instread. The leatherwood has a distinctive flavour and I thought it would go ok.
Mixed the honey with 5 litres of ham cure and pumped the chicken.
And let it soak in the brine in the fridge for 4 days.
Took it out this morning and drained it off and let it dry and placed the breasts in the smoker.
Gave them around an hour and :-
Then it was time for the marylands.
Whilst they were cooking I sliced up one of the breasts and had a couple of coldies while waiting.
I am pleased with the result next time I will put in a bit more honey or see if can get some manuka in bulk as its a bit exy in the small bottles.
Ray