Thread: custom rod

custom rod

hi guys what would you normaly charge to make up a light spinner 8 guides, all that ive built so for have been a for myself ,neighbour and brother so have never charged anything i was thinking 80-90 bucks would be a fair.

I assume you mean just the labour, but I think you'd be working too cheap
    Unless you're set up to knock out many rods at once your time spent and costs will be high
    Work out what you make per hour in your day job. If people aren't willing to pay that for quality work that's fitted to them, then let them buy an off the shelf unit.
    Working for $5 or $10 an hour only screws the business for everyone who is trying to actually make a living out of it

I don't do rods for sale because what I like doing takes too long to be viable and I won't spend my spare time working for nothing for some tool I don't know.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Re: custom rod

Hi Owen yer im all set up with a lath and tools and yes i no what you mean, i no how many hours some of you guys put into binding and doing fancy wraps, and i do no how long it takes me to do my own rods, i just did a price at the mudhole for a stcriox 3s70mlf 4-10lb spinner all the bits $230 posted well i just might have to ad a bit more then.

Totally agree with Owen on this one I do build custom rods for sale but I start at around the $500 mark and it only goes up from there.

Pedro

Hi Pedro even if it just a simple build with 2 metalic wraps on each guide and a metalic wrap either side of the decal.

I'm with Pedro and Owen on this one. If you have all the components and it's for a mate, you can do it and charge bugger all (mates rates). If you are putting a lot of hours in to make something unique and truely "custom" I would start around $500 and work up. Consider the time it takes to do one of Owen's weaves, or a fancy cross wrap or even turning an intricate handle. It all adds up to raising the price of the finished product.

The price question, always hotly debated amongst many. Many in the industry wether it be novice, hobbyist, part time, or like me a full time rod builder, the question is how much to charge. It all depends what the components are worth, what the quality of your work is and how long it will take to complete the job. If we worked on what many would deem as an average hourly rate then the cost of a custom rod would be out of the league of most. However at some point it has to be worth the effort put into that rod. Also and many don’t relies this but your experience must be worth a dollar amount. For example there are GP’s, and then there are Specialists.
    The GP spends like 4 or 5 years studying and the specialists 10 years and of course the cost associated with such time of study. Yes this may sound a bit silly but you should charge for your experience level as well, I mean it did take a long time to become as good as you are and people will pay that bit more for the more experienced and seasoned rod builder. However if you discount your work then you become no better than the other 5000 shops that are discounting alone to bring the customers in.
    Little do these shops know that there are just as many that will pay more for quality, attention to details?
    It seems far to many are trying to compete with these shops on price alone, I suppose when you are selling the same crap what else is there to offer? As a ball park figure what ever your components are times it by at least 3 which cover your time and other incidentals like power, glue and all that other stuff. People might say that is way too much but in fact it’s not that much at all. In fact it’s an honest hourly rate that reflects the detailed workman ship.
    Weaves and butt wraps are on top again. Don’t be scared to charge for your work, after all you had to buy all the equipment to do the rods, you have to get a return on your investment. Mates often look for a heavily discounted job, but do they pay for your bills, rego and house insurance? The most I have charged for a rod was $3000 each that had a lot of thread work and many other one off features that I wouldn’t do or advertise because just one rod took me 8 weeks to complete. Now he ordered 8 of these and in so doing I couldn’t do any other work other than his rods for that time so I had to allow for that and charge accordingly. The problem with most rod builders is they are too scared or not confident enough in there own ability to charge what they are actually worth. I have been there and stressed about all of it years ago. Now I couldn’t give a crap, that’s the price I charge if you don’t like get stuffed. It doesn’t stop them from trying to knock you down $5 though. Never get mates and customer mixed up.

Great reply Stuart! Spot on. Confidence in your own work (and charging accordingly) is the key difference between maintaining a sustainable operation or eventually becoming dispirited by always working for peanuts. If you are charging a decent figure and not getting any work, then review what quality of product you are offering to the customer rather than lowering your labour costs. Work hard to build your knowledge and skill up to a point where you offer something truly unique in both function and look.

I reckon if your going to make a custom there are too many light spinners on the market that do the job, from cheapies to high end.
    Better of going a 8-12kg- (8-20kg even) custom.

Rock wall work and beach, a good cast with enough power to land a good Jewie, but not so big and clumsy that your struggling on the rocks or in the wave chop.

Softish tip but stiff throughout to set a hook in rough conditions.