Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Boat ramp entertainment

Re: Boat ramp entertainment

I hate the blokes who leave their lights on full beam at the ramp.It makes backing down very difficult. I once had a go at a bloke about it and he acknowledged the issue but his defence was that everyone do it?????? Most people problems at the ramp could be solved by swivelling their head each side of them and looking how others do it.

No boat ramp incidents BUT...
    One day when I was about 14 or 15 dad told me to change the keel rollers on his trailer.
    Goodo...no worries so get stuck into it.
    So under the trailer laying on my back changing them starting from the front working my way down to the back.
    All done except the back roller so into the back roller...old roller out. New roller in....where's that split pin??
    Oh. There it is. So I sits up to reach across for it BUT Kaplammmm. Bugger me senseless...what was that??
    Something whacked me in the head big time. I feels my noggin and I put my finger into a crater that's bang in the middle of my skull. It felt like it was 1 1/2 inches deep
    Oh this can't be good I thought but when I look at my fingers there's no no blood. Woohooo!!
    The no blood wasn't for long though. It started flowing pretty well after a little bit.
    So off the the hospital I go to get some more stitches.

When I looked at what got me it was really obvious. The outboard was tilted up and the skeg was in a prime spot to split my head open.
    It was only about 10 stitches that time.

And then there was the time I had a new secondhandy outboard on the little boat and the cook and I were ripping up the Logan river and we hit a log. I look back and I see the motor going towards Mars. The props still going and I thought....Oh. This can't be good (It's surprising how often I think that).
    So the motor comes down...straight into the Logan.
    But I forgot to let go of the tiller didn't I.
    The cook didn't have a clue what was happening but when she looked around all she could see was my fat butt going over the back.
    She grabs me by the South Sydney shorts and pulls me back into the boat. I still had hold of the tiller so I pulled the outboard back into the boat but when it got towards the top the cowl fell off so back over the back I went again.
    So then I thought...sh!t...what did we hit. And there was the log broken in two. (it's in the garden now).
    And then I thought...how're we gunna get back??
    A ski boat was there and saw the lot. They came over and asked if they could be of assistance (They were a bit short of breathe from laughing though)
    But me been me didn't trust the new second handy outboard yet. We had a spare outboard in the boat...how lucky were we??
    So back to the ramp and then back home and later that day the outboard was going better then ever. I found a loose terminal when I pulled it apart to clean everything.
    Can't kill those Tohatsu's you can't.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by davo View Post
    I hate the blokes who leave their lights on full beam at the ramp.It makes backing down very difficult. I once had a go at a bloke about it and he acknowledged the issue but his defence was that everyone do it?????? Most people problems at the ramp could be solved by swivelling their head each side of them and looking how others do it.
    I am one of those blokes and I won't turn them off..I got hit many years back by some bloke that did not see the parking lights and backed his trailer into the front of my car. You can either back down next to me or wait until I have gone..your call.

A few years ago there was an extreme incident of ramp rage. Lots of screaming and shouting and abuse. Almost came to blows. A bit embarrassing as it was only my wife and I at the ramp at the time with our tinnie..

It was at the boat ramp but not a boating incident !!
    My mate had parked the old cruiser early in the morning after we launched the boat and forgot to turned off the lights. Well when we returned the battery was flat in the cruiser so I said no problem I will take the second battery out of the boat to get us home.
    Well the mate said no problem you stay with the boat and he will get it all sorted no problem, so off he goes carrying the battery...

When he got to the cruiser he had a fantastic idea to turn the battery upside down on top of the battery in the cruiser instead of mucking around changing the batteries over to get the old girl going. When after about 20min of me waiting he turns up with the cruiser for me to load the boat and tells me what he did and wondered why I was looked at him with a "YOU MUST BE KIDDING LOOK ON MY FACE"... He then says it would have worked but it leaked acid all over him and the front of the cruiser.. So he had to swop the battery over anyway and that's why it took him so long.....

The scary part is he thought it was a good idea and still does.... All I can say is thank GOD he has been snipped and has no kids...

Just glad no one saw this.

