New merc 150 - Page 2

Thread: New merc 150

Re: New merc 150

One of the things different between here and our cousins in the USA is the number of peope who service their own engines - from chat on Hull Truth, it is apparent that many, many more of them do their own servicing compared to here, and it seems fairly well accepted by the manufacturers for wrranty purposes. No doubt This is why Einwrude and Merc are heading this way.

I know that there is virtually no margin in outboard prices for dealers here and it is servicing that keeps them in business to a large extent. Maybe in USA there is better margin on engines to make up for that???

My Merc owning mates are beside themselves about this new 150 4 stroke, looks like a pretty under stressed bit of gear. I reckon they will get 175 and then 200 hp out of the same block before long, what's the bet!

ML

ML
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

BRP copped a massive backlash from its Evinrude dealers by extending its service period from 12-36months.. Fortunetly it is only one engine in the Merc line up that has this do it yourself servicing, so it wont affect them very much at all...

I thinks its a great idea, and if you have the basic knowledge then why not do it yourself... If you dont know how to use a spanner, then you can always pay a service mechanic to do it for you...

I think what may be occuring here is that the manufacturers are in a way "fighting back" against their own dealer network for exhorbitant servicing costs. After all, those costs affect the sales of the engines.

In Japan the car manufacturers as I understand it own all the dealerships. Subaru in Melbourne has apparently purchased back all the Suburu authorised workshops and operate them themselves in order to reduce the over the top service charges.

This could very well be the same thing with the outboard manufacturers. Make the outboard serviceable at home and this reduces the overall costing of having brand "x" or brand "y" engine, making that brand better value over say a 5-10 period looking at purchase price plus servicing costs.

And lets face it. Outboard service charges are generally outrageous from the larger dealers with charges of $500-800+ for say the servicing of various brand V6's. They don't take longer than 2 hours typically to service (at most generally) for a routine annual service. Strewth, if you go at it you can service a say carby V6 in 1 hour. So 2 hrs at $100/hr for labour plus parts (gear oil, plugs, filters, lube) say $200 and you have an all up cost of $400 and thats being generous on labour time and parts costs. Of course the above is not factoring in the solid gold sparkplugs used in some engines....lol, just conventional plugs.

I guess to be 100% fair, running a business (and a lot of you here run your own businesses) is not simply a matter of charging people to do or sell "stuff" and putting a fistful of dollars into your pocket, now in the marine industry (as in a lot of others too) it is seasonal, so (say) if you dont make a good income during the summer, by the end of winter, you are closing up shop, whereas (say) the auto industry is not seasonal, and garages and running at a constant rate, so (maybe) labour charges can be lower, now this is not always 100% true, places like QLD may not suffer a winter boating downturn like Victoria might, and motors do need to be serviced even during winter, but most people would boat at best once a month in the cold of winter, so use (and repairs) are much less, boat and motor sales are slow, all sorts of things can reduce your income, but your rent, your staff and outgoings all still need to be paid, there is also a very real shortage of good maroine/outboard mechanics, my local dealer has been advertising for a guy for over 6 months, and they pay well and have a good setup, but cant get someone, so thiose that are out there, can command higher wages than a "car" mechanic (in my opinion)

Hi Tenzig

Just put a new 175 Suzuki on the back of my Victory and it is perfect. Probably wouldn't be much price difference between the 150Merc and the Suzuki. Try Keith from Jeffers Motor Sport at Burpengary for a price on the Suzuki. Was very happy with his service and price.

Cheers Stuart

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar
    Thais Stuart,
    That would be the other serious contender at this point
    Brendan

Looking at repowering with this motor any feedback so far I can get one fitted for a really good price any thoughts

Discussion on Fishnet about it.

http://www.fishnet.com.au/forums/vie...p?t=111021&f=8

Mate got one fitted at Hervey Bay for $18,300. Pity the poor sods in mining towns being quoted miners prices.

I have one on my Noble 6.2 Super Vee - very similar hull to your new Sportfish. Only done 15 hours so far, but very happy with it. Did consider a Suzuki 175, but they are at least $3000 more expensive.

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by shy guys View Post
    Looking at repowering with this motor any feedback so far I can get one fitted for a really good price any thoughts
    Sorry cant help much Shy Guy
    Ended up going with the Suzy 175.
    Brendan