I spent many cold winter nights fishing for mulloway in the port river at Adelaide. I had access to a large private slipway and used that as most boat ramps down that way were not secure at night. Being a slipway it had quite a shallow angle at the top section, and on a high tide I used a long length of strong rope between the car and trailer. The boat was launched by backing down slowly, stopping quickly and allow the boat to roll off. The boat was tied to the wharf with a long length of rope as well. Anyway one night all was going to plan until I stopped, the boat rolled off as usual but the trailer disappeared into the pitch black water, holy shit the rope broke. I spent to next hour or so trying to find the boat trailer in the water of the slipway. It turn out the trailer veered left and got stuck up against a slipway frame some 50 meters away about 1 ½ meters deep. I found some more rope tied it to the trailer and pulled it out, then put the boat back on the trailer and went home, cold but very relieved I found that trailer.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

About 30 years ago, a group of us used to go water skiikng all the time. When it came time to launch, everyone knew what to do and were always keen to help out. Bungs in?...Ok! Tie downs off?... Ok! Connect rope to front of trailer.... Ok! Disconnect trailer from Car tow bar..... Ok! connect rope to car tow bar...ok! the trailer would roll back and the rope would stop it..... this time the boat and trailer kept going, and going
    oops!!! who took the rope of the trailer tow bar?????
    Shiiiiit!!!!! as the trailer and boat head for the water, with us running down the ramp trying to catch the trailer, the boat floated, but the trailer didn't.
    It took us 20 minutes diving to find the trailer and get a rope on it. It was in about 5m of muddy water. We still laugh about the water skiing weekends.

Quote Originally Posted by Crisp Bee View Post
    About 30 years ago, a group of us used to go water skiikng all the time. When it came time to launch, everyone knew what to do and were always keen to help out. Bungs in?...Ok! Tie downs off?... Ok! Connect rope to front of trailer.... Ok! Disconnect trailer from Car tow bar..... Ok! connect rope to car tow bar...ok! the trailer would roll back and the rope would stop it..... this time the boat and trailer kept going, and going
    oops!!! who took the rope of the trailer tow bar?????
    Shiiiiit!!!!! as the trailer and boat head for the water, with us running down the ramp trying to catch the trailer, the boat floated, but the trailer didn't.
    It took us 20 minutes diving to find the trailer and get a rope on it. It was in about 5m of muddy water. We still laugh about the water skiing weekends.
    I don't feel that bad now, knowing I'm not the only one who has spent time looking for a trailer in the water.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

In the coast gaurd we used to call them (pr's) potential rescues, because no matter what advice you offered,THEY know everthing, sometimes you just have to let them learn from thier own stupid and expensive mistakes.

David A winning so far. I can really relate to that and being honest I bet everyonei else as well

i seen a bloke at a ramp at toorbul last year with a polycraft,call his hot looking missus all sorts of names at the top of his lungs because she couldnt clutch his ute out of the water with him and boat on tow,He was going ballistic when he got to the top of the ramp after a few stalls and hard revving,by the time the boat was dry,he was out of the car,slammin doors,telling her she was a spastic blah blah blah,i felt sorry for the girl,and felt he was the problem and not her.She quickly coward in the car while his rant continued at her in front of all the cars and people there.

No bingity bing for him for a few weeks i reckon after that embarrasment.

Quote Originally Posted by fishfeeder View Post
    My mate had parked the old cruiser early in the morning after we launched the boat and forgot to turned off the lights. Well when we returned the battery was flat in the cruiser so I said no problem I will take the second battery out of the boat to get us home.
    Well the mate said no problem you stay with the boat and he will get it all sorted no problem, so off he goes carrying the battery...

When he got to the cruiser he had a fantastic idea to turn the battery upside down on top of the battery in the cruiser instead of mucking around changing the batteries over to get the old girl going. When after about 20min of me waiting he turns up with the cruiser for me to load the boat and tells me what he did and wondered why I was looked at him with a "YOU MUST BE KIDDING LOOK ON MY FACE"... He then says it would have worked but it leaked acid all over him and the front of the cruiser.. So he had to swop the battery over anyway and that's why it took him so long.....

The scary part is he thought it was a good idea and still does.... All I can say is thank GOD he has been snipped and has no kids...

seen that done once on Fraser Is and can tell you the F truck and boat would have been history if it was not done being stalled in the surf with boat on the trailer, would have spoiled a good couple of weeks fishing

cheers Murf

Murf your JOKING I hope !!!
    There is no way Iam going to let the mate know it would really work after the shit I put on him LMAO !!!

Murf your JOKING I hope !!!
    There is no way Iam going to let the mate know it would really work after the shit I put on him LMAO !!!

yep worked a treat and took just a few seconds to do, first I have seen it and have it tucked up in my memory bank for an emergency. was only a small amount of acid spilt in the couple of seconds it took to do

cheers Murf

I'll second that!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Axl